Customer Reviews for

The Given Sacrifice: A Novel of the Change

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

THE GIVEN SACRIFICE was certainly a fitting end to a fine series

THE GIVEN SACRIFICE was certainly a fitting end to a fine series. The only part that was wholly predictable was that Rudi died in battle at the end. This was preordained, both by the title and by the fact that Rudi's father, Mike Havel, died in battle at the end of the ...
THE GIVEN SACRIFICE was certainly a fitting end to a fine series. The only part that was wholly predictable was that Rudi died in battle at the end. This was preordained, both by the title and by the fact that Rudi's father, Mike Havel, died in battle at the end of the first Change series.

The first part was a very satisfying wrap up to the Prophet's War. Getting many units of the Boise army to defect to Montival in a believable fashion and taking the fortress city of Boise via subterfuge was elegantly done. The Morrowland Scouts were a very nice touch, a subplot that added to the tale of the ultimate fall of Corwin. Sethaz's death seemed a bit anticlimactic, I would have expected him to be harder to kill.

The second part took us through the twenty years of relative peace after the war. Montival flourishes and they start to repopulate parts of California. Several of the first generation, the last that knew the world before the change, pass on. Sandra's death was very effective. Juniper left as she would have wished.

It is on a trip to Northern California with his daughter the Crown Princess that Rudi ends up dying in battle against corsairs. Some have complained he dies too easily. I think it was realistic and fully in keeping with where the story was going.

So this Change series installment is complete. Stirling certainly could start another Change series, these tales could go on indefinitely. I'm not about to try and guess what Stirling will do next. If this is the final installment of Change tales, I am fine with that and if it isn't that is fine too.

posted by RonaldTobin on October 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I've read the whole series. The first three several times. I f

I've read the whole series. The first three several times. I found this books rushed, choppy, and uninspired. Its clear Stirling was phoning in the last few of this series.

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    THE GIVEN SACRIFICE was certainly a fitting end to a fine series

    THE GIVEN SACRIFICE was certainly a fitting end to a fine series. The only part that was wholly predictable was that Rudi died in battle at the end. This was preordained, both by the title and by the fact that Rudi's father, Mike Havel, died in battle at the end of the first Change series.

    The first part was a very satisfying wrap up to the Prophet's War. Getting many units of the Boise army to defect to Montival in a believable fashion and taking the fortress city of Boise via subterfuge was elegantly done. The Morrowland Scouts were a very nice touch, a subplot that added to the tale of the ultimate fall of Corwin. Sethaz's death seemed a bit anticlimactic, I would have expected him to be harder to kill.

    The second part took us through the twenty years of relative peace after the war. Montival flourishes and they start to repopulate parts of California. Several of the first generation, the last that knew the world before the change, pass on. Sandra's death was very effective. Juniper left as she would have wished.

    It is on a trip to Northern California with his daughter the Crown Princess that Rudi ends up dying in battle against corsairs. Some have complained he dies too easily. I think it was realistic and fully in keeping with where the story was going.

    So this Change series installment is complete. Stirling certainly could start another Change series, these tales could go on indefinitely. I'm not about to try and guess what Stirling will do next. If this is the final installment of Change tales, I am fine with that and if it isn't that is fine too.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    Warning - SPOILER ALERT!! If you are invested in the Change seri

    Warning - SPOILER ALERT!! If you are invested in the Change series as I was, do NOT read downwards in this review section to Mr. Tobin's review! How inconsiderate is he? I would have liked to discover myself without him spoiling the end for me.
    Thanks a lot Mr. Tobin!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    Great story as usual.   I am happy with the ending and look forw

    Great story as usual.   I am happy with the ending and look forward to a new chapter in the change universe.   This book focused on the conlusion of the war of the Prophet and was satisfying in that regard.  I won't spoil  the story by talking about the ending, but if you enjoyed the other change books you will enjoy this one as well.  

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    I've read the whole series. The first three several times. I f

    I've read the whole series. The first three several times. I found this books rushed, choppy, and uninspired. Its clear Stirling was phoning in the last few of this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    For those of us who have been with this long saga for so many vo

    For those of us who have been with this long saga for so many volumes, this novel is an entertaining (if slow) continuation of a favorite series. Some important action takes place in this book, but much of the tale focuses on lesser characters, battles, and trivial details. Popular main characters come into play more in the last pages. Although I will miss this series when it is over, I have to guess that there will be only one or two more volumes. It already feels like the author is stretching the story a bit. However, I still love this series and will always take pleasure from any addition to it.
    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel “To Be Chosen”


    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    Good start

    This is a short story which was very disappointing. I was just getting into the story when it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Finishes the hexology or the six-and-a-half-ology and starts a new one

    A little different by its nature. The first half is a long denoument to the Rudi MacKenzie storyline. The second half is the story of the next generation- his suddenly teenage child and heir Orlaith who takes over as the new star, much as Rudi took over from Juniper Mike and the Larssons in Sunrise Lands. But this happens mid novel. It makes this novel kind of light weight, but you have to read it if you've read the last six or want to continue in the Changed world. Not disappointing just not as impressive. It is like an extended epilogue followed by a long prologue rolled into one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Absolutely a must read

    It's SM Stirling for crying out loud. Must read, awesome writing, incredible plots, dialogues, and action. He's got it figured out. Read them all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    recommended

    I find that mr Stirling is slowing down the events to keep one major event per book in the series.Still a most enjoyable read.
    My version of the book did not remember the page and I had to keep going to the library section instead of the home page on my nook.
    Dean koontz odd series works fine, so must have been to do with either the load or book!
    I am looking forward to the next instalment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1