BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Girl in the Clockwork Collar (Steampunk Chronicles Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    When I read Kady Cross’s first novel in her Steampunk Chro

    When I read Kady Cross’s first novel in her Steampunk Chronicles The Girl in the Steel Corset I wasn’t impressed, simply because I felt the Steampunk elements far outweighed the romance. And I wanted more romance to balance out the heavy plot. But I did love the six characters in the Steampunk Chronicles. Now with that said, I really enjoyed Kady Cross' sequel The Girl in the Clockwork Collar . So I would like to give Kady Cross praise on this second novel. I love the Steampunk storyline, her talent as a writing, and some much loved, swoon-worthy moments.

    Finley is off to America with Griffin and the rest of Griffin's crew to rescue Jasper from the bounty hunters that came to England to arrest him for a murder that they claim he did back in America. When Finley and Griffin arrive in New York, they find out what Jasper was hiding from them in England, and murder is the least of Jasper's problems.

    Jasper, who I loved so much in the first book, with his fun attitude, he's hilarious sense of humor was the comic relief. But this time, he brought me tears instead of laughs. Mei is the girl Jasper left behind in America when he went to hide out in England. He thought this would protect Mei from his criminal past that he was running away from. Jasper is going to find out love is blind and even when you see the truth you can't tell your heart to stop loving.

    Jack Dandy was the only character not in this sequel novel. I really missed Jack. He's the cool bad/good guy. I hope he will be in the next novel. The rest are all here: Finley, Griffin, Sam, Emily and Jasper. Even though this was Jasper’s story, Finley and Griffin finally did acknowledge their feelings for each other and I would love to see their romance go deeper in the next novel.

    If you enjoy Steampunk, you will not want to miss out on The Girl in the Clockwork Collar. I recommend as fantastic Steampunk read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    awesome characters and amazing gadgetry

    The year is 1897, and the tale picks up right where the Girl in the Steel Corset ended. Finley Jane our sixteen year old protagonist is traveling to America via air. Along with her are Griffin, Sam and Emily. In the last novel Jasper was arrested for murder and taken to America. The gang is headed there to clear his name. When they arrive Finley is in awe of their living accommodations. Griffin has secured them each a room at the Waldorf-Astoria. When they arrive at the tomes, they discover Jasper hasn't been arrested. They meet a lawman from San Francisco who searching for Jasper and learn that he may be involved with a shady character named Dalton. As the team searches for Dalton and Jasper they discover he is in serious trouble. He seems to be protecting a girl in a clockwork collar named Mei. Finley manages to get herself caught up in the thick of things, and Griffin may just lose it. A side plot has a dark entity warning Griffin and I look forward to seeing that plot progress. The tale kept me on edge as they worked to solve the mystery, stop Dalton, and save Jasper. I adore the characters Cross has created. While I didn’t see a lot of character growth, I did feel Cross did a great job of fleshing them out more and bringing them to life. I connected with all of them on some level. Jasper has a lot on his plate, and the go lucky, fun loving personality I’d come to love didn’t present itself as much. His relationship with Griffin, Sam, Emily and Finley grew as he realized they believed in him. Emily loves Sam but is jealous of anyone who pays attention to Jasper and I found it hilarious. She’s like a kid in a playroom hoarding toys and yelling mine. Griffin has a lot to deal with and almost faces death in this novel. He is evaluating his feelings for Finley and trying to determine if he can trust her. I laughed as it’s so obvious he cannot live without her. Finley adores Griffin, wants Griffin, and needs Griffin, but thinks herself beneath him socially and as a person. While the romance between them didn’t progress much, the dance was still fun and I look forward to seeing what happens next. The new characters we meet made the plot feel genuine and added to my overall enjoyment of the tale. I loved Cross's use of historical figure Nickola Tesela as the inventor residing in the Gerlach Hotel. Sadly, Jack was not present in this novel although he still managed to create a wedge in Griffin and Finley’s relationship.*giggles* The world-building was amazing-tasitc! (Yep, I know it’s not a real word) I loved her use of multiple POV's and found it helped me connect with the characters and tale. Cross combines historical facts and characters, while weaving the Victorian era through her plot keeping me enthralled. From the Waldorf to the Points Five neighborhood this novel is steeped in history. While she herself admits she has taken liberty with the timeline, the actual descriptions were delightfully accurate. The steampunk gadgetry was stunning and I gobbled it up. I am looking forward to the next installment of this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Finley and her "strange band of mysfits" are back, and

    Finley and her "strange band of mysfits" are back, and this time they're headed for America. 

    Their team is headed for the states to save Jasper, who has found himself in the hands of an old,
    dangerous friend. Jasper was one of my favorites because he was always the light hearted and
    comical friend. The deeper the story goes the more we find out about his troubled past. While digging
    into his past we find out about Mei. She was the girl he left behind and the person being used as
    leverage against him. 

    Coming to the USA is just another playing field for Finley. New faces, new enemies, and new territories.
    She’s the same strong headed girl but now with even more drive behind her from her new friends. In
    order to help find Jasper, Finley sacrafices herself by joining the very group that kidnapped him. Finley
    playing the bad guy could only make this more interesting.

    There is so much tension between Grffin and Finley. It's quite amusing seeing these two pining for
    each other but neither willing to admit it. Jack Dandy isn’t mentioned as often, but he's always be in the
    back of Griffin's mind. There's a silent competition between Jack and him for Finley.

    The story is fast paced and filled with the same entertainment and fun from the first novel. The action
    is even more intense and the mystery continues to runs after the pages end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    This is the second in the Steampunk Chronicle series by Kady Cr

    This is the second in the Steampunk Chronicle series by Kady Cross. This series is some of the best steampunk that I have ever read. It's got the clever machinery, some magic, great heroes, very evil villains - and a little romance!

    Finley, the heroine, is more secure in herself than she was in the first novel, The Girl in the Steel Corset. She seems less afraid to get out there and kick some evil-doer's butt, yet she is still learning how to work her "talent." She is a character that is very easy to like and root for throughout the story. And of course, the book would be nothing without her gang, who are right there to help out... or make fun of her, whichever is more appropriate at the time.

    The Girl in the Clockwork Collar is a fun romp through New York City at the turn of the 19th century. If you like steampunk, you'll definitely want to read this, but start with the first book. If you've never read any steampunk, start out with this series!

    Thanks to Netgalley and Harlequin for allowing me to read this book in exchange for an honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review: The Girl in the Clockwork Collar

    wasn't sure if I was going to read this. I had a hard time with the first in the series but not for reasons most people would think. I strictly had an issue with the steam punk aspect of the story. I was beginning to think that the genre wasn't for me. But, I decided to give it one more shot.

    Maybe it's because there's a little less steam punk elements in this book, or maybe it's something else. Either way, I liked this book way more than the first. I liked that Jasper gets a lot of mention in this book. He's got a really interesting past and we really get to see that. The people he used to associate with in the US compared to the people he came to associate with in England show the difference in his values and what was important to him. I like to see that kind of change in a character. His devotion to Mei is also sweet and the fact that he is willing to go to such lows to keep her safe shows how much she meant to him.

    I love the development of the relationships of the other characters. I sometimes wanted to bop Griffin and Finley on the head. They are both too stubborn and refuse to recognize how they feel about each other. But, it also makes for excellent tension in the book. Sam and Emily are also very sweet. The gang as a whole is becoming more comfortable together. I love that.

    The action of the story is really interesting. Dalton is a great villain. I love how he pushes the others because it makes for some great scenes. I love the part in 5 points were Jasper has to take on a gang and then the leader (who is a scorned ex). It's just exciting.

    After this installment, I will be reading the next. I'm so glad I decided to give this series another try!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I just love steampunk. I can't get enough of the genre, and Kady

    I just love steampunk. I can't get enough of the genre, and Kady Cross is a master of the gadgetry and the atmosphere that makes it so wonderful. I loved The Girl in the Steel Corset (I've read it three times), so I was ridiculously excited to get this one and it did not in any way whatsoever disappoint.


    All of the characters from the first book were as wonderful as ever, and it was so much fun to see more of Jasper. Finley gets to let her wild side out, Griffin gets to work a little bit of romance on her... ;) You also get to meet some marvelous new characters from Jasper's past. The lovely, endangered Mei who carries a bad attitude and many secrets.Wildcat, whose heart was broken by Jasper (I really, really want to see more of her). Then you've got Whip Kirby, the lawman who may not be entirely what he seems.


    The story was fantastic, full of blackmail and intrigue and, of course, it wouldn't be steampunk without a hefty dose of peculiar gadgets. These books make me happy. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Isn't It Grand? 4.25stars I liked this installment more than the

    Isn't It Grand? 4.25stars
    I liked this installment more than the last. Possibly because now I know that it’s the (Steam)Punk-Men instead of just Finley or maybe because this story picks up immediately after and I was enjoying that storyline. Whatever the reason this entry of Finley and her pals find them crossing the pond on a mission to save Jasper.

    Cynic that I am, some of the elements seemed telegraphed – but I am a cynic. Either way it did not stop the enjoyment of this fast paced read. The characters were so well defined they were visual, they stayed true to the established character traits and the storyline framed well against their strengths. There was a promise of more to come but I appreciated not being left with a bold cliffhanger. One thing that really got under my skin was the transition. It was rattling that as we switched from character POV to character POV there was no break or signal. The first few times I thought something was wrong with my copy.

    I don’t think you’d be too badly off if this series isn’t read in strict order but it would make more sense and you would be able to see a lot of growth in the characters. As a stand-alone this book could work if hard pressed but would present difficulty in a couple of places

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect Blend of Fantasy, Action, Romance & History Brought

    Perfect Blend of Fantasy, Action, Romance & History

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Angie

    I have never read a “steampunk” novel and truthfully I wasn’t sure what I was getting into. To be honest, I was a little surprised by how much I enjoyed it. It took a few chapters for me to suspend my conventional understanding of the Victorian era and accept the strange machinery and fantasy in this ‘alternate universe.’ What struck me first was the excellent writing in the book. The characters are well developed and the relationships between them are deep and thorough.

    I enjoyed seeing Finley’s struggle to be the powerful woman she wants to be with the more delicate intricacies of a girl in love.

    I didn’t have the benefit of reading the first book in the series before reading this one (something I’ve NEVER done) so I felt a little at a disadvantage. Cross adequately explained events in the first book throughout the story so that, although I hadn’t read it for myself, I felt as if I understood the gist of what was going on. I loved that she included factual characters, places, and events to provide more realism to the story.

    This story had a perfect blend of fantasy, action, romance and history. I LOVED it and I look forward to exploring the steampunk world a little deeper.

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    This book was a whole pile of kick ass Finley. The girl has sum


    This book was a whole pile of kick ass Finley. The girl has summoned her inner fight club self and taken to the streets of New York in her endeavour to go undercover and get Jasper out of his pickle he has got himself in. Finley eventually winds up under the roof of Dalton , the villain of the story, proving herself the bad girl, ready to ride with his gang, whilst hatching a plan with Griffin and the crew to get Jasper out from Dalton’s clutches.

    Mei...errrr....Xing...yes ! That put a stop to me throwing that name around in my head on how to pronounce it. Amazing...get it...bahhahahaaa!!

    Anyhoo this innocent looking young asian lovely ( yes ,she is the covergirl) , is the reason Jasper will not leave the clutches of Dalton. He is being rather chivalrous in his endeavour to keep her safe, even though that darn clockwork collar is causing a spanner in the works.

    Mei ...errr...Xing and Jasper have a bit of history. Jasper, we thought he was falling for young Emily in the first book , that seems to have gone a float like a dirigible. ( an airship or dirigible is a type of aerostat or "lighter-than-air aircraft" that can be steered and propelled through the air using rudders and propellers or other thrust mechanisms) Yes, I have learnt some big words since embarking on my love of Steampunk genre.

    For that matter, the Emily and Sam type courting thing from the first book seems to have turned into a dirigible too.

    Kady has kept us entertained in this instalment while I was looking under all things for Jack....my dark Dandy where are you? I realise this is a ploy for Finley to spend time with Griffin, for the reader to get comfy with Griffin and Finley, and for the next instalment to throw us about when Jack reappears. I am thinking aloud here.....hehe! Or hoping and wishing.

    I must admit I missed Jack terribly. Dalton was no match for Finley’s feelings and not a good sparring match for Griffin and his affections for Finley. Sure Dalton was all things villain and murderous and gang leader and after power..... but, my Jack, who we were left rather unsure of how dark he really was at the end of The Girl In The Steel Corset was nowhere....*pout*

    Reno Dalton’s character is kind of leeching that dark side out of Finley, bringing it more to the surface. She quite appears to be enjoying herself playing the part of a would be gang member.

    I love how fast paced this story is. Kady really lets us visually see Finley in our mind all dressed in her attire fighting away and being kind of scary. She does show some weakness and some femininity but she has become a force to be reckoned with. I am not sure how I feel about this? I like a woman who can handle herself...but.......

    Griffin is going through some discovery himself. He is still this guy that would make me swoon...if I was a swooner. I am still trying to figure out how the emotions changed in this book between Emily and Sam, and Jasper and Emily, and Griffin and Finley. They are still there but.......

    Finley and Griffin are still verbally sparring, but there is a slight shift. Finley is strong and making her own calls in this book. Griffin is having trouble keeping up with her where-a-bouts.

    Is it just me, or does everybody else forget that Finley is only sixteen?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Plenty of Fights and Romance

    This interesting group of friends travels abroad to America and continue to be intriguing even in the new setting. The story doesn’t take long to jump into the action and I was swept up into the events immediately. There are plenty of fights and touches of romance that weave their way in and out of the tale.

    While most of the story features Jasper being apart from the rest of the gang, he’s still pulled into the story when Finley comes to help him. There are new characters introduced, but none of them fill the void left by Jack Dandy. While I realize the story wouldn’t have worked with his inclusion as they left London, and there were a number of mentions of him, it wasn’t enough to fully satisfy my need of Jack. He was the most wonderfully complex character in the first book and I hope he returns for more.

    The new bad guy in this book wasn’t as despicable as he could have been and not enough time was spent building up the hate I should have felt for his character. I felt as if Jasper or Finley should have been able to brush him aside at any time. Mei, the girl in the clockwork collar, had more to her than he did…actually she was a pretty kick butt kind of character.

    Seeing a number of Jasper’s old acquaintances and learning more of his background was charming and made me like Jasper even more. Maybe Kady Cross will give Jack Dandy the same treatment in the future. I can hope!

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Saturday, May 26, 2012Review:The Girl in the Clockwork Collar by

    Saturday, May 26, 2012Review:The Girl in the Clockwork Collar by Kady Cross
    4 STARS
    I believe this is the second book in this series but the first one I have read. I enjoyed reading it and had a
    hard time puting it down till I finshed it. I hope some day to go and read The girl in the Steel Corset.
    Thier was some things the book hinted at that I would like to know more about. But I feel the book stands alone alright.
    I had to look up what was Steampunk. I found it takes in the era of steam engines and blends in some
    modern stuff and combines it.
    Griffen King is the Duke of Greythorne and is rich but also an orphan. He has gathered a bunch of friends that have extra powers together to make a difference. Right now they have come from London to New York riding in his private airship. His friend Jasper was brought back over to face charge of
    murder.
    With him is Finley Jayne she is very strong, can fight and heals fast. Finley now works for him.
    She likes him a lot. Griffen likes her too but they are afraid to really show each other how much they like the other.
    Sam is strong and part machine. I gather he was hurt badly but Emily fixed him with machine parts in the first book.
    Emily can control machines and talk to them. She is really smart.
    Jasper is a cowboy who met the others in England. He is accused of murder in San Francisco.
    Jasper is really fast and excellent shot with his pistels.
    They are a bunch of talented teens working together. When they get to the jail to help Jasper they
    find out that it was not police who came over to England after him but crooks.
    Dalton is in charge of the gang and wants the machine Jasper had stolen from him. He has captured
    Jasper's old girl friend Mei and as a collar around her neck and if she leaves or does somthing he does not like he can make the collar tighten and can kill her. Jasper does not know what the machine does but he took it apart and hid it around New York.
    Finley goes undercover and gets Dalton to hire her to work for him to see whats going on with Jasper.
    Science was fun and different. Lots of action and drama. I would love to read more about these teens
    and see whats happens to them next.
    I was given this ebook to read in exchange for honest review from Netgalley.
    05/29/2012 PUB Harlequin HarlequinTEEN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1