Customer Reviews for

The God Delusion

Average Rating 4.5
( 489 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(315)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 58 people found this review helpful.

The New Atheists are opening the doors to freedom

The new atheists are doing something that many are not: saying the important things that need to be said without fear of who thinks ill of them at night. The God Delusion is a powerful testament to rationality, evolution, and secular ways of living that have not only de...
The new atheists are doing something that many are not: saying the important things that need to be said without fear of who thinks ill of them at night. The God Delusion is a powerful testament to rationality, evolution, and secular ways of living that have not only defined society, but define what reality should look like.

posted by Terrence on November 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

60 out of 177 people found this review helpful.

some good argument, and some bad attitude

I have to preface by saying that I am a Christian, and I do hope I am not discounted in my somewhat scathing review of this book due to an attributed bias. That being said, I found this book to be rather interesting at times in that it provoked me to think about what I...
I have to preface by saying that I am a Christian, and I do hope I am not discounted in my somewhat scathing review of this book due to an attributed bias. That being said, I found this book to be rather interesting at times in that it provoked me to think about what I believe in. The author is rather pointed and clear in what he intends to say and he has chosen lines of reasoning that are sensible from one point of view, see doctrine of double arguments. However, the author is also rude and sarcastic. His belittling of religion comes across not merely as the balanced conclusion of a competent thinker but rather as the angered lashing out of a decidely angry man. I can say that however convincing his arguments may be he has missed a significant part of human experience as evidenced through the insulting statements scattered throughout the book. I may be convinced by his argument at points but I don't think I would want to know a man of such an attitude. As such I can make a qualified recommendation of this book as somewhat intellectually stimulating but that is ultimately lost in the scattered spats of animosity most often found in biting sarcasm. For example, a reader could reference page 104 where the author parodies a theological argument in a gratuitous fashion. The sole purpose of the parody is insult. This is unfitting someone who pretends to be a mature adult and reveals the author as more of a child in his ways of expressing himself. I actually feel bad for the guy. His hatred is similar to the religious fanatics he denounces as fools. Two peas in a pod.

posted by Anonymous on February 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Nietzche was Right. Dawkins: Wrong

    You can guess by my headline that I am espousing an atheist, but also disagreeing with one. Nietzche was right, in a sense, that he popularized the idea that the 20th century would be the bloodiest of all time. And it was. You have the two World Wars, the Purges, et citera all in the name of men self-proclaimed as atheists. You have Hitler, Stalin, Mao and Tojo, all atheists. Dawkins argument in the God Delusion that Hitler was a Protestant is entirely farcical. He is noted for admiring Darwin's idea of the species of origins, Nietzche's bombastic attack on religion and Herbert Spencer's coined phrase 'survival-of-the-fittest'. In old war archives, you can see Hitler's gestapo arresting Catholic priests and sending them to 'correctional' camps. Dawkin's blatant attempt to con Hitler as a Protestant Christian can be used against him. He claims he was a Christian himself, until he became an atheist, but does that mean his past connotes the necessity to say his polemic attack on religion is meaningless, since he was, at one time, a Christian. You can say Hitler was once a Christian, but you CANNOT say he was when he expressed his agenda in Mein Kumpf. Stalin undoubtedly was atheist. No question about that. He proclaimed Russia an Atheist State and libeled in religious institution. Does the Purges suggest the act of a religious demagogue? Absolutely not. He killed 35-40 million of his own people. That is 10x more flagrant than the Crusades and the Inquisition combined! And Dawkins proceeds to discredit religion as the most dangerous thing ever to be thought up. There is approximately 1-2% of self-proclaimed atheists in America. The remaining percentile believe in some form of religion. Imagine an America with 60% atheists. The vast majority, all as hostile to religion as Dawkins. The masses can be powerful, as Hitler suggested. That means the constitution can be changed and the minority can't do a thing about it. A cultural relativistic society is no longer institutionalized. Dawkins says anyone who believes in religion and not accept atheism are figuratively inferior, as construed in his book the Selfish Gene. So I have a selfish gene for believing in a God? I'm not like Dawkins. I am therefore inferior, since Dawkins presumes that atheism is the most logical idea of our time. Without a God, the authority of man can do horrible things, because we are stupid en masse, quoting from Hitler. Dawkins claims that the Founding Fathers of America did not build America on religion. I agree with him, but extrapolating that they were all atheists is highly insolent. No the Founding Fathers did not intend for America to be a Theocracy. In fact, the whole idea of a Free Nation was to escape from the Theocratic-Monarchistic country of England. But one thing cannot be denied, that the religious convictions of our Father's was evident. Religion, under the First Amendment, can be practiced freely. Dawkins obviously thinks that it shouldn't. And his rather humerous 'quoting' of Benjamin Franklin saying 'imagine a country without church bells' is absurb at the highest degree. Perhaps, Dawkins rummaging through British archives of the revolutionary war brought out British propaganda, libelous documents perceiving the Rebels as Godless rabble. Our Founding Fathers were religious men. Atheism didn't even come into full-existence until Darwin published the Origins of Species, a harbinger to a world without God but of science.Trust me folks... it is not religion that is the killer... but atheism. Dawkins needs to stop piling all religions [Christianity, Islam, Buddhism, Hinduism, et citera] in one boiling pot. Throughout the Bible, Jesus advocates peace, love and mercy for all peoples. He does not espouse being strapped to bombs and being blown up among a group of innocuous people. When you attack religion, Dawkins, attack it in segments. Don't assume since some people, the vast majority, believe in a higher being that you can conjecture that they all

    21 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    poor read

    Richard Dawkins needs to figure out if he is a scientist or a philosopher. A theologian or a evolutionist. I am fairly certain he is educated in one field but acts like he is an expert in another. Where is this data for the absurdity of a god? Dawkins thinks it is in the actions of man which is the real absurdity. He desperately wants the idea of a creator abolished. One must wonder what his motive for this is when atheism is known to be the real downfall of man with the havoc it creates.

    20 out of 158 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Boring

    I kept waiting for the revalations that would forever change the way I think about God and creation. What I found was a long-winded diatribe against organized religion and anyone with faith in anything other than particle physics.

    Very disapointing!

    11 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Sickening

    Only an evil-spirited person could write such hatred about a God who he supposedly doesn't believe in. It's one thing to be against something, but to ridicule a belief with such vehemence as Dawkins has is insane. The Christians don't go around calling the evolutionists every name under the sun. Dawkins has no eloquence, morality, or good judgment in his being. His rudeness to the entire God-believing body is disgusting. I only pity those who are deluted in a way such as he is.

    11 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Unbelievable

    Negative reviews does not mean the reviewers did not read the book. I have not though, because I do not plan to waste my time reading such drivel. The reviews have told me enough.

    Being insulted and called names is childish and means that the author has to stoop to such levels to make his arguement believable. Dawkins has to use comic relief to make it a better read.

    The statement that religion is dangerous is generalizing, lumping all religions/groups together. Occults are dangerous not religions. I am a Christian. I am not brainwashed and my child is not abused. Tell me how not drinking, not using drugs, and going to church every week is dangerous. I am less dangerous than a lot of atheists!

    To the April 2008 reviewer, try reading a Bible. Maybe you'll catch it this time!

    5 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    Answer me One Question

    Ok, I have a question. If you and all these other atheists don't think a God exists, then why are you all so obsessed with bashing him? Why would anyone waste time writing about nothing? Or, better yet, why do you hate something you claim does not exist? How can this be? Or maybe there is a more sinister side to your hatred of this 'non-existing' God... In the Gospels, I remember, the demons all had this uncontrollable obsession with Christ (who is God).

    5 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    mamby pamby Christians and hate speech

    Hmmmm...we are fast approaching what has already been written...this author wants to rip God from the hearts of men. We've been clearly warned by Jesus himself. These people will be ripping us out of our homes and murdering us for our love of God. Remember to watch...it will be as in the days of Noah which we are facing now. The temple has been rebuilt...all is in place. The antichrist is rising and these fools are following what they dont understand. Stand firm..make sure your armor is on. They will take our lives but not our souls. Remember every knee shall bow and tongue confess ....we will be witness as they face God for their actions. There is still time to pray for these people so pray that their hard hearts will be opened to Christ. PRAY for these people....they scream like demons when they hear that but some will turn to the Lord. May GOD BLESS you all and give you the strength to stand firm in the face of what is coming.

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Truth

    I am a Christian and I have not read this book. Having said that, I want to say for the record that I agree with whoever wrote the review entitled "Stop." You people who are writing the reviews about how God is real and this book is wrong need to remember something: You catch more flies with honey than vinegar. Why would atheists listen to you if you call them names, or act hateful. You're supposed to believe that they are made in God's image! Treat them with respect, and back up arguments with evidence and logic. Making a statement and expecting people to take your word for it is a logical fallacy called "Assumptive language." -The Homeschooler

    3 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    DO NOT READ THIS BOOK

    First off, this book actually makes you THINK about things. I greatly prefer people telling me what to believe rather than having to figure out what is correct for myself. It's funny that Dawkins is so sure that God doesn't exist. I didn't see one equation or experiment in that book that disproved the existence of God. Furthermore Dawkins suggests that evolution is what created all these species. Ummm, I don't know about you guys, but my grandma isn't a monkey. Also, if atheists no everything why are they so sad. So yeah, this book is dumb.

    3 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Wooow

    Loving others. Helping the poor. Believing that there is some shred of hope left in this world. Those Christ followers must be miserable and insane to believe in things like that.

    3 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    An excellent explanation of the lack of evidence for the existence of God

    This book reviews and debunks the historical arguments for the existence of supernatural beings such as gods, an afterlife, heaven and hell, angels or a "soul". This is must reading for anyone who wishes to understand the nature of existence and the universe.

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Richard dawkins

    Wow really what do you think made everything then huh what

    2 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    No sir

    Give me one shread of evidence of evolution, please

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Stupid

    What an idiot

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    REALLY U HAVE TO BE KIDDING ME!

    Omg u have to be kidding what a jerk I'm a christian and I'm very offended by this! You jerk! You have no right to talk about this it will just make more people hat you cuz there are a lot of religious people in this world so be very careful....

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Dawkins should go die in a hole

    Big bag theory incorrect due to the law of inertia and the law that prevents matter from generating from nothing. Something beyond scientific understanding has to have created the matter around us.

    DAWKINS FAIL!!! DAWKINS IS JUST ANOTHER BIBLE HATER WHO HAS HIS HEART SETTING ON LEADING PEOPLE AWAY FROM TRUTH?

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    I don't bother to buy or read that book anyway. This book serve

    I don't bother to buy or read that book anyway. This book serves no purpose. I am a believer and I have a relationship with my Saviour, Jesus Christ. God does NOT force us to believe and serve Him. When Jesus was on the earth, He preached to many people. Some rejected Him and He left them alone. He was happy to minister to people who were interested in repenting and got their sins forgiven. It takes FAITH to believe in Him! If God doesn't exist, then we would not be here! My heart goes to Mr. Dawkins and other atheists who are missing the wonderful opportunity to be with Jesus forever in the afterlife.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Highly offensive

    Y'all need jesus

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    The Goddess Sar'ah Speaks Truth!!!

    "I, The goddess Sar'ah, shall behead you, Dawkins-junn'j (demon) for not believing in me and my sacred book, The Holy Code which the Hoes (believers) practice with frevor and delight! You are nothing but a Prudess (unbeliever) and you, along with trillions of living and deceased Prudessess (unbelievers) shall be thrown by MY HAND into al-Dajjal (hellfire) to be crucified, flayed, burned, cut, abused, hung, drawn, quartered, beheaded, dunked into boiling wax, made to drink boiling sulphuric and hydrocholoric acid, disemboweled, necklaced and many other horrors for you disbelief in my religion of Hoeism, a religion of Believers, Hoes, United by the Hoeist cause, that is to defend (my) the Holy Code's most Sacred Command: "...and you Hoes, You must strike terror, horror, fear and malice; obscenities, cruelties, hatreds of all kinds, and most of all Death into the hearts of the Unbelievers (Prudessess) until they believe..." This I recited unto my Holy Proph'et Mar'io, who wrote it into the Holy Code, in the Second Book of the Dajjal, Chapter 9,748, Verse 15,678." Amen.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    god is good

    blaming god for religon is like blaming marriage for divorce

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3