Customer Reviews for

The Girl in 6E

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Exceptional

    This is an exceptional book, both in the uniqueness of the story and the writing and character development. Though dealing with sex (camming), it is not the type that you find in erotica. This is a complex analysis of the human mind in a sexual context, but most importantly it is a beautiful account of the healing of a broken heart (and mind) and its path towards redemption. Highly, highly recommended.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    In this story we meet Deanna Martin but she no longer goes by th

    In this story we meet Deanna Martin but she no longer goes by the name of Deanna she currently goes by the name of Jessica Manchild.  Jessica is an online sex cammer who charges $6.99 a minute who’s only human interaction are her clients on the internet, Simon her neighbor, and Jeremy the UPS delivery man.  What I loved about this book were the clients and her interaction with them, every client is different and at the beginning of each of the client sessions tells you a little about the type of client they are and their interaction with one another.  Deanna has her whole life set up for her; she never leaves her apartment, all her food and supplies are delivered to her, and she hasn’t been outside of her apartment in three years.  Why hasn’t she been outside of her apartment for the past three years?  Because Deanna has a secret, she has the desire to kill people or more accurately put obsession with murder.  Some people get aroused during sex, Deanna gets aroused fantasizing about killing people.  She’s killed before and decided that for the sake of the town she lives in she will lock herself up and never go outside again so she sits at her computer and makes her living only interacting with Simon who locks her up every night so she doesn’t have the urge to open the door and kill someone and Jeremy who delivers her packages and gets a simple, ‘Leave the package.  Thank you’ every single time, no face to face contact just words spoken through the door.
    You might ask yourself how did she manage to lock herself up in her apartment and have no one miss her?  You see, Deanna has no family anymore her mother, father, and siblings are all dead, murdered by her mother and Deanna has developed her mother’s psychotic thoughts.  Her clients think they know her, that she’s a college student who has a life outside of her apartment but they are just fabrications, no one really knows who the true Deanna is.
    As the book goes on you get to meet her clients and one client sticks out more than the rest.  Deanna over the years has met some interesting character guys who like anal play, guys that are into humiliation, but she has an issue with clients that are pedophiles and while some clients in the past have shown these tendencies, she has a feeling that her new client: RalphMA35 wants to hurt a little girl named Annie.  Usually these types of clients don’t mention names they just have a certain fantasy they want to act out in their minds, but he doesn’t just want pink and ruffles and innocence he wants Annie and with the introduction of Annie everything changes for Deanna.
    This book is written extraordinarily well and what really helps you connect with the characters is that it’s told from more than one view, however the first person view of Deanna’s character really helps you to develop a connection with her and feel what she feels.  In this book you take a journey through the mind of Deanna and the changes she begins to go through in the book and the one defining moment that changes everything about the way she feels and the way she is.  If I could I would give this book a rating of 6 instead of just 5.  I love this book and I also loved Blindfolded Innocence which is also written by Alessandra Torre.  So if you are looking for something different and unique I highly recommend that you read The Girl in 6E, you won’t be disappointed; I know I wasn’t.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Great book!!!

    The book is way better than the desciption says. Yes, she does get paid to be sexual on the web, but it is about so much more. It's not too graphic, so people who are afraid of that blush factor can still enjoy it. It contains suspense, that had me holding my breath at times. There were twists in a few places I didnt see coming, but was so glad they were there. I definitely think people should try it. :-)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Better than expected!!

    I was skeptical picking up this book, but boy was I surprised... it's more than a girl getting paid for online sex. She has some serious deep issues and the twists and turns make this story really great. It is shorter than I was expecting having 58 chapters... I read this book in a day (I'm not a very fast reader), I didn't want to put it down. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Unexpectedly good

    This book was good in a way you wouldnt see coming; would def read the followup

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a great book!  It was nice to see something different f

    This was a great book!  It was nice to see something different from a lot of the books out!  I loved Jessica (Deanna) in this book.  I loved how  blunt she was with everything and how she pretty much commanded everyone that she came into contact with!  Jeremy was great and a pretty brave soul for what he did in the book :o)  I highly recommend this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    This is a sexy thriller, not a romance. I read Blindfolded Innoc

    This is a sexy thriller, not a romance. I read Blindfolded Innocence and walked into this book expecting that - this is a psychological thriller more along the lines of Jennifer Garner: witty and leaves you guessing the entire time.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    I am a thriller fanatic - and this book blew me away! I was a

    I am a thriller fanatic - and this book blew me away!

    I was a little put off by the 'erotica' tag on it, but once I got into the story I understood why it was there. This book, the setup and configuration, creates a lot of sexual references - you don't want your 17 year old son reading this.  BUT, if you can handle graphic sexual descriptions, this book  is INCREDIBLE! It is a pyschological thriller and addresses the interesting question: What would you do if you suspected someone of the potential to commit a crime. Would you act? Or would you wait for something to happen?

    I loved this writer's style - the book takes off and kept me constantly guessing - it reminds me of Gillian Flynn's books in that regard.  It was exceptionally well written and beautifully edited and formatted - a pleasure to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2014

    Suspenseful and fascinating. Completely loved it!

    Suspenseful and fascinating. Completely loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    Wow!

    What a disturbingly wonderful book! What an amazing author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2014

    The Girl in 6E was a great thriller, I would recommend it to all

    The Girl in 6E was a great thriller, I would recommend it to all adult readers that like to be on the edge of their seat when reading a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blo

    ~Reviewed by FRANCESCA & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    I had seen ads for this book before and although the cover was quite catching and I may have done a double take, it probably wouldn’t have called to me enough to look up the blurb.  After the book came out, a good friend of mine happened to pick it up and loved it.  Me being a sucker for a good read, and in need of an interesting audiobook at the time, dove right in not really knowing what to expect.  I tend to do that a lot, not reading blurbs.

    My first impression of this book was sort of like this…. O.O  I really was not expecting to be thrown in the head of a girl with psychotic tendencies.  But as shocked as I was by the subject matter and execution of the story, I was completely riveted.   Once THE GIRL IN 6E grabbed a hold of my attention, I had a really hard time putting this book down to do anything else.  Even sleep.

    I have seen this comparison around and as I was recommending the book to yet another friend the same comparison came up.  This book has a very Dexter feel to it.  So if you are a fan of the show, then you will absolutely love this!  Our heroine, web cam girl, part time vigilante, most of the day psychotic killer, is very much like the female version of Dexter.  Except she doesn’t want to be.  She’s locked herself in her apartment for 3 years and avoided human interactions.  Afraid that her killer instincts will come out and attack… again.

    She’s been working as a web cam girl during that time and has become so good at it that she has plenty of money.  She’s also developed a strange relationship through her door with her UPS delivery man who is extremely curious as to what the girl in 6E looks like.  She also has clients with questionable intent that tell her things that may be disturbing.  And her conscience and desire to do the right thing brings her out of her apartment for the first time in three years.  And an adventure begins.  Ohh and did I mention the sexy parts?  This book does not shy away from the sexy and I’m expecting to see a lot more of that in books to come.

    I have to say I’m completely sold on A.R. Torre’s voice in this book.  She’s told an unconventional story in a way that as much as the topic was dark and hard to process for some people, it was also so engaging!  I was hooked from the beginning!  I know this type of dark read may not be for everyone, but if you are not afraid to take a chance, I think this might be one of the most refreshing books you’ll read this year amongst a sea of books that blend together.

    Favorite Quotes:

    “No one is normal.  Everyone is just pretending to be normal.”

    “Hope, in general, is dangerous.  Hope can be the loose thread that pulls apart your sanity.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is book one in the Girl in 6E I gave this book 5 stars.





    This is book one in the Girl in 6E
    I gave this book 5 stars. 




    This book was like none that I have ever read before.
    It is not what I expected at all.. 
    The first half of the book we get to know Deanna. She is a killer and she locks herself up in her apartment so she doesn't go around killing like you know everyone. We get to see how she survives and what she does day to day. She runs a web cam business and when she sees the news and a little girl is missing. She has a feeling that one of her on line followers is involved.. When nobody will listen to her she leaves her apartment to see what she can do and this is the story of what happens. 




    This review really can't tell you anything but that, because it will give all the good stuff away. So I will say that this is a must read! This is a book that will challenge you as a reader. I am sure it challenged her as a writer! 




    I LOVED this story it kept me on the edge of my seat and wanting to know what the heck was going to happen next! I will say that when you read from the beginning that you should do nothing else but read. NO distractions. It does go back and forth a little bit between the characters so you can get a feel of what is going on and you need to pay attention. Enjoy the read!! You won't regret it!!! <3 Thank you Alessandra for an amazing book!! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    Well, I have to say. "Jessica" needs some meds quickly

    Well, I have to say. "Jessica" needs some meds quickly! This girl has issues I have never read before and would be scared to death to meet her. It is a terrible thing that happened to her when she was younger and this may be the cause of all the dreadful things she wants to do. And her job, I am completely out of the loop. I did not realize they did the virtual "meetings". Duh on my part. However I did not know you can buy everything on Amazon! Which she does.

    She has the most interesting main character I have read in sometime. Torre writes with as much detail about each part of the characters, life stories and the plot which is forming during the book. That makes the story unique. I need the details of each character's point of view. It is what makes a book stand out from the rest.


    I would rate the book a 4.4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    *This book was given to me for a fair and honest review* This

    *This book was given to me for a fair and honest review*

    This is the very first time that I have EVER given a book 5+ Stars. Honestly, this book rocked me to my core and messed with my head. But you know what else it did? It reminded me why I fell in love with reading in the first place. The intensity, the mystery, the suspense grabbed ahold of me and refused to let go.

    The Girl in 6E will not be for everyone. There are dark and disturbing elements to the story. I believe that some people will not get past the first chapter. But, for those of you that hang on, white-knuckled and scared to scream, it is worth the amazing ride.

    Deanna/Jessica is an amazing character. She is not loveable or sweet. Actually she has very little redeeming qualities, but she owns her quirks, her murderous personality and tries not to be “better”; she tries to protect the outside world from her homicidal tendencies. I give her props for making money (albeit nakedly but legally) and taking care of herself. She has recognized that she is dangerous; she is not delusional that she can heal herself and has sought help. She is a fantastically imagined and well-written character.

    I have to say that Jeremy was my favorite character in the book. Wow, any man that would not get scared away by a knife-wielding, homicidal maniac and instead getting turned on by her, is A-OK in my book. I know that makes me sound strange, but read the book and you will understand. That boy has a heart of gold and balls of steel, along with some quirks of his own.

    Do not go into this book expecting romance or even some hot sweaty erotica; you won’t get it. This book is a psychological masterpiece, in my humble opinion. Pure hearts are sometimes found in the supposed evilest of places…read the book, you will understand what I mean.

    *Note* The Girl in 6E is not for the faint of heart. If you get offended easily or are a prude, please don’t read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Anonymous

    What a pleasant surprise. This book was so good. Would love a follow up, it would be great to see if Deanna's "urges" continue and to see how things progress with yummy Jeremy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    The appreciation I had with erotic novels went downhill when I r

    The appreciation I had with erotic novels went downhill when I read E.L. James "50 Shades of Grey". Now, don't hate me. I do love Christian Grey's classic charm and oozing sexuality but the BDSM act is just way too much for me to take in. So I made sure to detour myself from erotica... until now.




    Y'know, I really can't place this book in a certain category that's for sure. I thought its erotica but its actually not. Let's just say it has a mix of suspense, unusual sexual encounters, psychological thriller (???), with a dose of "Criminal Minds" motif thrown for added excitement. 




    Main character of the book is Jessica Reilly (aka Deanna), who works as a cam-girl for a living (and earns a hefty sum of money doing it) with a bizarre obsession: THE DESIRE TO KILL. Because of this urge to commit murder, she isolates herself from any physical human contact. Now, what'll happen when a little girl is in danger and she's the only one who can save her (which is kind of ironic since she mostly certainly need saving as well), AND what's an attractive UPS delivery guy has to do with her urge to kill? 




    First few chapters got me all hot and bothered (pheew!) but as you go along the story, you'd actually forget what kind of book you're reading. Is it a psychological thriller? Suspense? Lust? Hmm. I can't be certain. You'll have to read for yourself. That being said, sex scenes are pretty limited so don't expect a lot. Get yourself some Sylvia Day or H.M. Ward books if you're looking for hardcore ones. 




    I do have some minor complaints with the book, the characters are a bit confusing. I wasn't sure which POV I'm reading into. I had to re-read a couple of paragraph to get the idea but it wasn't a deal-breaker for me, ergo, the 4.5 star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Highly recimmended

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Recommended

    Intriguing main character and entertaining story. I would recommend this book as it will hold your attention and keep you guessing at times you may relate to the main character at others you may hate her. This book is an interesting emotional journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Not much of a plot

    I thought the author could of made a greater novel out of thjs.unique theme. I felt it wasnt enough of a novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2