BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Go-Girl Guide : Surviving Your 20s with Savvy, Soul, and Style

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2007

    This is by far the best book I've ever read

    This book has so much valuable information and it is also very entertaining to read. It's very well written and every young woman in her 20's should read this book, the sooner the better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    No 20 something female should be without this book

    I graduated from college thinking that all the hard work and many sleepless nights would pay off. Lo and behold I took a job that ended up not being what I wanted at all, and I still struggled with money and having the time to maintain relationships and stay in shape without losing my mind. I didn't know that anyone could articulate my thoughts as well as Julie does in this book. There are other people out there who feel stuck and disappointed and all around confused, and yet this is supposed to be ¿the time of our life'?! But this book gives hope with its advice from other twenty-something¿s. Life is an emotional roller coaster in this decade as we try to decide where we want to live, what will fulfill us career wise, and how we can decide if we're ready for marriage or ready to be single again! Not to mention the fact that we need to start saving for retirement, even though there is that credit card debt we still need to pay off! Thanks Julie for helping so many of us survive our twenties!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2004

    Thanks Julia!!

    I'll admit it. I had a post-college breakdown. I thought that I could handle moving away from friends and family, living with my boyfriend, and working at a crummy full-time job. Guess what? I was a basketcase! After reading the Go-Girl Guide I realized that I was not alone! This is a really hard time in one's life and the stories, advice, and tips in Julia's books were incredibly helpful, insightful, and funny. So, thanks Julia!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2004

    Outstanding

    One of the best books I ever read. I laughed, I cried, but most of all I let go of a lot of fears.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    20s Bible

    This book is great, especially if you're a female college student just getting ready to start your life, like I am. It tells you so much about what to expect from people, love, your body, and life. I would have been lost without it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2004

    An essential outlet to Twenty - Something frustration

    An insightful and refelctive book that addreses a time period in a young woman's life that has yet to be widely explored by the literary community. This book addresses every possible concern that plagues us during this confusing time. Among the MANY: beginning your career, finding love, managing friends/family relations, and becoming financially independent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2003

    GO BUY IT!!!

    This has gotta be one of the books that every 20-something out there needs to pick up if you haven't done so already. Every emotion we go through and what's to be expected in out decade of emotional rollercoasters are mentioned. It funny, sassy, and its real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2003

    Our 'Bible'

    My friends and I love this book so much, we've deemed it our 'bible'. Anytime we have a question about a 20-something life issue, we consult our bible. The writing style of the author is one you can really relate to. I've given this book to many of my friends as a gift and in turn they to their friends, and so on and so on! Definitely a must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2003

    One of the best I've read

    This was one of the best books I've ever read. As a senior in college I needed some advice about what to expect or even someone who has been through what I'm currently going through. Thank you for finally explaining what a 401K is and why I need one. I now give this to all my friends that are in their 20's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2002

    WOW!!

    Only the best non fiction book I have ever read. Julia writes to me like she is my big sister giving me advice through her experience, not some psycho self-help guru who read a lot of books and thinks she knows what she's talking about. And so far Julia has been so right on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2001

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

    I bought this book for myself, but I have started giving it as a gift to all of my friends who are graduating college. Has a lot of helpful first 'real job' tips. It's also great if you or someone you know will be moving to a new city--gives tips on meeting people, entertaining yourself, and dealing with loneliness. Very funny too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2001

    A Must Have for Every Female College Graduate (or soon to be!!!)

    This book was awesome!!! I laughed my way through it. I think it was a funny, down to earth way to put what to expect in your 20s. Hey, I've only just begun, but already I can so relate!!! Every girl in their 20s must read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2001

    MUST BUY for 20 year olds--especially out or almost out of college!!!

    This book was heaven sent. It made me realize that everyone feels the way I am feeling right now after having just graduated. There are also great job hunting and career tips. I bought it for my friend who is moving to Cali soon because I know this book will help her very much. It is a perfect gift for girls graduating college. They'll thank you for it. Now, if only the author would write a book for girls in their 30's before I turn 30 (she has 8 LONG years)...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2001

    Must have book for the 20something yr old girl

    Great book to own. Realistic advice for the 20 something yr old girl on love, family, friends and your career. Interesting to read but yet full of information and fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2001

    What a great ,realistic ,and down-to-earth guide book!

    If this book doesn't hit the nail square on the head I don't know what will. This book addressed so many of the questions and queries I had been pondering for oh so long - but didn't know where to go for answers!! This book has got all of the info you need to make a head-strong and successful debut in your roaring twenties!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2001

    Wow! Get your answers here!

    I realistic answer book about what to expect in career, life and love in your 20s. Sounds like it is coming from a friend who has been there... highly recommended!!! Everything I was wondering is covered in here, especially regarding career.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1