Customer Reviews for

The Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook: Breakfasts, Entrees, and More

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Simple, Easy & Yummy Recipes

This is a very practical cookbook. The author uses many of the same ingredients throughout. This is great because once you stock your pantry with almond flour, celtic sea salt, baking soda, & agave nectar you are ready to go. If you have ever been discouraged with co...
This is a very practical cookbook. The author uses many of the same ingredients throughout. This is great because once you stock your pantry with almond flour, celtic sea salt, baking soda, & agave nectar you are ready to go. If you have ever been discouraged with cookbooks with too many hard to find ingredients, then this is the cookbook for you. This author considers the nutritional value of all of her ingredients and recipes. We especially enjoy the chocolate chip cookies & cupcakes. They are loaded with lots of fiber & protein. Since my girls have been diagnosed with gluten sensitivity this cookbook has been an excellent source for yummy food & baked goods. Order this book. You will be delighted!

posted by 915460 on September 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Good Info and some good products

It's a good book overall. Some of the items are a bit pricy. You don't get a crispy crunchy texture like you would with regular flour, but almond flour does have a lot of nutritional value, low carbs and low on the glycemic index (GI for diabetics). I had to adjust m...
It's a good book overall. Some of the items are a bit pricy. You don't get a crispy crunchy texture like you would with regular flour, but almond flour does have a lot of nutritional value, low carbs and low on the glycemic index (GI for diabetics). I had to adjust my oven temperature below the recommended setting. I usually set my oven to 300 and adjusted the cooking time to avoid burning. The almond flour tends to cook quickly and therefore could result in burning or deep browning. I also found that I adjusted the measurements (lowering them). Some things resulted too sweet or too oily. The pastry cream was a nice new twist. I was actually pleasantly surprised. My personal favorite items that I've always used are grapeseed oil and agave nectar. Not terribly expensive and both offer great nutritional value.

posted by Cook2 on November 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    Simple, Easy & Yummy Recipes

    This is a very practical cookbook. The author uses many of the same ingredients throughout. This is great because once you stock your pantry with almond flour, celtic sea salt, baking soda, & agave nectar you are ready to go. If you have ever been discouraged with cookbooks with too many hard to find ingredients, then this is the cookbook for you. This author considers the nutritional value of all of her ingredients and recipes. We especially enjoy the chocolate chip cookies & cupcakes. They are loaded with lots of fiber & protein. Since my girls have been diagnosed with gluten sensitivity this cookbook has been an excellent source for yummy food & baked goods. Order this book. You will be delighted!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    Good Info and some good products

    It's a good book overall. Some of the items are a bit pricy. You don't get a crispy crunchy texture like you would with regular flour, but almond flour does have a lot of nutritional value, low carbs and low on the glycemic index (GI for diabetics). I had to adjust my oven temperature below the recommended setting. I usually set my oven to 300 and adjusted the cooking time to avoid burning. The almond flour tends to cook quickly and therefore could result in burning or deep browning. I also found that I adjusted the measurements (lowering them). Some things resulted too sweet or too oily. The pastry cream was a nice new twist. I was actually pleasantly surprised. My personal favorite items that I've always used are grapeseed oil and agave nectar. Not terribly expensive and both offer great nutritional value.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Elana got this right!

    I have tried many Gluten Free recipes. Hands down this is the best book I have found. I have tried Elana's simple bread, Cinnamon raison bread, Pecan Sandies, Double Chocolate Chip cookie, and amazing crackers-every one of these recipes were fool proof and delicious.

    I especially appreciate her choice of low glycemic index ingredients. These recipes are surprisingly filling without the sugar buzz. Elana gives sources for the ingredients needed. I followed her recommendations with success...and also had success making her crackers using walnut flour instead of almond flour.So the recipes serve as a good springboard for your own creativity.

    This book has changed how we eat at our house. I can now greet my boys with delicious warm cookies as they come home from school! Bravo Elana!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    Wonderful!

    Every recipe I have tried so far has been absolutely delicious. My picky little eaters and even pickier husband have enthusiastically devoured the results every time. This is the best gluten free cookbook I have found so far.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    Amazing and delicious food (which just happens to be extremely good for you)

    Elana Amsterdam's cookbook is fantastic! Once you stock your pantry with her basic ingredients -- she has an excellent section up front where she lists them as well as a Resources section for getting them -- you are set to make almost every one of her recipes. The recipe for the Savory Crust, used for both her Chicken Pot Pie and the Vegetable Quiche recipes, is by itself worth the price of admission. It is the best quiche I have ever had, gluten or not. She gave me back bread; super easy and oh so tasty! No mixing of tons of different flours, no waiting for dough to rise; no bread machine needed. For more information and feedback on her recipes, go to her blog: www.elanaspantry.com. She has new recipes all the time, as well as forums where people go and discuss her recipes, with coking and substitution tips. If you get only one gluten-free book, get this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Highly recommend for anyone who wants or needs to avoid grains but loves to bake!

    I have made several of the recipes so far, and every one turns out wonderful. I use the Honeyville blanched almond flour. It is great to be able to make everything from main dishes to desserts and feel good about eating and serving them! My thanks to the author for creating these wonderful recipes!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    you won't be dissapointed

    I don't have a gluten allergy. My interest in this book was to find good recipies that were low in sugar and did not use flour. Everything I've made has turned out awesome- even my husband and 3 small children have gobbled up everything I've made from this book. You can also sign up to the author's blog to get more recipies.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    I bought the book several months ago. I made several breads, the

    I bought the book several months ago. I made several breads, the carrot cake with coconut icing and the berry crisp. I substituted raw honey or sucanat for the agave nectar. I've also tried several of Elana's recipes on the website, including several chicken dishes. Looking forward to her new Paleo cookbook this summer. Thanks, Elana, for my incentive to start cooking these great tasting dishes, and for the info you provided about the best products!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Problem

    The chocolate cake (on the cover) overflowed my 9-inch pan and messed up the oven.
    Agave nectar, this book's choice sweetener, is subject to safety debate.

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Good Gluten Free Cookbook

    Love it so far.
    With the exception of the pecan pie recipe. I messed it up big time the night before Easter.
    So I may not try this one again.
    Waste of time and money, since it flopped.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Delicious!

    Delicious recipes and a great source for gluten free dishes. Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2011

    Love this book!

    I have several food allergies and have loved the simple ingredients and flavors of this book. I have loved all the recipes that I have tried with the Tropical Chocolate Chip Cookies being a family favorite. It is so wonderful have food that the whole family enjoys and to only have to cook one meal. Thank you Elana!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2010

    inspiring

    The author explains clearly, why she recommends the specific recipes and products.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Simply The Best Gluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook

    This cookbook scores a home run for easy gluten-free breakfast, lunch and dinner ideas. The author has created one of the friendliest cookbooks for folks with celiac disease. This wonderful introduction of almond flour has completely satisfied my craving for the things not included in my wheat and gluten-free lifestyle. Even though some of the recipes in this cookbook do not have a photo, the very familiar ingredients give a clear mental picture of what the appealing end products will look like. I am very impressed with how wonderfully tasty these simple recipes are. A real handy size, this book travels with me on many food shopping trips. Kudos Elana!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2