Customer Reviews for

The Golden Dynasty

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great!

Read the entire series

posted by BJWVA on August 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hmmm, not as good as the first.

Another mythical world from Kristen, but still there didn't seem to be much really going on than the normal day to day. I wish there was more drama, more issues. I mean there are issues, but not the ones that are interesting enough to read about. It is relaxing to just ...
Another mythical world from Kristen, but still there didn't seem to be much really going on than the normal day to day. I wish there was more drama, more issues. I mean there are issues, but not the ones that are interesting enough to read about. It is relaxing to just read about their day-to-day issues and escapades, but after a while it starts to get boring and tedious. I don't really like how much she repeats her sentences too (I know it's to make it more dramatic) but you don't have to repeat things 3-5 times to get that point.
It's okay.

posted by PhotographerReader_Julie on February 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Angelina

    I jus adore KA books!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Great!

    Read the entire series

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Awesome fantasy romance series

    Very addictive book, cant wait to read more in this series by the author

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    Game of thrones rip but good

    I finished this book 24 hours ago and it is still preoccupying my mind. It's very apparant K.A. is a Game of Thrones fan; least the first season with Khal Drogo and the Khalisi. At least that was my favorite storyline from that show. Totally hot, savage, alpha male. K.A. is the queen of writing the hottest males.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    :)

    I swear the imaginatation this woman has is CRAZY!!! KA you rock! She can take you to a whole different world and you believe you are really there. Absoultely amazing book!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Worth the read! ;)

    I enjoyed this a lot more than I thought I would. I'm not much of a fantasy reader, but this was "normal enough" that I could enjoy the story. I did have a problem with the heroine in this book... She got over stuff really easily.. Things I think would scar a woman for life. But overall I enjoyed the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Happy with this author

    Wow. Sometimes an author really just has it. That special something that makes everything they write exceptional. Kristen A. I am a fan for life. You know how to write a book I can enjoy, hate, love, cry at, laugh at..... I remember your books. They stay with me when the Many, many others I read fade. Thanks for the adventures. Oh, and keep them coming!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great novel with Mega-Alpha male heroes. My only complaint might

    Great novel with Mega-Alpha male heroes. My only complaint might be the ammount of clothing descriptions. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    LOVED IT!

    There are shades of Game of Thrones here, but the book was great! It had great character development, and while the sex was great, there was a storyline that made sense. World building was excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Hmmm, not as good as the first.

    Another mythical world from Kristen, but still there didn't seem to be much really going on than the normal day to day. I wish there was more drama, more issues. I mean there are issues, but not the ones that are interesting enough to read about. It is relaxing to just read about their day-to-day issues and escapades, but after a while it starts to get boring and tedious. I don't really like how much she repeats her sentences too (I know it's to make it more dramatic) but you don't have to repeat things 3-5 times to get that point.
    It's okay.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    I really liked it...

    It took me a minute to get into the story, but once I did...oh boy! Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    LOVED IT.

    Seriously......... gotta love a girl who loves a man who will curl you into his side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Great Story

    One of my favorite Kristen Ashley books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    I really love this series.

    Love KA's Fantasyland series. I can't wait for the next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    WOW! Incredible story. This one is worth the time and effort. It

    WOW! Incredible story. This one is worth the time and effort. It is not light and fluffy. It is not rainbows and butterflies. It has some very dark elements; rape, murder, execution, betrayal. It felt as if I were seeing the inside of life in an ancient warrior race. Think Viking, Mongol, Spartan or Mayan. You would see brutality. I wouldn't want the author to rewrite this to eliminate that. This is their world, their culture. So if those things are too much for you don't read this one. But, if you are willing to set aside our cultural bias as to what is right and wrong, just look and see if you aren't blown away by an amazing book. 
    Lahn is King to a very brutal nation. He has been trained for it from birth. He is not Prince Charming! He is a warrior King. He is never told "no", he is never denied what he wants, he is brutal and course, until he finds his spit fire queen.
    Cercie is a modern day woman from Seattle, with NO idea where she woke up or how she got there. She is chosen and claimed by the King in a most hideous manner. There is no escape, there is no going home. She must come to terms with her life as it is now. She grasps onto the knowledge that the past is what was and the future is what you make of it. 
    I loved seeing the changes in both the H/h. She softens him. He sees her as worth fighting for. They are both stubborn, passionate and determined to be good rulers of their people. Once they open themselves up to love the other, it is deep and strong. Their love is tested and they fail. Cercie is wounded deeply but Lahn will not give up on wooing back his Tigress. And again it is tested and again they fail. Cercie is so hurt, so damaged and so stubborn in her refusal to allow him back into her heart that it makes his soul bleed. Neither are "right" both are flawed, both make huge mistakes; but, both love one another with an uncommon depth. The ending is wonderfully done and satisfying. 
    Bravo Ms. Ashley! I'm looking forward to more of your writing talents.
    Adult read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Meh

    I love KA, I love fantasy, so I thought "What could be better than a KA fantasy book about hot guy barbarians?". Sad to say, as much as I wanted to I just couldn't love this hot guy barbarian.

    It was too much. I can forgive a lot of things from characters and taken individually I can forgive everything Dax did in this book, but they start adding up fast, and no amount of "this is a different culture in a different world", makes everything ok. I got to 2/3rds in the book and realized that to me, the bad guy WAS the hero and there was really no redeeming him for me.

    I gave it 3 stars because its KA and her writing is always worth a few stars :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Wonderful series.

    Wonderful series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    Excellent!!!!

    I LOVE KA. Everything she writes is awesome!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Five stars

    Great read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    I enjoyed all the books in this series, but this one was probabl

    I enjoyed all the books in this series, but this one was probably my favorite. It takes you through a lot of emotions and I found myself identifying with Circe the entire way through. I'm officially addicted to KA.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4