Customer Reviews for

The Gods of Guilt (Mickey Haller Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Can Mickey Save An Innocent Man?

After pulling one of his patented courtroom “stunts” to get one of his “guilty” clients off, Mickey is handed a murder case involving an internet “pimp.” Andre La Cosse is a designer of web-sites for call girl. Andre also helps set up their “meets” and collects a fee ...
After pulling one of his patented courtroom “stunts” to get one of his “guilty” clients off, Mickey is handed a murder case involving an internet “pimp.” Andre La Cosse is a designer of web-sites for call girl. Andre also helps set up their “meets” and collects a fee for the service. Andre is accused of murdering a call girl (Gloria Dayton) that used to be a client of Mickey some 10 years ago. This should cause a conflict but Mickey agrees to take the case because he is convinced of Andre’s innocence and Gloria herself had recommended Mickey to Andre, should he ever need a lawyer.

Mickey must vacate his Lincoln “office” and gather his troops led by Cisco and a sharp young lawyer named Julie Aronson and gather at a makeshift office in a building being rented out by a rock band. As the prosecution has strong evidence tying Andre to the murder, Mickey and his team try to find an alternate killer to tie to Gloria’s murder. The more they investigate they find that everything may be tied to a Mexican drug lord sitting in prison that Gloria had helped to put away ten years prior. As they approach that angle other elements emerge and they find themselves in danger from those who want their investigation to cease.

Written with Connelly’s amazing style, the narrative draws readers in from the start and has the usual incredible courtroom exchanges that transport the reader right into the fray. The courtroom scenes are fairly intense and we get to see how when faced with an “innocent” client, Mickey gets more determined to succeed at all costs.

As an aside in the tale, Mickey is struggling with trying to re-kindle his relationship with his estranged daughter who has cast Mickey aside because of someone he defended. His attempts to win her back go on throughout the tale and help bring some “humanity” to Mickey’s sometimes devious character.

This is not the best Lincoln Lawyer tale but is a very good one.

posted by Kataman1 on October 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I have religiously and immediately bought Connelly's books since

I have religiously and immediately bought Connelly's books since the first one I read. I read them all. This one seemed formulaic and not exciting. Pages were filled with much technical detail about court procedure which didn't interest me as a lawyer. The metaphor the ...
I have religiously and immediately bought Connelly's books since the first one I read. I read them all. This one seemed formulaic and not exciting. Pages were filled with much technical detail about court procedure which didn't interest me as a lawyer. The metaphor the Gods of guilt was laboriously dragged up far too many times. Once was enough. Sadly, 2 stars for this. Would like another Bosch, but hope it can feel less like he's churning out a new title in time for Christmas!

posted by susanmartell on December 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    I've read every book by this author and generally prefer the Har

    I've read every book by this author and generally prefer the Harry Boesch series.  However, this book provides what so few do these days.  This novel has an ending.  A real ending.    Mickey Haller's  summation at the end not only brought everything together, but he makes the reader feel.  It is like he's looking out a window at his life as he narrates what has happened since the trial and how it has changed him and those around him.  These characters aren't the two dimensional variety of so many authors today.  The ending just blew me away with Mickey's reflections.w

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As a huge fan of the Mickey Haller *5 series (Lincoln Lawyer) ¿ I really enjoyed Michael¿s Connelly¿s thriller--The Gods of Guilt! Michael is a brilliant writer and knows how to keep the suspense building. Loved connecting with all the characters

    As a huge fan of the Mickey Haller *5 series (Lincoln Lawyer) – I really enjoyed Michael’s Connelly’s thriller--The Gods of Guilt! Michael is a brilliant writer and knows how to keep the suspense building.

    Loved connecting with all the characters and hoping there will be a movie based on the book (with McConaughey, of course)!

    I always buy the audio version as Peter Giles is a great performer and ideal for the storyline and characters. As usual, Mickey Haller is in the middle of one of the highest stake murder case---he is either always at the top or at the bottom (wow, this guy can preserve!).

    When Mickey learns the victim was his own former client, a prostitute (which we learned about in his former books) – he is haunted by ghosts of the past and works diligently to solve the case.

    Andre La Cosse, a high-tech pimp, is charged with murdering one of his clients, Giselle Dallinger, a prostitute who turns out to be known to Haller as Gloria Dayton, from 2005's The Lincoln Lawyer.
    As usual, Halley can smell trouble and he and his staff pulls out all the stops --Cisco and Lorna Taylor, as well as associate Jennifer and of course driver Earl. Haller's strategy is not to uncover the truth but to develop a credible alternative theory of the crime—of course, there is always high level of drama in the courtroom----as Haller appeals directly to the members of the jury, "the gods of guilt".

    You will be able to catch up with his ex-wives, and his estranged daughter --- of the title. Brilliantly written to make the legal system proud-- Michael Connelly is at the top of his game!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Mickey Haller in The Gods of Guilt

    Reading it now...awesome! Crminal defense law in L A...it doesn't get much grittier than that.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Wow!

    Excellent, I loved this book. Only I stayed up way too late because I couldn't put it down. Great story and great writing. I love the gods of guilt theme through out the book and tie-up at the end. It gave me something to think about as to how it might apply to myself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    I absolutely loved this book! Michael Connelly is one of my favo

    I absolutely loved this book! Michael Connelly is one of my favorite authors - he never disappoints!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Another great one

    Simply one of the best authors out there.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Highly Recommend!

    Great concept for a book. I enjoyed reading this book.I think its one of his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Mighty Micky

    I am always a fan of Michael Connelly, and this character, Micky Haller, is always someone I look forward to reading. This book did not disappoint and I loved the story line and where it all went.

    Must reading for the couch-detective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Loved it

    Well done again

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    Factual and authentic is true Connelly stylle,this is another wi

    Factual and authentic is true Connelly stylle,this is another winner. Haller, like Bosch, is a flawed man trying to do the right things for his clients and it gets him into conflicts he often helps create. we do get a rare insight into the nuts and bolts of being a defense attorney and the art of manipulating a jury, the titled Gods of Guilt. Too bad we only get a book a year from Micheal ,but he ne never dissapoints. I've read them all and look forward to the next one. If Milke reads these reviews, how about a Bosch novel on the Sewel case you mentioned in thisa book. You could even involve Haller in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    SAY NO TO CYBERBULLYING AND NOOK SEX

    Meet at pumpkins result one

    1 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    The Lincoln Lawyer is Great Again

    I enjoy Michael Connelly's Books. Aways a great story and a satisfying ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Another Good Read

    Another good read about Micky Haller. I like the continuity between his books and the link to previous characters. This book had good twists and a startling ending. I like Connelly's writing and his adding little human events to his stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Tiger

    Sure.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Lioness

    (Can I be a Lioness?)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    To hiiii

    Its a cat god thing so im annoying them with greek gods becus theyre being DISRESPECTFUL OF THE OLYMPIANS

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Anonymous

    Excellent reading. Sory keeps you involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    One of his best

    I personally ONLY read Michael Connelly's Mickey Haller books. Some I adored (The Lincoln Lawyer), others less, but this one if GOOD! A must read for Mickey Haller fans & courtroom drama fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    Another Connelly hit

    I have enjoyed every one in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6