Customer Reviews for

The Girl in the Leaves

Average Rating 3.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

I have not read the book.  I just wanted to say that I watched t

I have not read the book.  I just wanted to say that I watched the father and daughter on Dr. Phil, and they collaborated in writing this together.  The fact that she took the effort to write this and had the courage to do so to share her story should be enough for you ...
I have not read the book.  I just wanted to say that I watched the father and daughter on Dr. Phil, and they collaborated in writing this together.  The fact that she took the effort to write this and had the courage to do so to share her story should be enough for you to promote this book.  I also wanted to point out how easy it is to write a review and put down a book if you have sympathy for the killer.  This family is hurting with a tragic loss, if they can cope somehow by writing a book and sharing their pain, let it be done and support them.  I'll pray for this family.

posted by Anonymous on January 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Not very engaging

This saga of a heinous crime committed against a young girl & her family could have been a harrowing true crime book. Instead, the author's bland writing style and rote recitation of facts read like an endless newspaper article. What motivated the killer to commit this ...
This saga of a heinous crime committed against a young girl & her family could have been a harrowing true crime book. Instead, the author's bland writing style and rote recitation of facts read like an endless newspaper article. What motivated the killer to commit this crime? What was behind his obsession with & hoarding of leaves? I forced myself to wade through the whole book hoping to find out, but never did.

posted by 9030763 on January 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    I have not read the book.  I just wanted to say that I watched t

    I have not read the book.  I just wanted to say that I watched the father and daughter on Dr. Phil, and they collaborated in writing this together.  The fact that she took the effort to write this and had the courage to do so to share her story should be enough for you to promote this book.  I also wanted to point out how easy it is to write a review and put down a book if you have sympathy for the killer.  This family is hurting with a tragic loss, if they can cope somehow by writing a book and sharing their pain, let it be done and support them.  I'll pray for this family.

    29 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Tragic

    This is an in depth story of a horrible tragedy that took place in Knox County. This story is informative and provides a sense of closure. Warning this book is very graphic. In regards to negative reviews who cares if the people who endured this horrific event make money? You will not regret buying and reading this book. Sarah Maynard is a brave and inspiring girl.

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    I read the book and watched the Dr. Phil show today about this a

    I read the book and watched the Dr. Phil show today about this and to the people saying that the book is cruel and that its horrific tragedy and people are trying to make money off of it, I only have one thing to say to that, the people that wrote this book was the family that was affected by the events in the books. Please do some research before you criticize.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Well written

    This is a well written book.. Hoffman is worse than a monster, what he did to this family and friend is so terrible !! I dont wish the worst on people but him i do, he will be taken care of in prison.. Sarah is a very brave n strong young lady, my heart goes to her, the victims, and victims family .... Bn

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    An accurate account of events.....no exploitation...Enjoyed read

    An accurate account of events.....no exploitation...Enjoyed reading this book!

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Thank you Sarah for sharing your story, you are a very brave you

    Thank you Sarah for sharing your story, you are a very brave young lady. As I'm from Knox County ,born and raised in Howard, Raising my own five kids in Mt. Vernon, a place that you feel safe, A good place to live and raise a family. But time's have changed and your story remind us there is MONSTER'S IN THE DARK AND SOMETIMES THEY LIVE NEXT DOOR.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Must read

    Good book sad story

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    My heart goes out to this family that dealt with this horrendous

    My heart goes out to this family that dealt with this horrendous tragedy. I pray for some sort of relief for the survivors. After watching the Dr. Phil show I could only cry. The bravery this young girl had to show past the pain she was enduring is unimaginable. I will gladly buy this book. I think the courage it must have taken to help write it is heroic and I'm sure your mother and brother are proud. I wish thete was a fund I could simply donate towards to help you in your future. Goody luck  to you sweet angel. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    LeafClan Training Hollow

    HawkThorn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Girl in the leaves

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    What happened to the others

    Tell me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    highly recommended

    could not put this book down. it is a must read.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Moonkit

    Moonkit smiled. "Oh. Thank you for clearing that up." She told her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Nightdazzle

    Ok. Watches kits.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Crookedkit and Lostkit

    Crookedkit wakes up and streches.<br>
    Lostkit still sleeps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    Was hard to put down. An easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Terrible

    This is quite possibly the worst book I've ever purchased. Other than the fact I'm from Ohio and hope the victim will profit from My ten bucks this was a complete waste of money and time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    I cant stop crying long enough to even start reading it!!!!!!!!!

    I cant stop crying long enough to even start reading it!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is unheard of to me cant even imagine i have a son and daughter and to hear this story is heart wrenching i saw it on the dr phill show that i love soooo much watching him and his little sweet cute wifey Ms Robin My thoughts and prayers go out to this family totally i rarely read a lot unless its my bible but this story and another called buried memories got my full attention and i had to know more my family is praying for this family especially the daughter whom i see and saw so much pain bless you both

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Just watched the story on Deadly Sins on the Investigation Disco

    Just watched the story on Deadly Sins on the Investigation Discovery Channel. Sarah Maynard is a brave young woman. I couldn't imagine
    going through what she endured and not be afraid to leave my house again. The author of the book was on that show so that
    made me seek out the book. I haven't read it yet, but with the glimpse of what we got on tv, I know it will be hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    This was a well written book and I feel terrible about what the

    This was a well written book and I feel terrible about what the families went threw. Must Read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2