Customer Reviews for

The Glades

Average Rating 3
( 2994 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(668)

4 Star

(546)

3 Star

(716)

2 Star

(454)

1 Star

(610)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Good, quick read

This book is written in script form, adapted from an episode of an upcoming TV series. It's a really great, fun read - nice plot twists. I enjoyed seeing the production stills from the set. I recommend this one for anyone who likes mystery reads or crime TV shows.

posted by 3784384 on June 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Un-happy with The Glade

Not happy with this one. I felt like I was reading more of a screen play instead of a book. Really glad I did not have to pay for this one. I wanted to ready the story before it came on TV so I knew what was going to happen. Guess if I want to know have the wytch the sh...
Not happy with this one. I felt like I was reading more of a screen play instead of a book. Really glad I did not have to pay for this one. I wanted to ready the story before it came on TV so I knew what was going to happen. Guess if I want to know have the wytch the show now

posted by Kemerley621 on June 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 454 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    It was interesting to read a screenplay...

    ...but it looks like this show is going to be very similar to CSI: Miami. I'm fortunate not to have cable, so there is a very low risk of me having to see this on TV. These characters are tired, but I did like the twist at the end. I'd love to find more books, shows, and movies in which the reader/viewer gets to assemble clues to identify the culprit. It seems like we either know whodunit all along, or the question is answered at the end with little explanation. I prefer to be more of an active participant (as active as I can be while lounging on my couch!), but that didn't happen in this story.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Maybe the actual show was better

    No problem with it being a TV script. But, is was not all that engaging. There seemed to less to this script than there is to your average 10 page short story.

    There is also a totally gratiuitous scene where the detective questions a teenage girl. There are a bunch of outstanding free short stories on BN's nook page. This isn't one of them.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    No wonder this was free

    I hear that Burger King is hiring. Check it out Cliff. This was one of the most dissapointing books since Going rouge. " no wonder this was free"

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Power - prolog chases point of view

    Five years ago) i sat there looing at the clock, i had fifteen minutes till school let out fifteen minutes to live. Why do i have to be so smart i thought to my self if i was not as smart then i would not be in the mess. When the bell rang i wanted to melt on the floor right then and there but of course i did not. Chase is some thing bothering you my teacher asked. No i said i hot up and left the class room. And who was waiting out side justin and his gang. What do we have here said justin in a mocking tone. A little tiny wimp answed one of his gang members. And what do we do with em said justin. Beat them up answerd the same guy. I saw justin rearback his first and he punched me in the mouth i felt blood pouring down my chin. He puched my gut and i fell to the floor then two of justins gang held me down as he kept punching me soon the pain numed i could not feal any thing. I was tierd of getting beat up i managed to free my arm and a punched justin i the face i was closing my eyes when i did it but when i opened them i saw justin lieing on the floor like he had been electricuted the rest of his gang ran and i stood there looking at my self in horrer and amazment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    OK read

    This book was TV story script it was a good story but the script format was a distraction

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    OK!!

    The show is way bttr then
    the book well I ment play. I thought it would be as good as the show. I was wrong. I hope they bring the show bac I loved watchin it. Hav all the seasons on dvd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Not recommended

    I didn't like the format this was written in (like a script) [as opposed to a short mystery]. If you are bored and have some time to kill, have at it! Otherwise, look for another free book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    would have been alot better in standard format instead of as a s

    would have been alot better in standard format instead of as a screenplay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    OK

    An ok short story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I would have liked it better had the 'Overview' stated it was wr

    I would have liked it better had the 'Overview' stated it was written as a script instead of assuming it was a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Distracting descriptions

    I like this show, and i find the storyline fascinating. I enjoy jim's personality and the interaction between him and other characters. However, all of the descriptions of the scenes and especially of the characters thoughts and feelings are very distracting. I realize that it is necessary to describe the scene at the beginning of each one, but if the script is written well enough descriptions of most thoughts and feelings are superfluous.

    I recommend watching this show rather than reading it in this form.





    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    it's the script, not a novel...

    If you're looking for a novel, this isn't the way to go. This nook book is the script of the show, and for me personally, i had trouble with reading it. If you can deal with reading scripts, this is for you. If not, i wouldn't bother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Not what I was expecting

    I was expecting a book based on the TV show, not a script of the actual show.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Aaaaawwwwww mmmmaaaaannnnnn.........

    I cant believe i bought this!i didnt know it waz a script .........

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    This is the screen play.

    Thought I was getting the book, turned out to be a screen play for the show. I think the description could have been better on the website. Did not read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    written as a play...

    Not bad, but hard to wade through all the prompts and such.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Blah

    Good thing this was free. It would have been nice if it would have been mentioned in the overview that this was a tv script. For a quick 42 page read to pass the time, it was okay. Might make a better tv show but doutful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Soso

    Ok glad it was free

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cute Script!

    This would need to be rewritten and enlarged upon the characters' development and overall just amped up to be a book! It was a great launch episode for TV, but just needs more to be a book. The 'Dexter' series books are great and as an example, they gave lots more in them, and do not match tge TV word for word or even scene by scene, naking them way more readable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    OK for a quick read

    This is the script for a TV episode. The format is easy to read and follow, the story is fast paced. A decent read if you just need something quick and mindless to occupy yourself for a little while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 454 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23