Customer Reviews for

The Giving Tree 40th Anniversary Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This is a wonderful book for any age. It was drawn to my attention by a fourth grader who asked me if I have read this book yet. I hadn't do I purchased it. I am very happy that I had. Great, Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Love this book

    Have always loved this book. Great value with lots to consider!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    This book was a favorite when I was a kid, and to my children.

    This book was a favorite when I was a kid, and to my children. It reminds me of my grandma, who selflessly gives anything that is needed or wanted and asks for nothing in return. She also gave this special 40th anniversary edition to our family. I have read it so many times, and hope to read it many many more.

    While my grandma is my Giving Tree, I have made sure that we do not wait until the end so show her the appreciation she deserves. If more people read and understood this book...well there would be many stumps out there that are still good for something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    I was prepared to like this book, as many do. I hate it. It star

    I was prepared to like this book, as many do. I hate it. It starts out seeming fine, with the little boy asking the tree for apples. By the end the relationship between the boy now a grown man has become really sick, destructive, and selfishly one sided as the man continues to come back demanding more and more until he has killed the tree, leaving only a stump he sits on. This perpetually immature boy-man shows no empathy, and while he is not happy at the end he never shows any character but selfish taker. Yuck. I realize that I am in the minority for rating it poor but my career working with special need or troubled children and their families may make me more alert to healthy and unhealthy relationship dynamics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    LOVE THIS BOOK. I LOVE HOW IT TEACHES CHILDREN THAT NO MATTER HOW GIVING SOMEONE IS, WE SHOULD NEVER TAKE THEM FOR GRANTED!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    The "Giving Tree" I began reading it to my children a

    The "Giving Tree" I began reading it to my children at the age of 1 and 3 .
    this began their love for books and most mostly shel silverstein .... And now they are 28,& 26
    And the SAME BEAUTIFUL BOOK is now read daily to my 3 beautiful grandchildren !!!!
    (what a great way to learn unconditional love )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    Great Book, wish it was available on the nook. ( but its not!)

    HarperCollins Publishers, limited books on nook, kids love the book ! wish it was available on the nook, but its not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    Very sad.

    This book is so sad, I don't think I'll use it as a read-aloud in my class. I know it's considered a classic and the message is great -- but it is really a very sad ending and I had a hard time shaking it off.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    One of The Best Shel Slverstein Books

    I was introduced to Shel Silverstein's work while a senior in High School.He was one of the authors I chose to write my term paper on.From then on,I became a fan."The Giving Tree" to me shows unconditional love,you don't find that kind of love and friendship every day.The relationship between the Tree and the boy is believable and real.This is a book I give as a Baby shower Gift or as a Graduation gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    THE GIVING TREE

    THIS BOOK HAS BEEN IN MY FAMILY FOR 38 YEARS. I BOUGHT THIS BOOK FOR MY 38 YEAR OLD BOY WHEN HE WAS BORN, MY 23 YEAR OLD BOY WHEN HE WAS BORN AND NOW MY GRANDDAUGHTER 4 MONTHS..I HAVE HAD ALOT OF JOY READING TO THEM ALL,GREATEST BOOK IN THE WORLD..LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THE TRUE MEANING..
    THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH MR.SILVERSTEIN..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    LOVE THIS BOOK!

    I bought this for my great-nephew's graduation from pre-school. It's one of his favorite books - he would check it out at the library, and cry when he had to return it. Love that it has a CD so that he can listen to it in the car. Would recommend for any age child (or adult). Wonderful story, wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    YOU MUST HAVE THIS ONE REGARDLESS OF AGE!!!!

    This book is now 35 years old and still timely!
    This book came in front of me TWICE within 30 days from DIFFERENT courses. I first became aware of THE GIVING TREE in a Methodist Lay Speaking course and it hit home! Then the next month it was part of my Walk To Emmaus and several of us just.... cried about it's message.
    I have been taught that TRUE LEADERS GIVE OF THEMSEVES BEFORE THINKING OF THEMSELVES and this book drives it home.
    I did get the copy that has the CD with it and glad I did :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Wonderful Children's Book

    This is a book that every child in our family has had read to them, then read themselves as they got older, ever since we first discovered it. We have all loved it, frequently cried over it, and passed it on to friends and family in an ever-widening circle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2007

    A Book That Gives and Gives

    When my son was young, I must have read this book to him a hundred times. In the hustle and bustle of bringing up the kids, I hardly noticed its gentle message. But he did. He is a grown man now and as soon as my first grandchild arrives, this book will be one of my first gifts!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    One of the best books written for all ages.

    A friend of mine in high school handed me this book, as she grabbed every book written by this author. Immediately I fell in love with it. As it brought tears to my eyes, the book also brought on a new era of growth for me. Thirteen years later, I still continue to reread this book and still give this item to family and friends for special occasion gifts. This book will be enjoyed by children, teens and adults alike. My highest recommendation is given for this item.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    A wonderful story for yesterday today and always

    I remember sitting on my sisters best friends lap as she introduced me to this book. I have always remembered its message. Now I can begin reading it to my little girl in hopes that she enjoys it just as much as I still do. This is a great book for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    Such a wonderful book -

    Such a wonderful book to pass on from generation to generation. My mom gave me 'The Giving Tree' when I was a little girl, we are on our third generation now enjoying this classic. I am purchasing another copy as a gift for my daughters 2nd grade class to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2