Customer Reviews for

The Goldfinch

Average Rating 3.5
( 680 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(300)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(90)

2 Star

(63)

1 Star

(113)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

93 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

Any book of Donna Tartt's is like a miracle of reading. She is

Any book of Donna Tartt's is like a miracle of reading. She is the closest thing to reading a Dickens sort of novel today with its density of characters and storyline, mysteries and details of the most minute and miracles of writing. To read one of her books is to exp...
Any book of Donna Tartt's is like a miracle of reading. She is the closest thing to reading a Dickens sort of novel today with its density of characters and storyline, mysteries and details of the most minute and miracles of writing. To read one of her books is to experience a travel that's like no other. Reading "The Goldfinch" is like that. It's her best effort thus far, I think. It's simply the most amazing. And, that doesn't mean I don't think you should read her other two books!





I found myself jumping up several times in glee and forcing my husband just to listen to small descriptions of the otherwise mundane in this novel. She writes so beautifully that the union suit of a miner hanging on a bathroom shower curtain becomes iconic and gorgeous! It actually is so real, it lives and breathes!! Amazing stuff...so you can imagine how the rest of her story comes to life. The repair and care of antique furniture becomes so precious and such an act of love, it reaches your soul.





Tartt's characters are to love, hate, to sympathize with, to disparage, to want to reach out for. They are pitiful, disgusting, harmful, harmless and worthy of your most tender feelings. She runs the gamut. You become fully engaged...it's impossible not to. They are so alive.



This is a story about relationships of all kinds: parenting, friendship, love. There's fear and selfishness and other emotions from basic relationships. It's a story of redemption and finding ones place in the world. It's an exploration of the world from many sides of life.



I will admit there is so much to take in in this novel that I couldn't just sit down and read it fast like some books. I had to take it in parcels. I wanted to savor the words and the journey of its characters, particularly the primary one, Theo. I've always felt that way about Tartt's books. They are the kind you don't want to finish quickly because when you do, they'll be all gone! I hate to turn the last page.



I would welcome you on this journey of a special read. It's unusual. It's one that will charm you and touch your heart. It will cause you to stop and smile, laugh, cry out in surprise, feel hurt and even offended for the characters. I'd be very surprised if you don't love it as much as I have.



Donna Tartt is a genius author of our times. Not to read her is like not reading Joyce Carol Oates.



posted by Humbee on October 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

53 out of 81 people found this review helpful.

A miserable read.

This is the story of who boy who suffers a tragedy that sets his life off into a downhill spiral of self destructive behavior. This self destructive behavior goes on, in tedious detail, for 700 pages. Then in the last 50 pages he "sort of" redeems himself. But in the...
This is the story of who boy who suffers a tragedy that sets his life off into a downhill spiral of self destructive behavior. This self destructive behavior goes on, in tedious detail, for 700 pages. Then in the last 50 pages he "sort of" redeems himself. But in the end he's still a miserable soul.
I hate to quit a book in the middle so i just kept plugging alond, hoping it would get better but it never did. I read all the way to the end. What a waste of time! This miserable story could have been told in half as many pages.

posted by Anonymous on December 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Donna Tartt is an excellent writer and storyteller.  I am thorou

    Donna Tartt is an excellent writer and storyteller.  I am thoroughly enjoying "The Goldfinch," however, I was just making the connection that the book had a modern day "Oliver Twist" aspect to it when Tartt makes a connection in the book that Boris is like the Artful Dodger when Tartt herself makes the connection in the novel.  Wow, that really blew it for me.  Then the chapter "The Idiot" made complete sense as part of the storytelling process and the connection to that book when once again, Tartt makes the connection herself.  Sad that she thinks her readers are not well read and would not understand the references.  But I still highly recommend the book.

    11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Didn't know when I purchased this book that it was so long. At this point I am not finished with it yet. However, it is a compelling story. I look forward every evening to reading it. I am pushed to see how it will end, but I also want to know the daily life of the main character, Theo.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    The Goldfinch

    Wow. This story grabs you and doesn't let go. It is suspenseful, heart wrenching, funny, horrifying...and entirely imaginable.

    My only criticism is that it may go on a bit too long.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Great story

    Truley enjoyed the book,was a little disappointed with the ending.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    The Goldfinch

    Interesting book and very different from what I normally read. Dark at times but also colorful and artistic. Sad but also makes you hopeful. Makes you think about survival and the jouney to that point... good, bad, or mostly somewhere in the middle.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Recommend--not sure I loved it, but very good!

    A 756 page turner, centered around a Dutch master of little fame. A tale of sadness, dysfunction, love and beauty--many themes and unusual characters all woven together masterfully. I have never read any of Tartt's other books, must give them a try. Two days after completion, I find my self having withdrawal, missing Theo and wondering what happens now?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    I actually enjoyed most of this book.  Found the plot generally

    I actually enjoyed most of this book.  Found the plot generally quite fascinating and the sudden twists a real jolt.  However, when it got to the end and became a philosophical statement, I was disappointed.  I had begun to get anxious about 3/4 of the way through it wondering where it was going and felt the ending quite flat.  There were actually about 4 really good story lines in the book that would each have made great books on their own.  Would I recommend it?  Yes, but with some reservation..  But did I love it?  Not really.  

    P.S.  The heavy drug use became somewhat tedious..    

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Wonderful reaf Wonderful read!

    This book is really engaging and exciting! I read it over my vacation and loved it! The only reasons I didnt give it 5 stars are that it tends to drag on a bit (though I did not find it slow or boring) and the ending feels strangly disconnected and metaphysical. I really enjoyed the book though and highly reccomend it. Its very long but enjoyable, detailed and engrossing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    The Goldfinch is long, but it is definitely worth it.  It didn't

    The Goldfinch is long, but it is definitely worth it.  It didn't take me long to read as I could not put this book down.  A well written story, complex characters and plenty of suspense. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Worth the read

    Thought this book could have been written about 200 pages shorter, but I still enjoyed it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Strange New World

    I love Donna Tartt's writing. In both of her earlier books (Secret History and Little Friend) she was writing about what she knew; and she wrote superbly. The Goldfinch seems a stretch; it does not have the ring of authenticity that the first two books had. It was a fast read, but parts of the plot were not up to what I expect from an author who can write in such an amazing way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Both good and bad

    During a casual conversation with someone about books, I was strongly advised not to read The Goldfinch. It had already been purchased, by me, on my Nook, so I wasn't going to waste my purchase on her opinion alone. As I read the book anyway, I thought that person was crazy! The book was brilliant and I loved it! That is until the last 20 or so pages where the main character droned on and on in a philosophical litany about life. Perhaps the point of it was wasted on me, but I felt the ending ruined what was otherwise a fantastic book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    To Dj

    Hey its sarah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    BARDOOL

    S

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2014

    The Goldfinch elicited in me a very polarizing feeling. On the o

    The Goldfinch elicited in me a very polarizing feeling. On the one hand, the characterization and description were fantastic, but on the other hand, there was simply far too much of it. I enjoyed practically everything about the story, its players, and the setting...but Tartt has only one pace; slooow. Her opening is slow, her middle is slow, and (especially damning) her conclusion is slow. For something that was so wonderfully pieced together, the resolution was filled with too many words and not enough tying of loose ends, although I did enjoy the work's lasting message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Ugh

    People just complain because they're too young to comprehend anything present in the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    Theo Decker is 13 years old when he survives a harrowing inciden

    Theo Decker is 13 years old when he survives a harrowing incident in New York City that claims the life of his mother and leaves him in possession of a world famous painting.  Since his father abandoned he and his mother he stays with the wealthy family of one his friends until his father returns for him and takes him to his new life in Las Vegas.  As Theo ages he's faced with many choices.  Grappling with his longing for his mother, an unfamiliar living situation, and an uncomfortable relationship with his father, Theo spirals into recklessness and heavy drug use.  And throughout it all his constant awareness of the stolen painting and what he should do with it lingers in his mind.




    A coming of age novel that travels with Theo from his teenage years until adulthood, the reader is immediately drawn into Theo's life and is immersed in his quest to understand his new life and adapt to living without his mother.  There is prevalent drug use throughout the novel as well as violence and occasional adult situations.  But this is a book that you won't want to put down as you feel that you are right next to Theo as he navigates the underworld while maintaining relationships with those who have no knowledge of his unsavory associations.




    Winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize for fiction, this novel is intriguing, captivating, disturbing, and melancholy.  If you're looking for an uplifting coming of age novel this is not the novel for you.  But if you want to be entertained and transported to an unfamiliar reality then you should read The Goldfinch as soon as possible.
    Publication date: October 22, 2013
    Genre: Fiction, Contemporary
    Setting: New York, Las Vegas, Europe
    Rating: A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Ericka refuse

    I love this book so much thanck you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Compelling

    Slow in places but a very good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Hg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6