Customer Reviews for

The Goldfinch

Average Rating 3.5
( 742 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(322)

4 Star

(124)

3 Star

(101)

2 Star

(69)

1 Star

(126)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

97 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

Any book of Donna Tartt's is like a miracle of reading. She is

Any book of Donna Tartt's is like a miracle of reading. She is the closest thing to reading a Dickens sort of novel today with its density of characters and storyline, mysteries and details of the most minute and miracles of writing. To read one of her books is to exp...
Any book of Donna Tartt's is like a miracle of reading. She is the closest thing to reading a Dickens sort of novel today with its density of characters and storyline, mysteries and details of the most minute and miracles of writing. To read one of her books is to experience a travel that's like no other. Reading "The Goldfinch" is like that. It's her best effort thus far, I think. It's simply the most amazing. And, that doesn't mean I don't think you should read her other two books!





I found myself jumping up several times in glee and forcing my husband just to listen to small descriptions of the otherwise mundane in this novel. She writes so beautifully that the union suit of a miner hanging on a bathroom shower curtain becomes iconic and gorgeous! It actually is so real, it lives and breathes!! Amazing stuff...so you can imagine how the rest of her story comes to life. The repair and care of antique furniture becomes so precious and such an act of love, it reaches your soul.





Tartt's characters are to love, hate, to sympathize with, to disparage, to want to reach out for. They are pitiful, disgusting, harmful, harmless and worthy of your most tender feelings. She runs the gamut. You become fully engaged...it's impossible not to. They are so alive.



This is a story about relationships of all kinds: parenting, friendship, love. There's fear and selfishness and other emotions from basic relationships. It's a story of redemption and finding ones place in the world. It's an exploration of the world from many sides of life.



I will admit there is so much to take in in this novel that I couldn't just sit down and read it fast like some books. I had to take it in parcels. I wanted to savor the words and the journey of its characters, particularly the primary one, Theo. I've always felt that way about Tartt's books. They are the kind you don't want to finish quickly because when you do, they'll be all gone! I hate to turn the last page.



I would welcome you on this journey of a special read. It's unusual. It's one that will charm you and touch your heart. It will cause you to stop and smile, laugh, cry out in surprise, feel hurt and even offended for the characters. I'd be very surprised if you don't love it as much as I have.



Donna Tartt is a genius author of our times. Not to read her is like not reading Joyce Carol Oates.



posted by Humbee on October 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

63 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

A miserable read.

This is the story of who boy who suffers a tragedy that sets his life off into a downhill spiral of self destructive behavior. This self destructive behavior goes on, in tedious detail, for 700 pages. Then in the last 50 pages he "sort of" redeems himself. But in the...
This is the story of who boy who suffers a tragedy that sets his life off into a downhill spiral of self destructive behavior. This self destructive behavior goes on, in tedious detail, for 700 pages. Then in the last 50 pages he "sort of" redeems himself. But in the end he's still a miserable soul.
I hate to quit a book in the middle so i just kept plugging alond, hoping it would get better but it never did. I read all the way to the end. What a waste of time! This miserable story could have been told in half as many pages.

posted by Anonymous on December 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 742 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38
  • Posted October 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Any book of Donna Tartt's is like a miracle of reading. She is

    Any book of Donna Tartt's is like a miracle of reading. She is the closest thing to reading a Dickens sort of novel today with its density of characters and storyline, mysteries and details of the most minute and miracles of writing. To read one of her books is to experience a travel that's like no other. Reading "The Goldfinch" is like that. It's her best effort thus far, I think. It's simply the most amazing. And, that doesn't mean I don't think you should read her other two books!





    I found myself jumping up several times in glee and forcing my husband just to listen to small descriptions of the otherwise mundane in this novel. She writes so beautifully that the union suit of a miner hanging on a bathroom shower curtain becomes iconic and gorgeous! It actually is so real, it lives and breathes!! Amazing stuff...so you can imagine how the rest of her story comes to life. The repair and care of antique furniture becomes so precious and such an act of love, it reaches your soul.





    Tartt's characters are to love, hate, to sympathize with, to disparage, to want to reach out for. They are pitiful, disgusting, harmful, harmless and worthy of your most tender feelings. She runs the gamut. You become fully engaged...it's impossible not to. They are so alive.



    This is a story about relationships of all kinds: parenting, friendship, love. There's fear and selfishness and other emotions from basic relationships. It's a story of redemption and finding ones place in the world. It's an exploration of the world from many sides of life.



    I will admit there is so much to take in in this novel that I couldn't just sit down and read it fast like some books. I had to take it in parcels. I wanted to savor the words and the journey of its characters, particularly the primary one, Theo. I've always felt that way about Tartt's books. They are the kind you don't want to finish quickly because when you do, they'll be all gone! I hate to turn the last page.



    I would welcome you on this journey of a special read. It's unusual. It's one that will charm you and touch your heart. It will cause you to stop and smile, laugh, cry out in surprise, feel hurt and even offended for the characters. I'd be very surprised if you don't love it as much as I have.



    Donna Tartt is a genius author of our times. Not to read her is like not reading Joyce Carol Oates.



    97 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    A miserable read.

    This is the story of who boy who suffers a tragedy that sets his life off into a downhill spiral of self destructive behavior. This self destructive behavior goes on, in tedious detail, for 700 pages. Then in the last 50 pages he "sort of" redeems himself. But in the end he's still a miserable soul.
    I hate to quit a book in the middle so i just kept plugging alond, hoping it would get better but it never did. I read all the way to the end. What a waste of time! This miserable story could have been told in half as many pages.

    63 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    read this book

    I usually don't write reviews, but the greatness of this book demands it.
    It is filled with utter beauty. I did not want this book to end. You would be missing a great work of art by not reading THE GOLDFINCH.

    58 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Reasonably interesting story ponderously told.

    I've purchase 174 books since buying my NOOK. Thi is the first time I've felt compelled to add a comment about one of my purchases.

    If “brevity is the soul of wit,” as Shakespeare wrote, then Donna Tartt is unfamiliar with the concept. At times, it was excruciating to slog through this drivel; I stopped reading it three times out of sheer frustration and boredom. While certainly well written, the book is at least 300 pages too long. It reminded me of a person in love with their own speaking voice. Noteworthy only for its banal details and the unlikeable main character, I can not recommend this book.

    46 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    I could not stand this book. I found it so long...drawn out....

    I could not stand this book. I found it so long...drawn out....depressing...I love mysteries and action....John Sandford.....Nelson DeMille...Linda Firstein....Richard North Patterson...Vince Flynn.....I guess I thought I would enjoy a change but I was so disappointed. I guess I am the only one but just had to let the readers know...sorry. I know a lot of people love her. Sallie Gutman

    40 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Very disappointing and pointless. Should have been 200 pages shorter.

    I loved her first book but this was a victim of self indulgence and terrible editing

    30 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    2.5 stars Having truly enjoyed The Secret History and The Littl

    2.5 stars

    Having truly enjoyed The Secret History and The Little Friend, I was really looking forward to The Goldfinch. Unfortunately, it did not live up to my expectations.

    There's no denying that Tartt writes beautifully. However, there's an old saying that I think is particularly apt here: "She was talking just to hear herself talk." This sums up how I felt about The Goldfinch; Tartt was talking, but there was no real substance. With the exception of the opening scene in the museum, nothing that happened to Theo drew me in, and, as the book progressed, I found myself disliking him more and more. I would have liked to see more of Pippa, but even she seemed to be just a prop on which Theo could hang his unrequited love. The painting also played very little role in the story, making it seem as though it was just scaffolding meant to hold the whole mess together. By the end, when Tartt sank into maudlin sentiment, all I could do was wish for the end to come quickly.

    I would have given The Goldfinch 2 stars for its "plot"; only the quality of Tartt's writing earned it the additional half-star.

    29 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Pulitzer maybe?

    Reminiscent of Salinger, Dickens, Dostoyevsky with a dose of Hunter S. Thompson. Think I'm crazy? Read this and you might agree with me. Wow!

    23 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Dont. It made me give a star. Terrible

    If I could give a lower rating this book deserves it. Sunday comics have more plot and character development.

    18 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    500 Pages too long

    I liked the concept of this book. I was drawn in to the story quickly, but by 250 pages I was longing for the pace to pick up. The interaction between characters was interesting, but the long, drawn out and very redundant self reflections got old very quick. After hearing such good things about this novel, I was determined to finish. Unfortunately, it never really got better for me. The last ten pages were like torture, and I confess I barely skimmed them.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Classic

    This was a truly fantastic and gripping book. In top 3 of 2013.

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    Came with such a glowing review ?  I just never got hooked .

    Came with such a glowing review ?
     I just never got hooked .

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Beautifully written, very moving

    Donna Tartt's latest novel is stunning and breathtaking. I don't know where to begin. I picked this up because I loved The Secret History, and lo! This one is even more impressively written. If you are planning to read this, I hope no one spoils any of the plot for you, because really, things keep happening and it's all riveting, and along the way, we learn about an artist most of us had never heard of before, meet some wonderful and unusual people, and come to care--and worry--very much about Theo. I will definitely be reading parts of this again...what can I say? It was awesome.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Donna Tartt is an excellent writer and storyteller.  I am thorou

    Donna Tartt is an excellent writer and storyteller.  I am thoroughly enjoying "The Goldfinch," however, I was just making the connection that the book had a modern day "Oliver Twist" aspect to it when Tartt makes a connection in the book that Boris is like the Artful Dodger when Tartt herself makes the connection in the novel.  Wow, that really blew it for me.  Then the chapter "The Idiot" made complete sense as part of the storytelling process and the connection to that book when once again, Tartt makes the connection herself.  Sad that she thinks her readers are not well read and would not understand the references.  But I still highly recommend the book.

    12 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Didn't know when I purchased this book that it was so long. At this point I am not finished with it yet. However, it is a compelling story. I look forward every evening to reading it. I am pushed to see how it will end, but I also want to know the daily life of the main character, Theo.

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Exceedingly long winded and pointless.

    Exceedingly long winded and pointless.

    11 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    The Goldfinch

    Wow. This story grabs you and doesn't let go. It is suspenseful, heart wrenching, funny, horrifying...and entirely imaginable.

    My only criticism is that it may go on a bit too long.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Facebook

    Epic,awsome and crazy...Totaly both.I could read every day

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Ms.Tartt should read Hemingway.

    Also, check the manual for the functions of the "delete" key. How can you smell J&B Scotch on someone? I didn't make it past page 22.

    8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Compelling

    Compelling! Excellent writing and beautiful story.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 742 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38