Customer Reviews for

The Girl With All the Gifts

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I admit I read a couple of reviews of this book before I began r

I admit I read a couple of reviews of this book before I began reading it myself. The reviews were fabulous and hinted there was a big secret that shouldn't be spoiled by reviews that might give it away, so I immediately stopped, anticipating a mind-blowing twist in th...
I admit I read a couple of reviews of this book before I began reading it myself. The reviews were fabulous and hinted there was a big secret that shouldn't be spoiled by reviews that might give it away, so I immediately stopped, anticipating a mind-blowing twist in this novel. About ten pages in, I figured it out and assumed since it was that easy, there must be something else. But there wasn't.

Without giving anything away, this book is about a topic that's pretty popular right now, but is explained in scientific terms that made complete sense and I liked that. Although the story was told in varying POV's, I especially enjoyed learning how Melanie perceived her world and had to make decisions far beyond her years. I also found it fascinating being in loathsome Dr. Caldwell's head to understand how she justified her actions. The relationship between Melanie and Sergent Parks was fascinating, and even touching at times as it evolved, although the primary focus was meant to be on the interaction between Miss Justineau and Melanie. I thought Parks was more of a realist, while Miss Justineau occasionally refused to see logic, although I really admired her spunk.

While this book had several 'rush of adrenaline' moments, adequate pacing, and kept my interest, I thought the title, and even the cover were misleading and probably missing this novel's target audience. On the other hand, those who were misled but stick with it may be surprised at how much they enjoy this book.

I would recommend The Girl With All the Gifts to sci-fi, horror, and dystopian readers - it was a different take on a subject that's been around for quite some time and was an engaging read.

This review is based on a digital ARC from the publisher through NetGalley.

posted by tpolen on June 19, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

It grabbed me right away-

the premise was fascinating until about the last quarter of the story. Then it seemed to lose itself with a saggy dissatisfying ending. We're talking characters facing global disaster - I just expected a smart, quirky ending.

posted by Murky on July 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    It was a good read

    This book is pretty good, very descriptive, and it gets you wondering what will happen next. I personaly couldnt put it down so it only took me about 45 mins for me to read it. So yeah it was good

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    New take on an old genre

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The beginning really pulled me in and I found the whole story satisfying. The characters are well written. I liked how the reader was able to get into their minds to find out what made them tick. I also enjoyed the writing itself. It is well written, easy to follow and hard to put down.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2014

    It was so awesome going into this book not really knowing what i

    It was so awesome going into this book not really knowing what it was about or anything else about it. It made the beginning especially so much more awesome.

    I saw The Girl With All the Gifts advertised in ads on my phone and filed the title away in my brain for another day, and then a little while after it came out, it became one of my birthday book picks. I was very excited when it was chosen for my online book club, and while my expectations were fairly high, I was not disappointed.

    I fell in love with the first few chapters of this book as I learned about the world and the people bit by bit through Melanie's eyes, and while I was a bit jarred and disappointed by the changes of POV that take place after the first few chapters, I eventually grew accustomed to it and didn't mind quite as much later on. I loved Melanie's POVs and she was definitely a part of what made this book so awesome for me.

    There's also a lot of science in this book, and though I will admit that in parts, it went over my head, I enjoyed what I understood. It was really interesting in parts, and I liked that it felt plausible, or at least was explained in such a way that it did. I loved that the mystery here was unveiled bit by bit through science and through the characters' experiences and observations.

    As I mentioned before, I was originally disappointed by the multiple POVs. I was also a bit tripped up by the present tense, at least initially. Instead of flowing in my mind, it really stood out to me and I had a hard time getting past it at first, but eventually the story seemed to flow with it a bit better, and I didn't mind so much after I'd read a bit more of the book.

    It's really hard to talk about books that blew you away, but I loved how everything came together. Even though it's been a week since I finished this book, Melanie is still in my head. I can't stop thinking about her.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I thought it was brilliant. The character of Melanie was so real

    I thought it was brilliant. The character of Melanie was so real, and the journey was riveting. But it was the ending I adore. Never saw it coming, but afterward, couldn't imagine any other way of finishing the story. 

    Yeah, brilliant is the word.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Not really anither Not really another zombie novel

    This book has such strong characters and smart narration that is too often lacking in these books. Even if youre not a fan of zombie novels. You will love this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    if you read one zombie novel: MAKE IT THIS ONE!

    i love zombies. i also love well-thought-out science fiction, characters with depth, unusual love stories, and exciting plots. this is the book with all the gifts.

    most zombie books choose from one of a few weaknesses: thinly-imagined characters, poorly-thought-out fictional science, gore at the expense of plot. this one redeems the genre. read and enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Very different take!

    Anyone that loves the classic undead theme will appreciate this new take. Lots of heart and very engaging.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    Very good

    Very good couldnt put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    I loved this book!!  I hope there is mote to the story, I want t

    I loved this book!!  I hope there is mote to the story, I want to know what happens to Melanie. 

    Read this book, it's can't put it down great!!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Number duece!

    Love love it it was a very good read

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2015

    What is this book about? To: RainbowLovie

    WHAT IS THIS BOOK ABOUT SUBECT SAY RAINBOWLOVIE

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2015

    This is one of my favorite books of 2014 and one of my favorite

    This is one of my favorite books of 2014 and one of my favorite sci-fi novels. Even though I guessed what the big mystery was at the very beginning, it didn't affect how much I enjoyed the book. Like other reviews have mentioned, the twist is revealed early on and there's a good chance you'll guess what it is even before it's revealed. It's a great book for anyone interested in dystopian or sci-fi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2015

    Fun and fast read - hope there's a sequel.

    This is a fun and scientific take on the zombie apocalypse, without having too much dense info. All of the characters, even the villains are written sympathetically and multi-dimensionally. There is plenty of action and revelation in the book, the kind of thing that's perfect for a long day at the beach, because I didn't want to put it down. Although it ended fairly closed-endedly, I still think there's room for a sequel or series and I hope the author considers it. I'd love to see more novels from him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    Fsantastic book!

    A great new take on the genre. Very well done, well developed characters, an absolute blast!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2015

    The ONLY book of this genre (for me) that has created a plausibl

    The ONLY book of this genre (for me) that has created a plausible back story. The writing drew me in and held my interest, more than most books I've read in the past 30 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A must read - you must check it out even if you are not into sci-fi.

    I really didn't know what to expect when I opened up this book. All I knew is that Melanie is a special little girl. She has the heart of an angel and the strength of a demon. But what is she? All she knows about her life is held within the walls of her cell. Each morning she is strapped into a wheelchair and waits for class to starts. She likes most of her teachers but really loves Miss Justineau because she exposes her to the worlds that are only in mythology and lands from afar.

    This is a wonderful book that is about strength and the courage to start again. It is written to reveal who Melanie as Melanie is learning who she is and why she is so special. There are a few other characters in the book that makes this journey of knowledge so important. Along with Miss Justineau who is the essence of freedom, there is Dr. Caldwell who is at first a horrible and wicked scientist but proves that all she wanted to do was understand the problem and try to find a cure. You also have Parks and Gallagher - Army men who's one job is to protect the two women and the girl. Each of their lives have been changed and reading of their journey is heartbreaking yet powerful.

    The journey and the unveiling of the truth of Melanie will not only surprise you but also give you a piece of mind that the circle of life is really at play in their lives. M.R. Carey is a master of storytelling and I was very much surprised on how I liked this novel. Well done!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    loved this one.....a great story about what it means to be human

    loved this one.....a great story about what it means to be human.....Melanie didn't know until they told her. Favorite quote: "I won't bite."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    This book was a great read.  It's a human take on an "inhum

    This book was a great read.  It's a human take on an "inhuman" subject.  It really pulls you in.  I found myself up late at night reading.  It's got enough graphic material and drama to keep me interested.  This book would make a great movie.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    Gripping SF dystopia story

    I haven't finished reading the book but this is a really good book. Very well organized, well planned and well written. By the way, I really don't care about vampire stories and this books is not about vampires or zombies. It actually explains what happens behind those phenomenons of so-called vampires/zombies. So please jump in and enjoy a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2