Customer Reviews for

The God Delusion

Average Rating 4
( 494 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(318)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(46)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

The New Atheists are opening the doors to freedom

The new atheists are doing something that many are not: saying the important things that need to be said without fear of who thinks ill of them at night. The God Delusion is a powerful testament to rationality, evolution, and secular ways of living that have not only de...
The new atheists are doing something that many are not: saying the important things that need to be said without fear of who thinks ill of them at night. The God Delusion is a powerful testament to rationality, evolution, and secular ways of living that have not only defined society, but define what reality should look like.

posted by Terrence on November 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

62 out of 184 people found this review helpful.

some good argument, and some bad attitude

I have to preface by saying that I am a Christian, and I do hope I am not discounted in my somewhat scathing review of this book due to an attributed bias. That being said, I found this book to be rather interesting at times in that it provoked me to think about what I...
I have to preface by saying that I am a Christian, and I do hope I am not discounted in my somewhat scathing review of this book due to an attributed bias. That being said, I found this book to be rather interesting at times in that it provoked me to think about what I believe in. The author is rather pointed and clear in what he intends to say and he has chosen lines of reasoning that are sensible from one point of view, see doctrine of double arguments. However, the author is also rude and sarcastic. His belittling of religion comes across not merely as the balanced conclusion of a competent thinker but rather as the angered lashing out of a decidely angry man. I can say that however convincing his arguments may be he has missed a significant part of human experience as evidenced through the insulting statements scattered throughout the book. I may be convinced by his argument at points but I don't think I would want to know a man of such an attitude. As such I can make a qualified recommendation of this book as somewhat intellectually stimulating but that is ultimately lost in the scattered spats of animosity most often found in biting sarcasm. For example, a reader could reference page 104 where the author parodies a theological argument in a gratuitous fashion. The sole purpose of the parody is insult. This is unfitting someone who pretends to be a mature adult and reveals the author as more of a child in his ways of expressing himself. I actually feel bad for the guy. His hatred is similar to the religious fanatics he denounces as fools. Two peas in a pod.

posted by Anonymous on February 10, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 318 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The New Atheists are opening the doors to freedom

    The new atheists are doing something that many are not: saying the important things that need to be said without fear of who thinks ill of them at night. The God Delusion is a powerful testament to rationality, evolution, and secular ways of living that have not only defined society, but define what reality should look like.

    48 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    Richard has created a masterpiece, despite there being many books on the same subject published over the last few years (many of which are referenced) this is a truly original work. As always with Richard his arguments are set out without prejudice and with a great respect for those who in many cases he is criticizing. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in understanding the reality of religion which in this day and age cannot be ignored. Thank you Richard, may you continue to enlighten us for many years to come.

    37 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A groundbreaking book

    Professor Richard Dawkins will go down in history as the Charles Darwin of our day. His intellect on evolution and his numerous awards express how "on top of his game" he really is. The God Delusion perfectly illustrates his viewpoint to make the reader understand his perspectives concerning religion and needlessness of it. He breaks it down in simple terms and while there may be some "scholarly" language that might be hard for the average person to comprehend, he stays on track and delivers a thought-provoking insight into Atheism and the benefits for a lack of faith -- not only in an individual, but in society. Some may say that he came off "too harsh" regarding religion and its followers, but that is to be assumed that those accusations were inevitable. Richard Dawkins is a leader and this book proves it beyond just a theory.

    34 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    Especially great for the isolated atheist.

    Living in the Bible Belt is not easy in the least for the nonreligious person. Thankfully, there are people like Dawkins who come to bring a message of hope and reassurance to those who feel prejudiced and isolated by their close-minded fellow human beings. Just when the intoxication of religious inanity seems to be closing on your last sane breath, Dawkins reminds that you are not insane and that there is so much more to live for when unencumbered by religious nonsense.

    27 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dawkins is an a**, and I love him for it.

    I wish I could respond personally to some of these negative reviews because they break my heart. The God Delusion, more than anything else, has given me permission. Permission to question things. Permission to be responsible for my own actions. Permission to live and love freely without the guilt, and the pettyness, and the agenda that are organized religion. Dawkins often asks 'why be angry? why rock the boat?' I have watched lives destroyed, friendships and families crumbled, and just about every war started because of religion. Since accepting Atheism into my heart, I have never felt freer.

    23 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Not what most people think.

    If anything, Dawkins is seeking to illustrate what many call "Talking snake theists." In the states we know of them as fundamentalist. Any reasoned person can accept what Dawkins puts forth. If your belief is stuck in the 12th century like so much of the world, read this book.

    What I liked most is his impeccably sourced arguments and illustrations against zealots. His promotion of religious education and study as important as it relates to literature, art, history.

    If you feel that Christians are marginalized, Islam is portrayed as violent in media, there is a war on Christmas, pick up the book, look in a mirror, and use the brain you either evolved to have or that your god gave you.

    11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Yes.

    Just buy the damn book.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Awakening

    This book clearly demonstrates how we have all been duped. Dawkins is an exellent writer who engages the reader in clear and concise format. I was motivated to read more of his works.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Atheism is not a religion

    Atheism is not a religion. It is the lack of one. An atheist does not believe in blind faith if a god or deity. They dont accept something with out proof and fact. That is not not faith therefore not a religion or belief system. But is a book review really the place for this anyway? It is for those who have read the book to say whether they like it or not and why, so that some one else can decide if they want to buy this book.

    This book is great whether atheist or deist it give you a lot to think about and makes many good points. I recomend it thoroughly.

    If you really feel like arguing find a forum and do it there.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Well Balanced and Superbly Reasoned

    Dawkins mastery of reason does not disappoint in this well thought out argument against religion. Judging by the 1-star reviews by people who obviously did not read the book and only care to undermine this achievement, Mr. Dawkins message is stirring up a great fear amongst those who are unable or unwilling to gather the intelectual fortitude to, at least, ask important questions about their 'faith'. I look forward to indulging in other of Dawkins' work.

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2008

    highly recommended

    I assume those who have written negative reviews did not read the book. I purchased this book AFTER shifting towards atheism. It was intelligent and thought-provoking. I plan to read more of Dawkin's books.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Must Read

    This is a must for any thinking mind.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's a New York Times Bestseller for a reason.

    Even if you don't agree with the conclusions drawn by the book (and you'd be hard pressed to legitimately come to different conclusions in the face of such well written arguments and evidence), this book is truly an enjoyable read. It's challenging, engaging, and informative. Despite characterizations of Richard Dawkins, he has a very pleasant voice in his writing style (and in general). Does he hold his ground? Of course. Is he critical of religion? You bet. But nowhere is he disrespectful toward anyone (unless you WANT to be offended, of course, but nowhere does he attempt to illicit such a response).

    Dawkins holds religion and religious behavior up to the same standards of scientific scrutiny as is applied to everything else in life (being especially critical when religion is given automatic deference simply because it's religion, such deference being entirely illogical). The book is very well researched and properly cited, so if anyone wishes to challenge his claims legitimately they are more than capable of doing so (and based on the books written in response to The God Delusion, such legitimate responses have yet to come about).

    Do you embrace reason and intellectualism over the love of ignorance and anti-intellectualism so prevalent in the U.S. today? Then this is the book for you. Are you open to proving yourself wrong on your conceits, prejudices, etc? Then this is the book for you. Are you dogmatically close minded (and, on top of it, confuse being skeptical (which is being properly open minded) with being close minded), and won't change any of your preconceived notions no matter what evidence you encounter? Then this isn't the book for you...and neither are any non-fiction books.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The God Delusion Hewitt 1st

    The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins is a captivating book. Dawkins challenges religion by using science to show why an intelligent designer called God is fake. The book focuses on the three main religions: Christianity, Islam, Judaism. In the very beginning of the book, Dawkins says we are all atheist but some go one god farther. That statement really means a lot because people are just born into a religion and do not even give other religions a chance. Dawkins claims if one religion is right, the world would notice which one is because of the good fortune that would happen to the people who practice that religion. Dawkins says that religion is good in that it helps build strong morals, but at the same time he says if relgion is the only thing making you be a good person, then you need to make big changes in your life. Dawkins talks about the Egyptians who built massive pyramids for their gods, and that we now know their god is obviously not true. Dawkins also claims religion in school hinders learning in that, the Bible says the Earth is somewhere near six thousand years old. We know today that the world is four and a half billion years old. I enjoyed the book and I highly recommend it because it challenges your faith if you do believe in a god and helps you think more for yourself so you wont blame things on a god.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Arguments and Good Writing

    This book is great!

    Dawkins makes two arguments. First, that there is no scientific proof of the existence of god. Second, that religion is dangerous, because it can make people do horrible things.

    I really enjoyed reading it. Dawkins lays out his ideas in an organized manner and presents them clearly. Some people have said that he is shrill or mean, but I actually found the book funny and thought-provoking. Reading it is kind of like sitting in a classroom with a nice and funny professor explaining the topic.

    I recommend this book for anyone who wants to start reading about religion and/or atheism. It was the first book I read on the topic, and I was motivated to read more. Religion is an important topic whether you believe in god or not, because there are many people in the world who do believe and their actions affect everyone.

    Happy reading!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    I am 14 years old and very self-educated about topics such as re

    I am 14 years old and very self-educated about topics such as religion, and have found that I am an atheist. I was indoctrinated into the Christian religion but found myself doubting next to everything I heard. I found out about this book from a friend, and decided to give it a try. I had heard of Richard Dawkins before and seen quotes of his, but didn’t know he wrote books. When I found out about and began reading The God Delusion I was not disappointed, this book was amazing. It brought up many good points and arguments and definitely got me thinking about a lot of different things. I also learned a lot about religion and the history of different views from foreign countries. I enjoyed this book because it helped reinforce my atheistic views of religion but also strengthened my religious knowledge. I recommend this book for everybody, even if you don't agree with Dawkins' view on religious topics. This book will still help you understand the thought process of atheists and hopefully make you more accepting of them, but it is also thought-provoking and will educate about different religions and beliefs around the world.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Whatever our faith or belief in something is, this book dispels

    Whatever our faith or belief in something is, this book dispels and strengthens the convictions we held before. It is a book meant for the open-minded who appreciate varying views of what man holds as the most mysterious of all things (God). The views of different peoples, cultures and religions should be taken into consideration in whatever judgements we make on this.This is so because I had this fascinating insight into this subject from a story with the title The Verdict of Hades. The God Delusion is a book to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Why are religious people so pushy?

    No reviews under the bibles of atheists pushing anything on you. Why do you people push your views on everyone?

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Success

    Reading the negative reviews shows that this book is right on target. Bravo - great book. A must read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Stop

    I am rating this 5 because i wnt to counteract the hate tht is coming from peaceful christians

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 318 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 16