Customer Reviews for

The God Delusion

Average Rating 4.5
( 489 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(315)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

The New Atheists are opening the doors to freedom

The new atheists are doing something that many are not: saying the important things that need to be said without fear of who thinks ill of them at night. The God Delusion is a powerful testament to rationality, evolution, and secular ways of living that have not only de...
The new atheists are doing something that many are not: saying the important things that need to be said without fear of who thinks ill of them at night. The God Delusion is a powerful testament to rationality, evolution, and secular ways of living that have not only defined society, but define what reality should look like.

posted by Terrence on November 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

61 out of 179 people found this review helpful.

some good argument, and some bad attitude

I have to preface by saying that I am a Christian, and I do hope I am not discounted in my somewhat scathing review of this book due to an attributed bias. That being said, I found this book to be rather interesting at times in that it provoked me to think about what I...
I have to preface by saying that I am a Christian, and I do hope I am not discounted in my somewhat scathing review of this book due to an attributed bias. That being said, I found this book to be rather interesting at times in that it provoked me to think about what I believe in. The author is rather pointed and clear in what he intends to say and he has chosen lines of reasoning that are sensible from one point of view, see doctrine of double arguments. However, the author is also rude and sarcastic. His belittling of religion comes across not merely as the balanced conclusion of a competent thinker but rather as the angered lashing out of a decidely angry man. I can say that however convincing his arguments may be he has missed a significant part of human experience as evidenced through the insulting statements scattered throughout the book. I may be convinced by his argument at points but I don't think I would want to know a man of such an attitude. As such I can make a qualified recommendation of this book as somewhat intellectually stimulating but that is ultimately lost in the scattered spats of animosity most often found in biting sarcasm. For example, a reader could reference page 104 where the author parodies a theological argument in a gratuitous fashion. The sole purpose of the parody is insult. This is unfitting someone who pretends to be a mature adult and reveals the author as more of a child in his ways of expressing himself. I actually feel bad for the guy. His hatred is similar to the religious fanatics he denounces as fools. Two peas in a pod.

posted by Anonymous on February 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 491 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    some good argument, and some bad attitude

    I have to preface by saying that I am a Christian, and I do hope I am not discounted in my somewhat scathing review of this book due to an attributed bias. That being said, I found this book to be rather interesting at times in that it provoked me to think about what I believe in. The author is rather pointed and clear in what he intends to say and he has chosen lines of reasoning that are sensible from one point of view, see doctrine of double arguments. However, the author is also rude and sarcastic. His belittling of religion comes across not merely as the balanced conclusion of a competent thinker but rather as the angered lashing out of a decidely angry man. I can say that however convincing his arguments may be he has missed a significant part of human experience as evidenced through the insulting statements scattered throughout the book. I may be convinced by his argument at points but I don't think I would want to know a man of such an attitude. As such I can make a qualified recommendation of this book as somewhat intellectually stimulating but that is ultimately lost in the scattered spats of animosity most often found in biting sarcasm. For example, a reader could reference page 104 where the author parodies a theological argument in a gratuitous fashion. The sole purpose of the parody is insult. This is unfitting someone who pretends to be a mature adult and reveals the author as more of a child in his ways of expressing himself. I actually feel bad for the guy. His hatred is similar to the religious fanatics he denounces as fools. Two peas in a pod.

    61 out of 179 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The New Atheists are opening the doors to freedom

    The new atheists are doing something that many are not: saying the important things that need to be said without fear of who thinks ill of them at night. The God Delusion is a powerful testament to rationality, evolution, and secular ways of living that have not only defined society, but define what reality should look like.

    47 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    Richard has created a masterpiece, despite there being many books on the same subject published over the last few years (many of which are referenced) this is a truly original work. As always with Richard his arguments are set out without prejudice and with a great respect for those who in many cases he is criticizing. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in understanding the reality of religion which in this day and age cannot be ignored. Thank you Richard, may you continue to enlighten us for many years to come.

    37 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A groundbreaking book

    Professor Richard Dawkins will go down in history as the Charles Darwin of our day. His intellect on evolution and his numerous awards express how "on top of his game" he really is. The God Delusion perfectly illustrates his viewpoint to make the reader understand his perspectives concerning religion and needlessness of it. He breaks it down in simple terms and while there may be some "scholarly" language that might be hard for the average person to comprehend, he stays on track and delivers a thought-provoking insight into Atheism and the benefits for a lack of faith -- not only in an individual, but in society. Some may say that he came off "too harsh" regarding religion and its followers, but that is to be assumed that those accusations were inevitable. Richard Dawkins is a leader and this book proves it beyond just a theory.

    34 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    Especially great for the isolated atheist.

    Living in the Bible Belt is not easy in the least for the nonreligious person. Thankfully, there are people like Dawkins who come to bring a message of hope and reassurance to those who feel prejudiced and isolated by their close-minded fellow human beings. Just when the intoxication of religious inanity seems to be closing on your last sane breath, Dawkins reminds that you are not insane and that there is so much more to live for when unencumbered by religious nonsense.

    27 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dawkins is an a**, and I love him for it.

    I wish I could respond personally to some of these negative reviews because they break my heart. The God Delusion, more than anything else, has given me permission. Permission to question things. Permission to be responsible for my own actions. Permission to live and love freely without the guilt, and the pettyness, and the agenda that are organized religion. Dawkins often asks 'why be angry? why rock the boat?' I have watched lives destroyed, friendships and families crumbled, and just about every war started because of religion. Since accepting Atheism into my heart, I have never felt freer.

    23 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Nietzche was Right. Dawkins: Wrong

    You can guess by my headline that I am espousing an atheist, but also disagreeing with one. Nietzche was right, in a sense, that he popularized the idea that the 20th century would be the bloodiest of all time. And it was. You have the two World Wars, the Purges, et citera all in the name of men self-proclaimed as atheists. You have Hitler, Stalin, Mao and Tojo, all atheists. Dawkins argument in the God Delusion that Hitler was a Protestant is entirely farcical. He is noted for admiring Darwin's idea of the species of origins, Nietzche's bombastic attack on religion and Herbert Spencer's coined phrase 'survival-of-the-fittest'. In old war archives, you can see Hitler's gestapo arresting Catholic priests and sending them to 'correctional' camps. Dawkin's blatant attempt to con Hitler as a Protestant Christian can be used against him. He claims he was a Christian himself, until he became an atheist, but does that mean his past connotes the necessity to say his polemic attack on religion is meaningless, since he was, at one time, a Christian. You can say Hitler was once a Christian, but you CANNOT say he was when he expressed his agenda in Mein Kumpf. Stalin undoubtedly was atheist. No question about that. He proclaimed Russia an Atheist State and libeled in religious institution. Does the Purges suggest the act of a religious demagogue? Absolutely not. He killed 35-40 million of his own people. That is 10x more flagrant than the Crusades and the Inquisition combined! And Dawkins proceeds to discredit religion as the most dangerous thing ever to be thought up. There is approximately 1-2% of self-proclaimed atheists in America. The remaining percentile believe in some form of religion. Imagine an America with 60% atheists. The vast majority, all as hostile to religion as Dawkins. The masses can be powerful, as Hitler suggested. That means the constitution can be changed and the minority can't do a thing about it. A cultural relativistic society is no longer institutionalized. Dawkins says anyone who believes in religion and not accept atheism are figuratively inferior, as construed in his book the Selfish Gene. So I have a selfish gene for believing in a God? I'm not like Dawkins. I am therefore inferior, since Dawkins presumes that atheism is the most logical idea of our time. Without a God, the authority of man can do horrible things, because we are stupid en masse, quoting from Hitler. Dawkins claims that the Founding Fathers of America did not build America on religion. I agree with him, but extrapolating that they were all atheists is highly insolent. No the Founding Fathers did not intend for America to be a Theocracy. In fact, the whole idea of a Free Nation was to escape from the Theocratic-Monarchistic country of England. But one thing cannot be denied, that the religious convictions of our Father's was evident. Religion, under the First Amendment, can be practiced freely. Dawkins obviously thinks that it shouldn't. And his rather humerous 'quoting' of Benjamin Franklin saying 'imagine a country without church bells' is absurb at the highest degree. Perhaps, Dawkins rummaging through British archives of the revolutionary war brought out British propaganda, libelous documents perceiving the Rebels as Godless rabble. Our Founding Fathers were religious men. Atheism didn't even come into full-existence until Darwin published the Origins of Species, a harbinger to a world without God but of science.Trust me folks... it is not religion that is the killer... but atheism. Dawkins needs to stop piling all religions [Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism, et citera] in one boiling pot. Throughout the Bible, Jesus advocates peace, love and mercy for all peoples. He does not espouse being strapped to bombs and being blown up among a group of innocuous people. When you attack religion, Dawkins, attack it in segments. Don't assume since some people, the vast majority, believe in a higher being that you can conjecture that they all

    21 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    poor read

    Richard Dawkins needs to figure out if he is a scientist or a philosopher. A theologian or a evolutionist. I am fairly certain he is educated in one field but acts like he is an expert in another. Where is this data for the absurdity of a god? Dawkins thinks it is in the actions of man which is the real absurdity. He desperately wants the idea of a creator abolished. One must wonder what his motive for this is when atheism is known to be the real downfall of man with the havoc it creates.

    20 out of 159 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Good, but...

    The good: 1. Mr. Dawkins describes evolution in an easy to understand way and debunks many myths and misconceptions about its nature. This book can be read purely as an introduction to evolutionary thinking and would still be worth the time. 2. Mr. Dawkins is absolutely hilarious. Worth the read for the sheer comedy. 3. This book challenges people of all religions to question their belief system instead of just accepting what they are told by authority. The Bad: 1. Mr. Dawkins is downright nasty in his use of adjectives. He calls religion a 'virus of the mind' and labels religious people as uneducated and unreasonable. If his goal is really to bring religious people, and not fence-sitters leaning toward atheism, over to atheism, he failed. You win more flies with honey. 2. Mr. Dawkins shows a slightly higher than Sunday school understanding of Christian theology, biblical interpretation, and biblical criticism, as well as a pretty week understanding of philosophy and political thinking (trying to say Hitler was probably a Christian is embarrassing for anyone who has read Machiavelli's The Prince). For someone who claims to be so intelligent and reasonable to make such glaringly erroneous statements and assumptions is disheartening. However, I would recommend the book. It is very interesting and thought- provoking, and it will keep you laughing as well.

    20 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Not what most people think.

    If anything, Dawkins is seeking to illustrate what many call "Talking snake theists." In the states we know of them as fundamentalist. Any reasoned person can accept what Dawkins puts forth. If your belief is stuck in the 12th century like so much of the world, read this book.

    What I liked most is his impeccably sourced arguments and illustrations against zealots. His promotion of religious education and study as important as it relates to literature, art, history.

    If you feel that Christians are marginalized, Islam is portrayed as violent in media, there is a war on Christmas, pick up the book, look in a mirror, and use the brain you either evolved to have or that your god gave you.

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Boring

    I kept waiting for the revalations that would forever change the way I think about God and creation. What I found was a long-winded diatribe against organized religion and anyone with faith in anything other than particle physics.

    Very disapointing!

    11 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Sickening

    Only an evil-spirited person could write such hatred about a God who he supposedly doesn't believe in. It's one thing to be against something, but to ridicule a belief with such vehemence as Dawkins has is insane. The Christians don't go around calling the evolutionists every name under the sun. Dawkins has no eloquence, morality, or good judgment in his being. His rudeness to the entire God-believing body is disgusting. I only pity those who are deluted in a way such as he is.

    11 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Yes.

    Just buy the damn book.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Awakening

    This book clearly demonstrates how we have all been duped. Dawkins is an exellent writer who engages the reader in clear and concise format. I was motivated to read more of his works.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Well Balanced and Superbly Reasoned

    Dawkins mastery of reason does not disappoint in this well thought out argument against religion. Judging by the 1-star reviews by people who obviously did not read the book and only care to undermine this achievement, Mr. Dawkins message is stirring up a great fear amongst those who are unable or unwilling to gather the intelectual fortitude to, at least, ask important questions about their 'faith'. I look forward to indulging in other of Dawkins' work.

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Atheism is not a religion

    Atheism is not a religion. It is the lack of one. An atheist does not believe in blind faith if a god or deity. They dont accept something with out proof and fact. That is not not faith therefore not a religion or belief system. But is a book review really the place for this anyway? It is for those who have read the book to say whether they like it or not and why, so that some one else can decide if they want to buy this book.

    This book is great whether atheist or deist it give you a lot to think about and makes many good points. I recomend it thoroughly.

    If you really feel like arguing find a forum and do it there.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    highly recommended

    I assume those who have written negative reviews did not read the book. I purchased this book AFTER shifting towards atheism. It was intelligent and thought-provoking. I plan to read more of Dawkin's books.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Must Read

    This is a must for any thinking mind.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    Answer me One Question

    Ok, I have a question. If you and all these other atheists don't think a God exists, then why are you all so obsessed with bashing him? Why would anyone waste time writing about nothing? Or, better yet, why do you hate something you claim does not exist? How can this be? Or maybe there is a more sinister side to your hatred of this 'non-existing' God... In the Gospels, I remember, the demons all had this uncontrollable obsession with Christ (who is God).

    6 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Unbelievable

    Negative reviews does not mean the reviewers did not read the book. I have not though, because I do not plan to waste my time reading such drivel. The reviews have told me enough.

    Being insulted and called names is childish and means that the author has to stoop to such levels to make his arguement believable. Dawkins has to use comic relief to make it a better read.

    The statement that religion is dangerous is generalizing, lumping all religions/groups together. Occults are dangerous not religions. I am a Christian. I am not brainwashed and my child is not abused. Tell me how not drinking, not using drugs, and going to church every week is dangerous. I am less dangerous than a lot of atheists!

    To the April 2008 reviewer, try reading a Bible. Maybe you'll catch it this time!

    5 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 491 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25