Customer Reviews for

The Glycemic Index Diet and Cookbook: Recipes to Chart Glycemic Load and Lose Weight

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    The Glycemic Index Diet and Cookbook is an interesting look into

    The Glycemic Index Diet and Cookbook is an interesting look into how your diet can have long term effects on your health. It will help you understand the GI (Glycemic Index) of food and how to make alternative choices when dining out or cooking at home. It’s a good read for anyone that is trying to maintain or lose weight, without radically altering their current lifestyle. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    I really enjoyed this cookbook!  The recipes are yummy and easy

    I really enjoyed this cookbook!  The recipes are yummy and easy to follow.  The meal plan and shopping tips make it easy to follow the diet.  The book is filled with information on blood glucose  and how your blood sugar affects your health.  This cookbook is an awesome resource!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    The Glycemic Index Diet Cookbook is a good introduction to this

    The Glycemic Index Diet Cookbook is a good introduction to this style of eating. There is a plethora of information about what consists of a high or low glycemic index score including a sample 14 day meal plan. Although the meals on the sample seem fairly light, hopefully they are more filling than they appear. The recipes in the main part of the book were fantastic and offered great diversity of choice. I particularly liked the Thai basil-mint chicken in lettuce leaves! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    The Glycemic Index Diet Cookbook was great because it not only g

    The Glycemic Index Diet Cookbook was great because it not only gave some great, creative recipes, but also informed me of what the glycemic index actually is and how to eat by it. I love cookbooks with an insightful introduction, and this cookbook gave me just that. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    I enjoyed reading this book because it was informative and easy

    I enjoyed reading this book because it was informative and easy to read. I'm often turned off by the "language and science" behind dieting because its hard to understand. But this book provided lists, charts and recipes that we will actually use in our home. I'm looking to make my family healthier and I'm glad I found this book! The 2 week meal plan makes shopping easier for sure. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    My grandmother has diabetes and seeing how she has to eat ev





    My grandmother has diabetes and seeing how she has to eat every so often is not an image I want to have for myself in the future.  The Glycemic Index Diet and Cookbook is a great informational handbook to help me along my path to avoiding the risk that I might have.  But it's not all gloom doom! This book, and the many recipes, had me smiling and getting excited for all the wonderful things I could cook! I love love love cooking, and so food is a part of my life.  This book is an increbily helpful guide that I will surely keep handy and recommend. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    For anyone who is pre diabetic, has high blood-sugar or has a pr

    For anyone who is pre diabetic, has high blood-sugar or has a pre-disposition towards developing cancer, this book is a good choice. It makes managing your glycemic levels feel doable and not complicated. I appreciate the charts, meal plan and recipes. They are all straight forward. In the case of the recipes, you don't have to be a gourmet cook to achieve them, but they are tasty. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    Are you looking for ways to maintain your weight, sugar or both?

    Are you looking for ways to maintain your weight, sugar or both? If so, The Glycemic Index Diet and Cookbook shows you just that while still allowing you to satisfy your sweet tooth. Dished out in two parts, this guide gives tips for reducing blood glucose levels and also a glycemic load table that shows you how quickly different food breaks down into sugar in the bloodstream (part 1.) Preparation comes into place in part two, which offers an array of possibilities to choose from, including smoothies, sandwiches and even tacos. In case you want something sweet, the dessert section will put a plug on those cravings. Arming yourself with this book puts you one step closer to a healthy heart, mind and body!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    I'm pre-diabetic and Diabetes runs in my family; plus I love cha

    I'm pre-diabetic and Diabetes runs in my family; plus I love charts. So the chapter on Glycemic Load Tables was the main thing that attracted me to get this book. The other information in Part One about blood glucose was pretty informative as well. It's a good little reference guide and the recipes aren't too shabby either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    With a full list of foods that are good as well as bad, the outs

    With a full list of foods that are good as well as bad, the outside resources the book gives on top of all the great information inside it, it is hard to see where this wouldn't be a book that you would want to read to help get yourself healthy and stay that way, as well as share with everyone around you.
    Brittany C.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Books about diets are boring and hard to follow, but the book &q

    Books about diets are boring and hard to follow, but the book "The Glycemic Index Diet and Cookbook" isn't one of them.
    It's very informative.
     In the first part, the book covers the basic information about Glycemic Index and it has a comprehensive outline of health benefits of low sugar diet and a 14 day meal planning. In the second part, it has delicious recipes for breakfast, snacks, lunch and desserts that make dieting effortless.
    The book is excellent for anyone who needs to follow a low sugar diet, without sacrificing the taste.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    ¿The Glycemic Index: Diet and Cookbook¿ is a great place to star

    “The Glycemic Index: Diet and Cookbook” is a great place to start if you are looking to find out how your daily intake of food affects both your body and overall health. After reading this book I was educated on what the glycemic index actually is and how its use is necessary to monitor one’s health. The book even offers a great cookbook and tells you what to best pair you food with and why. Excellent insight for the not-so enthusiastic dieter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    anyone with diabetes should use this as a bible, but for everyon

    anyone with diabetes should use this as a bible, but for everyone else this is also a really informative and insightful read.  The first half of the book is dedicated to explaining what glycemic index is and why we should strive to stick to a low GI diet.   Besides high GI diets being associated with increase risk of obesity, high GI diets also can increase chances of cancer, heart disease, dementia, and diabetes.  yikes.  The book provides a list of many common foods and where they fall on the index.. which is a really wonderful reference at or before visiting the grocery store or planning a meal. 

    There is a 14 day easy to follow plan to kickstart a low GI diet then the second half of the book has dozens and dozens of delicious and easy recipes.  I personally was ecstatic to see a healthier banana nut bread and cookies made with almond flour and whole wheat flour.  Dinner dishes range from Cod with olives and tomato sauce to goat cheese and artichoke stuffed chicken breast.  There are plenty of breakfast options, soups, salads, side dishes and appetizers as well.

    Bravo on a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    If the term glycemic index scares you a little, don¿t worry, The

    If the term glycemic index scares you a little, don’t worry, The Glycemic Index Diet and Cookbook explains the simple science of blood sugar and its affect on our bodies.  Part one of the book talks about the amazing benefits of having a balanced low-sugar diet.  It teaches you what to eat and how much, and it even shows that the way you prepare food makes a big difference in how your body absorbs it.  In part two, the recipes go from breakfast, snacks, soups and salads, to side dishes, main courses, and delicious desserts.  It is a wonderful addition to any cookbook library! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    Diabetes is on the rise and many of us may be unaware.  This wel

    Diabetes is on the rise and many of us may be unaware.  This well-written edition provides plain talk about complex medical conditions that can lead to high blood sugar (glycemic index) which is the underlying cause of diabetes.  A diet that is high in carbohydrates can be re-designed using healthier foods and this book shows you how.  Very helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    When it comes to a healthy diet, understanding the importance of

    When it comes to a healthy diet, understanding the importance of the glycemic index is critical, and this book is a clear and thorough guide for anyone striving to take control of their health. Using scientific facts and real-life examples, this book provides a straightforward approach for effectively monitoring glycemic levels, offering meal plan recommendations and over 75 recipes to prove that healthy eating can be easy and delicious! Take the first step toward conscientious weight-management with this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    This informative cookbook explains clearly and simply why a diet

    This informative cookbook explains clearly and simply why a diet focused on maintaining your blood glucose levels is important, and provides tasty recipes to help you do that. Without too much focus on science - which can confuse the novice - and without using complicated directions – which will deter some people from trying them - you will enjoy learning a new way of eating. I learned much, and will definitely use this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    ¿The Glycemic Index Diet & Cookbook¿ is expertly written, wi

    “The Glycemic Index Diet & Cookbook” is expertly written, with loads of great information that is easily digestible for anyone. There are great dieting meal planning techniques, and the book even lists off common foods and their glycemic index. Each recipe not only sounds amazing, they taste great too! For all those out their wishing there was a great way to make your vegetable taste amazing, here you have it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    This book places an emphasis on healthy eating and glycemic load

    This book places an emphasis on healthy eating and glycemic load. It’s a thorough explanation of the glycemic index, what it is, how foods effect your body, and gives good supporting information about the diet. There are tips for shopping, eating out, recognizing that your blood-glucose is too high. A meal plan and tips guidelines for lowering blood-glucose levels are extremely beneficial. Great book for those fighting or avoiding diabetes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    The Glycemic Index diet helped me get out of the pre-diabetic ra

    The Glycemic Index diet helped me get out of the pre-diabetic range, took away my PCOS symptoms, and helped me to lose weight! All of that and I didn’t even have to go on medication to control my blood sugar. This book has a lot of great info on why this diet works, and who it will work for. The recipes are great and make the diet realistic for the average person. This book is definitely worth reading and adding to your cookbook collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2