Customer Reviews for

The Goldfinch

Average Rating 3.5
( 409 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(60)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

70 out of 79 people found this review helpful.

Any book of Donna Tartt's is like a miracle of reading. She is

Any book of Donna Tartt's is like a miracle of reading. She is the closest thing to reading a Dickens sort of novel today with its density of characters and storyline, mysteries and details of the most minute and miracles of writing. To read one of her books is to exp...
Any book of Donna Tartt's is like a miracle of reading. She is the closest thing to reading a Dickens sort of novel today with its density of characters and storyline, mysteries and details of the most minute and miracles of writing. To read one of her books is to experience a travel that's like no other. Reading "The Goldfinch" is like that. It's her best effort thus far, I think. It's simply the most amazing. And, that doesn't mean I don't think you should read her other two books!





I found myself jumping up several times in glee and forcing my husband just to listen to small descriptions of the otherwise mundane in this novel. She writes so beautifully that the union suit of a miner hanging on a bathroom shower curtain becomes iconic and gorgeous! It actually is so real, it lives and breathes!! Amazing stuff...so you can imagine how the rest of her story comes to life. The repair and care of antique furniture becomes so precious and such an act of love, it reaches your soul.





Tartt's characters are to love, hate, to sympathize with, to disparage, to want to reach out for. They are pitiful, disgusting, harmful, harmless and worthy of your most tender feelings. She runs the gamut. You become fully engaged...it's impossible not to. They are so alive.



This is a story about relationships of all kinds: parenting, friendship, love. There's fear and selfishness and other emotions from basic relationships. It's a story of redemption and finding ones place in the world. It's an exploration of the world from many sides of life.



I will admit there is so much to take in in this novel that I couldn't just sit down and read it fast like some books. I had to take it in parcels. I wanted to savor the words and the journey of its characters, particularly the primary one, Theo. I've always felt that way about Tartt's books. They are the kind you don't want to finish quickly because when you do, they'll be all gone! I hate to turn the last page.



I would welcome you on this journey of a special read. It's unusual. It's one that will charm you and touch your heart. It will cause you to stop and smile, laugh, cry out in surprise, feel hurt and even offended for the characters. I'd be very surprised if you don't love it as much as I have.



Donna Tartt is a genius author of our times. Not to read her is like not reading Joyce Carol Oates.



posted by Humbee on October 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

A miserable read.

This is the story of who boy who suffers a tragedy that sets his life off into a downhill spiral of self destructive behavior. This self destructive behavior goes on, in tedious detail, for 700 pages. Then in the last 50 pages he "sort of" redeems himself. But in the...
This is the story of who boy who suffers a tragedy that sets his life off into a downhill spiral of self destructive behavior. This self destructive behavior goes on, in tedious detail, for 700 pages. Then in the last 50 pages he "sort of" redeems himself. But in the end he's still a miserable soul.
I hate to quit a book in the middle so i just kept plugging alond, hoping it would get better but it never did. I read all the way to the end. What a waste of time! This miserable story could have been told in half as many pages.

posted by Anonymous on December 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    A miserable read.

    This is the story of who boy who suffers a tragedy that sets his life off into a downhill spiral of self destructive behavior. This self destructive behavior goes on, in tedious detail, for 700 pages. Then in the last 50 pages he "sort of" redeems himself. But in the end he's still a miserable soul.
    I hate to quit a book in the middle so i just kept plugging alond, hoping it would get better but it never did. I read all the way to the end. What a waste of time! This miserable story could have been told in half as many pages.

    33 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Reasonably interesting story ponderously told.

    I've purchase 174 books since buying my NOOK. Thi is the first time I've felt compelled to add a comment about one of my purchases.

    If “brevity is the soul of wit,” as Shakespeare wrote, then Donna Tartt is unfamiliar with the concept. At times, it was excruciating to slog through this drivel; I stopped reading it three times out of sheer frustration and boredom. While certainly well written, the book is at least 300 pages too long. It reminded me of a person in love with their own speaking voice. Noteworthy only for its banal details and the unlikeable main character, I can not recommend this book.

    19 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Very disappointing and pointless. Should have been 200 pages shorter.

    I loved her first book but this was a victim of self indulgence and terrible editing

    18 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Dont. It made me give a star. Terrible

    If I could give a lower rating this book deserves it. Sunday comics have more plot and character development.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Ms.Tartt should read Hemingway.

    Also, check the manual for the functions of the "delete" key. How can you smell J&B Scotch on someone? I didn't make it past page 22.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Boring

    This book isnt that entertaining it could use some more
    Its kind of confusing

    4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    500 Pages too long

    I liked the concept of this book. I was drawn in to the story quickly, but by 250 pages I was longing for the pace to pick up. The interaction between characters was interesting, but the long, drawn out and very redundant self reflections got old very quick. After hearing such good things about this novel, I was determined to finish. Unfortunately, it never really got better for me. The last ten pages were like torture, and I confess I barely skimmed them.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Long, slow, depressing, boring.

    Long, slow, depressing, boring.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    There was not a SINGLE pop up page.

    There was not a SINGLE pop up page.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Started out well then went downhill. I ended up not liking the b

    Started out well then went downhill. I ended up not liking the boy or anyone in the book.  She is a good writer so I'm not sure what happened.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Gas Bag

    Hey, Tartt, ever hear of an editor? Blah, blah, blah, blah. Jesus, get on with the plot. Horrible writing. NO STARS.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    Big disappointment after ALL the hype from New York Times and va

    Big disappointment after ALL the hype from New York Times and various "best seller" lists.

    As another reviewer stated, I hated to quit aftwer slogging through half the book and did finish it.
    It was a depressing, tedious, sad work of complete drivel.
    My only praise is that the author had all the characters be kind to the dog, Popper, and he was THE only cheery character in this story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    I wish I read the reviews before I bought the book. The story

    I wish I read the reviews before I bought the book. The story could have been told in about 300 pages. It was way to long. Why could Boris never get to the point? It took several pages of conversation between him and Theo, before he said anything. The further the story went, the more I disliked Theo. Very Miserable read. Wish I hadn't wasted my tine

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2014

    Very disappointing book.

    So much for the NY Times Bestseller list... how this book stayed on the list for so long is a mystery to me. The author spends so much time describing things (ad nauseum) that I wanted to say "Just get on with the action and the story". The main character is very unlikable and annoying. If he said "I don't know" or "But" one more time, I was going to throw the book against the wall. I realize modern authors seem adverse to writing sympathetic and "heroic" characters, so I guess this book is right "in" with the times.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    disappointing

    An incredible beginning. Ms. Tartt had me hooked for the first two thirds of the book. The final segment lost me completely. The story line took a turn for towards the ridiculous. I felt cheated.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    This book was frustrating to read and yet I kept waiting for the

    This book was frustrating to read and yet I kept waiting for the main character to come to life. It never happened. I kept hoping he would just throw the stolen (very small) wooden painting in a city mail box and be done with it. Why he let this theft ruin his life on so many levels is never made clear. Sorry I took the time to read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Urg!

    Dark and ugly, very depressing,

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    If you want to immerse yourself in a world of repetitive, unendi

    If you want to immerse yourself in a world of repetitive, unending drug and alcohol use, this story is for you. To label this massive, self indulgent novel as an art mystery is an insult to serious readers of good literary fiction. Yes, Theo's life is a tragedy. He could have made so many different choices along the way. I was hoping for so much more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Exhausting!

    A good story, but overwrought and overwritten in every respect. Where was the editor?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    It was one of the most boring books I have ever started to read.

    It was one of the most boring books I have ever started to read. I kept going thinking that it would get better but I finally threw in the towel on page 270. There is so much unnecessary drivel that it could have been easily written in under 200 pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3