Customer Reviews for

The God Delusion

Average Rating 4.5
( 489 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(315)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

The New Atheists are opening the doors to freedom

The new atheists are doing something that many are not: saying the important things that need to be said without fear of who thinks ill of them at night. The God Delusion is a powerful testament to rationality, evolution, and secular ways of living that have not only de...
The new atheists are doing something that many are not: saying the important things that need to be said without fear of who thinks ill of them at night. The God Delusion is a powerful testament to rationality, evolution, and secular ways of living that have not only defined society, but define what reality should look like.

posted by Terrence on November 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

60 out of 176 people found this review helpful.

some good argument, and some bad attitude

I have to preface by saying that I am a Christian, and I do hope I am not discounted in my somewhat scathing review of this book due to an attributed bias. That being said, I found this book to be rather interesting at times in that it provoked me to think about what I...
I have to preface by saying that I am a Christian, and I do hope I am not discounted in my somewhat scathing review of this book due to an attributed bias. That being said, I found this book to be rather interesting at times in that it provoked me to think about what I believe in. The author is rather pointed and clear in what he intends to say and he has chosen lines of reasoning that are sensible from one point of view, see doctrine of double arguments. However, the author is also rude and sarcastic. His belittling of religion comes across not merely as the balanced conclusion of a competent thinker but rather as the angered lashing out of a decidely angry man. I can say that however convincing his arguments may be he has missed a significant part of human experience as evidenced through the insulting statements scattered throughout the book. I may be convinced by his argument at points but I don't think I would want to know a man of such an attitude. As such I can make a qualified recommendation of this book as somewhat intellectually stimulating but that is ultimately lost in the scattered spats of animosity most often found in biting sarcasm. For example, a reader could reference page 104 where the author parodies a theological argument in a gratuitous fashion. The sole purpose of the parody is insult. This is unfitting someone who pretends to be a mature adult and reveals the author as more of a child in his ways of expressing himself. I actually feel bad for the guy. His hatred is similar to the religious fanatics he denounces as fools. Two peas in a pod.

posted by Anonymous on February 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 491 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    Answer me One Question

    Ok, I have a question. If you and all these other atheists don't think a God exists, then why are you all so obsessed with bashing him? Why would anyone waste time writing about nothing? Or, better yet, why do you hate something you claim does not exist? How can this be? Or maybe there is a more sinister side to your hatred of this 'non-existing' God... In the Gospels, I remember, the demons all had this uncontrollable obsession with Christ (who is God).

    5 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's a New York Times Bestseller for a reason.

    Even if you don't agree with the conclusions drawn by the book (and you'd be hard pressed to legitimately come to different conclusions in the face of such well written arguments and evidence), this book is truly an enjoyable read. It's challenging, engaging, and informative. Despite characterizations of Richard Dawkins, he has a very pleasant voice in his writing style (and in general). Does he hold his ground? Of course. Is he critical of religion? You bet. But nowhere is he disrespectful toward anyone (unless you WANT to be offended, of course, but nowhere does he attempt to illicit such a response).

    Dawkins holds religion and religious behavior up to the same standards of scientific scrutiny as is applied to everything else in life (being especially critical when religion is given automatic deference simply because it's religion, such deference being entirely illogical). The book is very well researched and properly cited, so if anyone wishes to challenge his claims legitimately they are more than capable of doing so (and based on the books written in response to The God Delusion, such legitimate responses have yet to come about).

    Do you embrace reason and intellectualism over the love of ignorance and anti-intellectualism so prevalent in the U.S. today? Then this is the book for you. Are you open to proving yourself wrong on your conceits, prejudices, etc? Then this is the book for you. Are you dogmatically close minded (and, on top of it, confuse being skeptical (which is being properly open minded) with being close minded), and won't change any of your preconceived notions no matter what evidence you encounter? Then this isn't the book for you...and neither are any non-fiction books.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2009

    Delusion Devolves

    I was predisposed to like this book. I was searching for some concise arguments to bolster my own position of agnosticism. Unfortunately, Dawkins waters down his arguments, which are quite well researched, by making sniping attacks on political opponents and those with whom he disagrees. The end result is to leave a bad taste of partisan politics, rather than scholarly study. All it does is give ammunition to the other side because the science presented can be discounted as mere posturing due to the name calling. There is still a great deal of information contained in the book, but if you plan to use the arguments in your daily discussions I recommend you cite Dawkin's footnotes, rather than leave yourself open to being cast as simply a tool of the left.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The God Delusion Hewitt 1st

    The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins is a captivating book. Dawkins challenges religion by using science to show why an intelligent designer called God is fake. The book focuses on the three main religions: Christianity, Islam, Judaism. In the very beginning of the book, Dawkins says we are all atheist but some go one god farther. That statement really means a lot because people are just born into a religion and do not even give other religions a chance. Dawkins claims if one religion is right, the world would notice which one is because of the good fortune that would happen to the people who practice that religion. Dawkins says that religion is good in that it helps build strong morals, but at the same time he says if relgion is the only thing making you be a good person, then you need to make big changes in your life. Dawkins talks about the Egyptians who built massive pyramids for their gods, and that we now know their god is obviously not true. Dawkins also claims religion in school hinders learning in that, the Bible says the Earth is somewhere near six thousand years old. We know today that the world is four and a half billion years old. I enjoyed the book and I highly recommend it because it challenges your faith if you do believe in a god and helps you think more for yourself so you wont blame things on a god.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Arguments and Good Writing

    This book is great!

    Dawkins makes two arguments. First, that there is no scientific proof of the existence of god. Second, that religion is dangerous, because it can make people do horrible things.

    I really enjoyed reading it. Dawkins lays out his ideas in an organized manner and presents them clearly. Some people have said that he is shrill or mean, but I actually found the book funny and thought-provoking. Reading it is kind of like sitting in a classroom with a nice and funny professor explaining the topic.

    I recommend this book for anyone who wants to start reading about religion and/or atheism. It was the first book I read on the topic, and I was motivated to read more. Religion is an important topic whether you believe in god or not, because there are many people in the world who do believe and their actions affect everyone.

    Happy reading!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    I am 14 years old and very self-educated about topics such as re

    I am 14 years old and very self-educated about topics such as religion, and have found that I am an atheist. I was indoctrinated into the Christian religion but found myself doubting next to everything I heard. I found out about this book from a friend, and decided to give it a try. I had heard of Richard Dawkins before and seen quotes of his, but didn’t know he wrote books. When I found out about and began reading The God Delusion I was not disappointed, this book was amazing. It brought up many good points and arguments and definitely got me thinking about a lot of different things. I also learned a lot about religion and the history of different views from foreign countries. I enjoyed this book because it helped reinforce my atheistic views of religion but also strengthened my religious knowledge. I recommend this book for everybody, even if you don't agree with Dawkins' view on religious topics. This book will still help you understand the thought process of atheists and hopefully make you more accepting of them, but it is also thought-provoking and will educate about different religions and beliefs around the world.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    mamby pamby Christians and hate speech

    Hmmmm...we are fast approaching what has already been written...this author wants to rip God from the hearts of men. We've been clearly warned by Jesus himself. These people will be ripping us out of our homes and murdering us for our love of God. Remember to watch...it will be as in the days of Noah which we are facing now. The temple has been rebuilt...all is in place. The antichrist is rising and these fools are following what they dont understand. Stand firm..make sure your armor is on. They will take our lives but not our souls. Remember every knee shall bow and tongue confess ....we will be witness as they face God for their actions. There is still time to pray for these people so pray that their hard hearts will be opened to Christ. PRAY for these people....they scream like demons when they hear that but some will turn to the Lord. May GOD BLESS you all and give you the strength to stand firm in the face of what is coming.

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Whatever our faith or belief in something is, this book dispels

    Whatever our faith or belief in something is, this book dispels and strengthens the convictions we held before. It is a book meant for the open-minded who appreciate varying views of what man holds as the most mysterious of all things (God). The views of different peoples, cultures and religions should be taken into consideration in whatever judgements we make on this.This is so because I had this fascinating insight into this subject from a story with the title The Verdict of Hades. The God Delusion is a book to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Truth

    I am a Christian and I have not read this book. Having said that, I want to say for the record that I agree with whoever wrote the review entitled "Stop." You people who are writing the reviews about how God is real and this book is wrong need to remember something: You catch more flies with honey than vinegar. Why would atheists listen to you if you call them names, or act hateful. You're supposed to believe that they are made in God's image! Treat them with respect, and back up arguments with evidence and logic. Making a statement and expecting people to take your word for it is a logical fallacy called "Assumptive language." -The Homeschooler

    3 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    DO NOT READ THIS BOOK

    First off, this book actually makes you THINK about things. I greatly prefer people telling me what to believe rather than having to figure out what is correct for myself. It's funny that Dawkins is so sure that God doesn't exist. I didn't see one equation or experiment in that book that disproved the existence of God. Furthermore Dawkins suggests that evolution is what created all these species. Ummm, I don't know about you guys, but my grandma isn't a monkey. Also, if atheists no everything why are they so sad. So yeah, this book is dumb.

    3 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Why are religious people so pushy?

    No reviews under the bibles of atheists pushing anything on you. Why do you people push your views on everyone?

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Wooow

    Loving others. Helping the poor. Believing that there is some shred of hope left in this world. Those Christ followers must be miserable and insane to believe in things like that.

    3 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    An excellent explanation of the lack of evidence for the existence of God

    This book reviews and debunks the historical arguments for the existence of supernatural beings such as gods, an afterlife, heaven and hell, angels or a "soul". This is must reading for anyone who wishes to understand the nature of existence and the universe.

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Success

    Reading the negative reviews shows that this book is right on target. Bravo - great book. A must read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Stop

    I am rating this 5 because i wnt to counteract the hate tht is coming from peaceful christians

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Richard dawkins

    Wow really what do you think made everything then huh what

    2 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2008

    TRULY STUPENDOUS!!!!

    Thank god'purposly left in lowercase letters' for Richard Dawkins!!! This book has opened my eyes! It brought me to the Realization that religion is truly a joke. Also that it no longer of any relevence in our modern lives. One of my favorite points he made in the book is that the only evidence religion has towards its relevence, is the lack there of. I am proud to say that i am an Athiest because of this book! Thank you Richard Dawkins!!!

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Excellent Book and a Message to Everyone, Religious and Non-Religious Alike

    I had aquired a copy of Mr. Dawkins book a while back and just now started reading it. Needless to say, the book takes on a very interesting, and in many cases, touchy subject: whether or not a higher being exists. Mr. Dawkins made his stance very clear in that he, along with many others, do not believe in any kind of higher being, monotheistic or polytheistic alike.

    Religion has alwas been a touchy subject when it comes to questioning its very essence, and it doesn't surprise me that the "reviews" posted here are filled to the brim with very defensive and one-sided views on life, not to mention the amount of names being thrown around.

    I personally am Agnostic, I don't believe in a higher power, but I do not completely dismiss the fact that there is a chance that there could be a god or goddess or gods and goddesses.

    The thing that troubles me most though is how closed minded people can be when it comes to things like religion. Just reading all these comments reminds me very much of before African-Americans were given full rights as human beings, and to be quite candid, I think history is repeating itself, but instead of race, we're dealing with Religious Tolerance.

    We're fighting whole wars over religion. And the fact that this is even happening at all makes me extremely sad.

    I now accept people for who they are. I have Asperger's Syndrome, so I used to almost think of other people as machines, going about their buisiness. I learned through experience though, that I need to always tread lightly, because people are EXTREMELY emotional beings, we just don't always show it.

    I've learned that it's impossible to change some things about other people, but I hope that by reading this, you learned something about yourself, not only as a person, but as a member of a larger family. We're all human, we all should just be able to get along somehow, but for now, I guess we can't.

    Ryan, 16

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Disappointing and predictable

    I always ask atheists to describe the god they don't believe in. Inevitably i don't believe in that god either. It is easy to debunk right wing christianities. Dawkins does this well. But he gives only a passing reference to nameless liberal theologians. His book would be more credible if he engaged this century's liberal theologians such as Walter Brueggemann or Marcus Borg. By the way, Dawkins' final chapter was the most beautiful description of God that i have read from an atheist or scientist. The Rev. Dr. Cheryl Fleckenstein

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    No sir

    Give me one shread of evidence of evolution, please

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 491 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25