Customer Reviews for

The Girl in the Clockwork Collar (Steampunk Chronicles Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When I read Kady Cross’s first novel in her Steampunk Chro

    When I read Kady Cross’s first novel in her Steampunk Chronicles The Girl in the Steel Corset I wasn’t impressed, simply because I felt the Steampunk elements far outweighed the romance. And I wanted more romance to balance out the heavy plot. But I did love the six characters in the Steampunk Chronicles. Now with that said, I really enjoyed Kady Cross' sequel The Girl in the Clockwork Collar . So I would like to give Kady Cross praise on this second novel. I love the Steampunk storyline, her talent as a writing, and some much loved, swoon-worthy moments.

    Finley is off to America with Griffin and the rest of Griffin's crew to rescue Jasper from the bounty hunters that came to England to arrest him for a murder that they claim he did back in America. When Finley and Griffin arrive in New York, they find out what Jasper was hiding from them in England, and murder is the least of Jasper's problems.

    Jasper, who I loved so much in the first book, with his fun attitude, he's hilarious sense of humor was the comic relief. But this time, he brought me tears instead of laughs. Mei is the girl Jasper left behind in America when he went to hide out in England. He thought this would protect Mei from his criminal past that he was running away from. Jasper is going to find out love is blind and even when you see the truth you can't tell your heart to stop loving.

    Jack Dandy was the only character not in this sequel novel. I really missed Jack. He's the cool bad/good guy. I hope he will be in the next novel. The rest are all here: Finley, Griffin, Sam, Emily and Jasper. Even though this was Jasper’s story, Finley and Griffin finally did acknowledge their feelings for each other and I would love to see their romance go deeper in the next novel.

    If you enjoy Steampunk, you will not want to miss out on The Girl in the Clockwork Collar. I recommend as fantastic Steampunk read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved this book. very well written. It has a story I couldn't

    I loved this book. very well written. It has a story I couldn't put down.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Set aside some quality time to enjoy this quality read

    I was hesitant to read Kady Cross' latest book in her Steampunk Chronicles series, The Girl In the Clockwork Collar. Her first one, The Girl In the Steel Corset, was so well written and engaging that I did not think she could do it again. I was wrong. This one is even better. From the first paragraph, the reader is swept into the world of the “strange band of Mysfits” as they take over a New York that did not actually exist in 1897, but should have.

    Those who have read the first book are already familiar with Finley Jayne and her compatriots, a crew of people with talents most people don't suspect even exist. Those who are new to the series are in for a treat as they meet the group for the first time. In either case, set some time aside and stock up on snacks, because you're not going to put this book down until the oh-my-goodness-how-did-that-happen ending.

    The surface plot revolves around proving the innocence of one of their team, Jasper Renn. To do so, first they must rescue him from the men who abducted him while he was visiting them in England. Along the way, Finley falls in love, or does she, with a rogue named Dalton, leading Griffin King, the leader of the group, to outlandish feats of bravery, or perhaps he would have done them anyway, to show his love for Finley, a love he cannot confess anymore than she can confess that she loves him. Then there's the tumultuous relationship between Emily, who can communicate with machines, and Sam, who she turned into a part-machine. And, just for spice, add a touch of lying female assassin and help from Tesla himself. This is all melded seamlessly into a tale that will leaving you regretfully turning the last page, hoping for more.

    And yes, this book *can* stand on its own, you don't need to have already read The Girl In the Steel Corset. But, if you have not read the first book yet, you are very lucky. You will have something to occupy your time while the rest of us are whining and begging for the next book in the series. Though, now I think on it, mayhaps a re-reading of both books would be an admirable idea while waiting for Kady Cross' next masterpiece in the Steampunk Chronicles series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Doesn't Disappoint

    Yeah, I know the cover says it but it's true! I am just truly in love with Kady Cross's writing. These characters are amazing & I absolutely adore Steampunk b/c of Kady. This book picks up only days after The Girl In The Steel Corset ends with Jasper being taken away back to America! I fell a little bit in love with Jasper while learning his story! I also really loved seeing some of the other relationships develop! Can't wait for more in the series!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    awesome characters and amazing gadgetry

    The year is 1897, and the tale picks up right where the Girl in the Steel Corset ended. Finley Jane our sixteen year old protagonist is traveling to America via air. Along with her are Griffin, Sam and Emily. In the last novel Jasper was arrested for murder and taken to America. The gang is headed there to clear his name. When they arrive Finley is in awe of their living accommodations. Griffin has secured them each a room at the Waldorf-Astoria. When they arrive at the tomes, they discover Jasper hasn't been arrested. They meet a lawman from San Francisco who searching for Jasper and learn that he may be involved with a shady character named Dalton. As the team searches for Dalton and Jasper they discover he is in serious trouble. He seems to be protecting a girl in a clockwork collar named Mei. Finley manages to get herself caught up in the thick of things, and Griffin may just lose it. A side plot has a dark entity warning Griffin and I look forward to seeing that plot progress. The tale kept me on edge as they worked to solve the mystery, stop Dalton, and save Jasper. I adore the characters Cross has created. While I didn’t see a lot of character growth, I did feel Cross did a great job of fleshing them out more and bringing them to life. I connected with all of them on some level. Jasper has a lot on his plate, and the go lucky, fun loving personality I’d come to love didn’t present itself as much. His relationship with Griffin, Sam, Emily and Finley grew as he realized they believed in him. Emily loves Sam but is jealous of anyone who pays attention to Jasper and I found it hilarious. She’s like a kid in a playroom hoarding toys and yelling mine. Griffin has a lot to deal with and almost faces death in this novel. He is evaluating his feelings for Finley and trying to determine if he can trust her. I laughed as it’s so obvious he cannot live without her. Finley adores Griffin, wants Griffin, and needs Griffin, but thinks herself beneath him socially and as a person. While the romance between them didn’t progress much, the dance was still fun and I look forward to seeing what happens next. The new characters we meet made the plot feel genuine and added to my overall enjoyment of the tale. I loved Cross's use of historical figure Nickola Tesela as the inventor residing in the Gerlach Hotel. Sadly, Jack was not present in this novel although he still managed to create a wedge in Griffin and Finley’s relationship.*giggles* The world-building was amazing-tasitc! (Yep, I know it’s not a real word) I loved her use of multiple POV's and found it helped me connect with the characters and tale. Cross combines historical facts and characters, while weaving the Victorian era through her plot keeping me enthralled. From the Waldorf to the Points Five neighborhood this novel is steeped in history. While she herself admits she has taken liberty with the timeline, the actual descriptions were delightfully accurate. The steampunk gadgetry was stunning and I gobbled it up. I am looking forward to the next installment of this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Love

    Every time book, every time I toss between 4.5 to 5 stars with you. Now with the sequel, its 5 stars baby. And I'm just gushing about this series. Two books in and I love it even more. The characters make the story for me as the writing and can't over well paced the series is. It really helps when I keep thinking, okay just one more chapter. Then I found myself reading like, hmmm, reading 3 more chapters than I realized. Okay enough fangirling. So, this one concerns Griffin and co going to New York to help their cowboy friend Jasper. And let's say from there, it goes deeper than they thought. Boy was this quite the sequel. New characters introduced, good and bad so that was a nice balance. Moments where I couldn't help but smile, moments where I was like, would you man up already and moments where I was like, don't do this to me book. To me that's a good book where you're rooting for the main characters, going along for the ride as they set for their next adventure. Severely absent however was Jack Dandy. Miss that guy. Oh and Emily, was awesome in this. Also Dalton, so reminded me of Fassbender for some reason. Mei, all I can say...wow. And love that the sequel explored Finley's different side, well, dark side if you will. Even Jasper. Thank you for the character development. Much appreciative. Uh, alrighty then. Near the end, got to say I was like, oh that's a bad miss then that's not a pretty picture. But at the end, end, I was like freaking finally! Looking forward to the next book, obviously.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    First

    I love this series; it is seriously amazing! I recently read the first bool about a week ago, and I looked everywhere and it never said there was a sequel, let alone two! So when I just found out by looking on my Nook for the first time in a couple weeks that it was here, I automatically bought it! Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great for young adult readers

    I can appreciate a good YA book when one hits the shelves, especially when a series hits the shelves that doesn't revolve around sparkling vampires. I found this series to be an especially quick read, but I found myself engaged with it throughout the duration. I think that there are some moments of plot holes and some things seem to happen without much explaining but overall I loved the steampunk theme and the focus on a mature, self-reliant woman trying to battle enemies and her first love. Great read for young adults, and those interested in a victorian era steampunk adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Does jack kiss finley in his one?

    Answer please

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    If you enjoyed the first...

    You'll probably enjoy this one. We pick up where we left off at the end of the Girl in the Steel Corset and find ourselves winging away to New York where Finley and her motley crew go in search of their missing comrade, Jasper.

    While the story itself is a bit predictable in parts it's an overall fun read. It has a similar feel and flow as the first book and if you enjoyed it The Girl in the Clockwork Collar is more of the same steampunk romp.

    It's a fun series and I suggest that anyone interested grab a sample and see for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Finley and her "strange band of mysfits" are back, and

    Finley and her "strange band of mysfits" are back, and this time they're headed for America. 

    Their team is headed for the states to save Jasper, who has found himself in the hands of an old,
    dangerous friend. Jasper was one of my favorites because he was always the light hearted and
    comical friend. The deeper the story goes the more we find out about his troubled past. While digging
    into his past we find out about Mei. She was the girl he left behind and the person being used as
    leverage against him. 

    Coming to the USA is just another playing field for Finley. New faces, new enemies, and new territories.
    She’s the same strong headed girl but now with even more drive behind her from her new friends. In
    order to help find Jasper, Finley sacrafices herself by joining the very group that kidnapped him. Finley
    playing the bad guy could only make this more interesting.

    There is so much tension between Grffin and Finley. It's quite amusing seeing these two pining for
    each other but neither willing to admit it. Jack Dandy isn’t mentioned as often, but he's always be in the
    back of Griffin's mind. There's a silent competition between Jack and him for Finley.

    The story is fast paced and filled with the same entertainment and fun from the first novel. The action
    is even more intense and the mystery continues to runs after the pages end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Book!!

    Kady Cross made me fall in love with the whole Steampunk genre with her first book in the Steampunk Chronicles, and the second does not disappoint. I love all the fantastic contraptions and the suspense in this book really keeps you interested. The best thing is that you dont have to have read the first book in the series to understand this sequel, it stands on its own merits, but if you have read it, you understand the dynamics of the group better. I cant wait to see what happens to Finley next when they get back to England.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Delightful!

    Enjoyed this one! Felt the plot got rushed at the end, though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    The girl in the clockworkk The girl in the clockwork collar

    It was very good i throughly enjoied the fact that finley and griffin finally got together. The only thing i eish is that jasper would have had someone to set his heart on now that he has lost his only love. I am looking forward to a sequel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    This is the second in the Steampunk Chronicle series by Kady Cr

    This is the second in the Steampunk Chronicle series by Kady Cross. This series is some of the best steampunk that I have ever read. It's got the clever machinery, some magic, great heroes, very evil villains - and a little romance!

    Finley, the heroine, is more secure in herself than she was in the first novel, The Girl in the Steel Corset. She seems less afraid to get out there and kick some evil-doer's butt, yet she is still learning how to work her "talent." She is a character that is very easy to like and root for throughout the story. And of course, the book would be nothing without her gang, who are right there to help out... or make fun of her, whichever is more appropriate at the time.

    The Girl in the Clockwork Collar is a fun romp through New York City at the turn of the 19th century. If you like steampunk, you'll definitely want to read this, but start with the first book. If you've never read any steampunk, start out with this series!

    Thanks to Netgalley and Harlequin for allowing me to read this book in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review: The Girl in the Clockwork Collar

    wasn't sure if I was going to read this. I had a hard time with the first in the series but not for reasons most people would think. I strictly had an issue with the steam punk aspect of the story. I was beginning to think that the genre wasn't for me. But, I decided to give it one more shot.

    Maybe it's because there's a little less steam punk elements in this book, or maybe it's something else. Either way, I liked this book way more than the first. I liked that Jasper gets a lot of mention in this book. He's got a really interesting past and we really get to see that. The people he used to associate with in the US compared to the people he came to associate with in England show the difference in his values and what was important to him. I like to see that kind of change in a character. His devotion to Mei is also sweet and the fact that he is willing to go to such lows to keep her safe shows how much she meant to him.

    I love the development of the relationships of the other characters. I sometimes wanted to bop Griffin and Finley on the head. They are both too stubborn and refuse to recognize how they feel about each other. But, it also makes for excellent tension in the book. Sam and Emily are also very sweet. The gang as a whole is becoming more comfortable together. I love that.

    The action of the story is really interesting. Dalton is a great villain. I love how he pushes the others because it makes for some great scenes. I love the part in 5 points were Jasper has to take on a gang and then the leader (who is a scorned ex). It's just exciting.

    After this installment, I will be reading the next. I'm so glad I decided to give this series another try!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ever since I began reading Kady Cross's work I know very well I

    Ever since I began reading Kady Cross's work I know very well I will be
    entertained. The plot pulses with action, mystery, romance, and above
    all, there is fluidity. I am pleased to see this awesome adventure
    continues in the US. Griffin, Finley, Emily and Sam take of to the
    Americas in search of their friend Jasper. Being the loyal bunch that
    they are, they trust in Jasper's innocence and work to save and clear
    his name. In the America's Jasper reunites with an old flame and
    friend, Mei, who is held hostage by Dalton. Dalton is a criminal at
    best and a creep every other day. The entire Griffin gang scouts the
    dangerous streets looking for any information that will lead them to
    Jasper. Finley and Sam joins an underground fighting ring just so that
    they could have an inside man. As twists occur in the plot, true
    motives and feelings become known. For instance, Griffin and Finley
    still have the chemistry in which draws me and has me screaming.....
    "Kiss already!" Emily and Sam are an interesting read as
    well. But what is surprising is the re-visit of what Jasper and Mei had
    in the past. More so, what's most interesting is the betrayal that is
    soon discovered between the two. I am thoroughly pleased with Kady
    Cross's Steampunk Chronicles. So far, the prequel, book one and this
    book has been well worth a read. Those who enjoy romance, mystery,
    action with a tough of humor are in for a treat with this series.
    Highly recommend this YA series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I just love steampunk. I can't get enough of the genre, and Kady

    I just love steampunk. I can't get enough of the genre, and Kady Cross is a master of the gadgetry and the atmosphere that makes it so wonderful. I loved The Girl in the Steel Corset (I've read it three times), so I was ridiculously excited to get this one and it did not in any way whatsoever disappoint.


    All of the characters from the first book were as wonderful as ever, and it was so much fun to see more of Jasper. Finley gets to let her wild side out, Griffin gets to work a little bit of romance on her... ;) You also get to meet some marvelous new characters from Jasper's past. The lovely, endangered Mei who carries a bad attitude and many secrets.Wildcat, whose heart was broken by Jasper (I really, really want to see more of her). Then you've got Whip Kirby, the lawman who may not be entirely what he seems.


    The story was fantastic, full of blackmail and intrigue and, of course, it wouldn't be steampunk without a hefty dose of peculiar gadgets. These books make me happy. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Isn't It Grand? 4.25stars I liked this installment more than the

    Isn't It Grand? 4.25stars
    I liked this installment more than the last. Possibly because now I know that it’s the (Steam)Punk-Men instead of just Finley or maybe because this story picks up immediately after and I was enjoying that storyline. Whatever the reason this entry of Finley and her pals find them crossing the pond on a mission to save Jasper.

    Cynic that I am, some of the elements seemed telegraphed – but I am a cynic. Either way it did not stop the enjoyment of this fast paced read. The characters were so well defined they were visual, they stayed true to the established character traits and the storyline framed well against their strengths. There was a promise of more to come but I appreciated not being left with a bold cliffhanger. One thing that really got under my skin was the transition. It was rattling that as we switched from character POV to character POV there was no break or signal. The first few times I thought something was wrong with my copy.

    I don’t think you’d be too badly off if this series isn’t read in strict order but it would make more sense and you would be able to see a lot of growth in the characters. As a stand-alone this book could work if hard pressed but would present difficulty in a couple of places

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect Blend of Fantasy, Action, Romance & History Brought

    Perfect Blend of Fantasy, Action, Romance & History

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Angie

    I have never read a “steampunk” novel and truthfully I wasn’t sure what I was getting into. To be honest, I was a little surprised by how much I enjoyed it. It took a few chapters for me to suspend my conventional understanding of the Victorian era and accept the strange machinery and fantasy in this ‘alternate universe.’ What struck me first was the excellent writing in the book. The characters are well developed and the relationships between them are deep and thorough.

    I enjoyed seeing Finley’s struggle to be the powerful woman she wants to be with the more delicate intricacies of a girl in love.

    I didn’t have the benefit of reading the first book in the series before reading this one (something I’ve NEVER done) so I felt a little at a disadvantage. Cross adequately explained events in the first book throughout the story so that, although I hadn’t read it for myself, I felt as if I understood the gist of what was going on. I loved that she included factual characters, places, and events to provide more realism to the story.

    This story had a perfect blend of fantasy, action, romance and history. I LOVED it and I look forward to exploring the steampunk world a little deeper.

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3