Customer Reviews for

The Glades

Average Rating 3
( 2994 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(668)

4 Star

(546)

3 Star

(716)

2 Star

(454)

1 Star

(610)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

57 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

Good, quick read

This book is written in script form, adapted from an episode of an upcoming TV series. It's a really great, fun read - nice plot twists. I enjoyed seeing the production stills from the set. I recommend this one for anyone who likes mystery reads or crime TV shows.

posted by 3784384 on June 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Un-happy with The Glade

Not happy with this one. I felt like I was reading more of a screen play instead of a book. Really glad I did not have to pay for this one. I wanted to ready the story before it came on TV so I knew what was going to happen. Guess if I want to know have the wytch the sh...
Not happy with this one. I felt like I was reading more of a screen play instead of a book. Really glad I did not have to pay for this one. I wanted to ready the story before it came on TV so I knew what was going to happen. Guess if I want to know have the wytch the show now

posted by Kemerley621 on June 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 716 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 36
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    My reveiw

    I am very bad at reading skripts...

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    Better than watching TV

    Loved the TV-script format - much more than I thought I would, rather a lot more than I enjoy watching television. (This went faster, fit into my daily routines better, didn't annoy me with commercial breaks, and allowed me to enjoy the show without having to deal with my dislike for Matt Passmore.)

    As for the script itself - a nicely done clone of a hard-used premise. Talented professional with a bad attitude fights crime, hilarity ensues. It could work. I was entertained.

    Interesting-but-potentially-disastrous subplot: the romantic interest's marital status. Currently married, spouse in jail, says she's not willing to give up on him, ...but then is willing to date the lead character almost immediately? I'm curious about the logic here. Will this be a sensitive and thought-provoking view of troubled relationships in difficult situations? Or does this show regard committment as "being true to each other... as long as two people are, like, in the same room or something"? This story element could work. But if I was the husband sitting in jail, I'd hope to see a lot more emotional mileage happen before the mother of my child just went out with someone else. I'll try to keep an open mind, but so far this subplot leaves me less-than-impressed with the main character and the romantic lead. (And the writers.)

    Overall rating: "So far so good, if you're in the mood for this sort of thing" and "Moar TV Scripts for the Nook, plz!"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    Pilot for TV series

    Interesting pilot to A&E series. Since we spend time in the "Glades" area, reading the pilot prompted us to watch the show.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Script!

    If you like reading a play you will enjoy this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    Would read another episode

    It wasn't bad for the first episode. I would read another one. I'm interested in seeing the relationship between the cop and the nurse bloom. I liked the plot. The lead character is entertaining. I haven't watched the actual show. I don't have cable, so I don't know when I will get around to it unless its available online for viewing. Worth checking out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Follows the Plot

    This script follows the plot of the first episode of The Glades, so if you missed it, just read this and you will know exactly what happened!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2010

    Cute Story

    I liked the story as it did keep my attention, only like others I did not prefer the way it was written. Though ahead of time, I was aware that it was a script and was written as so. It was great reading the book and now enjoying the comical and surprising Cable Series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    An interesting twist to reading....

    Not something I would usually recommend for a really avid reader, but is good if you like movie scripts and drama. I would give this book an acceptable 3 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Script format

    Written like a script, with stage directions. Easy to envision as a rather ordinary tv crime show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    The Glade

    I was suprised because I did not know it was a play, I liked it all the same, after I figure out what I was reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    recommend

    interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    recommend

    funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    For light reading

    I knew there was a new TV Series called the Glades but missed the first season. I saw the book under the free nook book selection and was able to catch up and decided to watch the show. I found the show was exactly like the series and now I have a new show to watch!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Play

    I didnt understand why it was written like a play. I wish it could have just been a story. Still it was pretty good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Not bad

    I really want to check out the show now. How is a screenplay difficult to read?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    a fun read

    Very entertaining, especially if you've watched the series, but even if you haven't its worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    The Glades

    It was okay. But it was like reading a movie script.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    recommend if you like reading scripts

    The story line in enjoyable and it is a pleasant read. One should not be put off by the "script" format. I would certainly download another episode.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Did Not Care For The Format

    I enjoy reading stories written in regular novel format, and I also enjoy reading stories written in regular playbook format. This was the first time, however, that I ever read a story in this, unknown to me, format, and it was distracting trying to figure out some of the apparent direction lines. In any case, I have been watching this TV show during the first season, and I am familiar with the characters. In spite of the format in which it was written, I did enjoy the story, and while I did see the TV pilot show, I had mostly forgotten the story. Reading this was a nice return to the "Glades" story line. Best wishes, Dave Wile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 716 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 36