Customer Reviews for

The Girl with the Iron Touch (Steampunk Chronicles Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love the Steampunk Chronicles by Kady Cross so of course I bro

    I love the Steampunk Chronicles by Kady Cross so of course I broke into my book happy dance when Harlequin Teen sent me this ARC. I am happy to say, I wasn’t disappointed, The Girl with the Iron Touch ROCKED!

    This is Emily’s adventure and in Kady Cross style the whole gain came out to play. Emily gets kidnapped by automatons to transplant Leonardo Garibaldi brain into a newly created sentient automaton. Of course Emily doesn’t want to resurrect Machinist since he is pure evil and their nemesis but Emily also has developed feelings for this new being called 312. Threatened with the well fair of her friends, Emily must use all her wits to escape or hold on until her friends find her.

    Griffin is being tormented and since he is unused to sharing hardships he tries to handle the situation on his own. He doesn’t share his difficulties until they become life threatening.

    Together they pool their resources to find Emily, Finely even goes to Jack Dandy for help. 

    Things are definitely heating up between Sam and Emily as well as Finely and Griffin. Each character has issues that they must overcome but I was thrilled with the character’s progression.

    I loved this book. It was fast paced, action packed. I found the plot exciting and mysterious. I enjoyed the steampunk flare. But I think my favorite part was the seriously hot headway on the relationship front all around. I am thrilled with the turn of events and the new characters that came into play. I can’t wait to see what role Jack will be playing and the impact from their secretive American visitor. 

    Don’t miss this brilliant young adult steampunk story by Kady Cross. The Girl with the Iron Touch is a drop everything and read into the wee-hours kind of book.

    This ARC copy of The Girl with the Iron Touch was given to me by Harlequin Teen in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication May 28, 2013.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    I love this series. 3 books in and I give them 5 stars. This series...just...wow. Anyway, this has the gang try to find and rescue kidnapped Emily who a certain enemy of theirs wants the Irish red head for her skills. Throughout, there's times I'm thinking, you two (Finley and Griffin), remember Emily, you're friend, little red read, their tension was off the charts. Its like, priorities please. Sam you are adorable, find your woman dude! I wasn't sure I was going to like Mila, but she grows on ya. Yay more Jasper and Jack Dandy, than you. And hints of romance all around for everyone? Okay then. Still loved this one. I was going to give this a 4.5 but 5 stars because of the ending, well near the ending to be honest. Love the covers. First one was red, second was purple and this one green. Cool combo. So good sequel and wonder where the gang will be up to next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Amazing

    This book is so good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    Awesome conclusion to an amazing trilogy! My Opinion: I was so e

    Awesome conclusion to an amazing trilogy!
    My Opinion: I was so excited when I got to read this book because Steampunk Chronicles is one of my favorite series, and I love Kady Cross's writing. I thought it tied things up nicely in most cases, but I felt bad for poor Jasper, one of my fave characters, who really didn't have much to do in this book and was just kind of hanging around. Fortunately, I got to see lots of Finley and Griffin, and Emily and Sam, with some awesome Jack Dandy thrown in for good measure, so I was a happy camper!




    The gang has returned to England from their trip to and adventures in America, and everybody's trying to recuperate from that. Unfortunately, Griffin isn't doing too well, but he won't share what's going on with any of them, which really irks Finley. Emily and Sam are getting closer and are finally going to admit how they feel to one another when Emily is kidnapped, and the rest of them have to find her and bring her back, while keeping Sam under some control because he's totally losing it. 




    Since I already told you how much I love this series, it's not surprising that I loved all of the characters, and enjoyed going back and visiting them again. The writing was, as usual, exciting and the pacing was perfect. I have to say that I am going to miss these guys a lot! 




    I thought this was a good conclusion to the Steampunk Chronicles series and I give it an enthusiastic 5 stars. I  highly recommend it to fans of YA steampunk :D




    I received a copy of this book free of charge from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Does jack kiss her in this book or book two?

    Swer above

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    I love this series!!

    Kady Cross is a literary genius. If you love the Steampunk then this is the book for you. Griffin and his band of misfit teens are full of life and character they're what make the books come alive. It's almost like you're in the book with them. Suspense, drama, mystery, with a pinch of superpowers left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    HOPEFUL

    I hope this book is good.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    4.5 Oh, how I've missed these guys. They are by far my favorit

    4.5

    Oh, how I've missed these guys. They are by far my favorite group of steampunk characters. They never fail to amaze me.

    Iron Touch starts off with action. I've come to love that in Kady Cross's writing. She grabs you from the very beginning and refuses to let you go. The plot is very fast paced. Although some of the events are predictable, some take you completely by surprise. We are also introduced to a new character. I'm not going to say much about this person, as it would spoil some things, but I can't wait to see where they go in the storyline.

    The characters as usual are great. I absolutely adore Emily, Sam, Jasper, Finley, and Griffin. After everything they have been through, their relationships with each other are kind of up in the air. They don't know the right things to say, and when they do, they are interrupted. There are so many times I wanted to slap the mess out of Griffin. For such a smart guy, he can be very dumb. I also loved seeing a gentler side to Sam. Although it is so much fun seeing him and Finley go head to head. Emily is stronger than anyone thinks. She's known for making the logical decision at all times, but finds herself making choices on the fly. We also get a bit of Jack Dandy. I love this man. He's awesome, and I hope as the series progresses we get to see a little more about him.

    Fans of this series or steampunk will love this book. Also keep an eye out for The Dark Discovery of Jack Dandy. It's supposed to be released July 1, 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** The Girl with t

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

    The Girl with the Iron Touch by Kady Cross
    Publisher: Harlequin TEEN
    Publication Date: May 28, 2013
    Rating: 5 stars
    Source: eARC from NetGalley

    Summary (from Goodreads):

    In 1897 London, something not quite human is about to awaken 

    When mechanical genius Emily is kidnapped by rogue automatons, Finley Jayne and her fellow misfits fear the worst. What's left of their archenemy, The Machinist, hungers to be resurrected, and Emily must transplant his consciousness into one of his automatons—or forfeit her friends' lives. 

    With Griffin being mysteriously tormented by the Aether, the young duke's sanity is close to the breaking point. Seeking help, Finley turns to Jack Dandy, but trusting the master criminal is as dangerous as controlling her dark side. When Jack kisses her, Finley must finally confront her true feelings for him...and for Griffin. 

    Meanwhile, Sam is searching everywhere for Emily, from Whitechapel's desolate alleyways to Mayfair's elegant mansions. He would walk into hell for her, but the choice she must make will test them more than they could imagine. 

    To save those she cares about, Emily must confront The Machinist's ultimate creation—an automaton more human than machine. And if she's to have any chance at triumphing, she must summon a strength even she doesn't know she has...


    What I Liked:

    I honestly cannot believe just how much I absolutely LOVED this book. I read The Girl in the Steel Corset, the first book a few years ago (i.e., a really long time ago, in which I don't remember much of what happened). I was not impressed with the first book. I gave it just about three stars - but on the low end of three stars. It was somewhat boring, very slow-paced, and only minimally interesting. 

    The Girl in the Clockwork Collar, the second book, was better. There was more action, a faster pace to the story, and, well, MORE. I liked that book so much more than the first book, and I gave it four stars.

    This book was AMAZING. I almost can't believe that this book is in the same series as the first book. This book is so different from the first book. Things actually happen! There is more characterization! I can finally see the underlying plot that connects the books! I honestly thought this series was more of a companion series, and not a continuation series.

    I was so impressed by the plot! It felt like action or scheming or SOMETHING was happening, page by page. I found the story easy to follow, despite the much faster pace. The plot took twists and turns and made me guess right until the end.

    When I said characterization happened, I meant it. This book is "Emily's" book, so we get to see more of Emily and transitively, more of Sam. I liked finally being able to get into the Irish girl's head, and understanding her thoughts. Emily is no longer a mystery to readers. I really like her! And I like the pair of Emily and Sam even more now.

    All of the characters seem to undergo some characterization. By the end, Griffin is more open about what is happening to him, Finley is more caring towards everyone, and Jack is more caring to certain people, and less invasive to others.

    I think one of the biggest reasons why I loved this book so much more than the first book and the second book is the romance. Emily and Sam are truly a couple now (as if there were any doubts). But Finley and Griffin! Despite Griffin's secretiveness, Finley is consistent and keeps harrowing away at his walls. They FINALLY do stuff! I'm so happy to see their relationship take a new level. 

    The scenes with Finley and Griffin almost getting close, but get interrupted, are my FAVORITE. It always seems to be Sam barging in at the wrong moment. But I love those scenes! I love Griffin even more (despite his secrecy), and I compliment Finley on her persistence.

    The plot and the ending of this book are so well written. I am so happy that I stuck with this series, because now I cannot wait to read the next book, The Girl with the Wind-Up Heart!


    What I Did Not Like:

    There really isn't much I can say here. I know, I am as shocked as you are! I didn't think I would like this book at all, but instead, I loved it so much!


    Would I Recommend It:

    YES YES YES! If you've already started the series, stick with it! You may not have liked the first and/or second book (or maybe you did!), but trust me when I say that you will LOVE this one! I hope you do!


    Rating:

    5 stars - I keep saying it is rare for me to give a book five stars, but here I am giving books five stars left and right! It seems like this year has some amazing books, and I am thrilled to be reading books that I love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Such a wonderful story this is.

    Screw the long description of the book, that's what the overveiw is for! This series is the best thing since color tv! I love the romance and 'bad-assery' that this story creates. This story makes me wish we lived in a steampunk world (not that i dont wish that anyway). I give this book and everyone before it a top of the line rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1