BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Good Carb Cookbook: Secrets of Eating Low on the Glycemic Index

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

My Go To Cookbook

I have had this cookbook for five years and it is the book that I always go back to. I have a healthy eating lifestyle but am not a "dieter" and this is the perfect cookbook for me and my family. The recipes are easy to follow, quick and delicious. Some of my favorite r...
I have had this cookbook for five years and it is the book that I always go back to. I have a healthy eating lifestyle but am not a "dieter" and this is the perfect cookbook for me and my family. The recipes are easy to follow, quick and delicious. Some of my favorite recipes are the classic meatloaf, salmon cakes, dijon chicken, sonoma chicken and mediterranean green beans.

At first I wished the recipes had photos like some of my other cookbooks, but the recipes are easy enough to follow that they are simply not needed. Great for beginners as well.

posted by kobrien on December 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

would not recommend

The book is ok but you can't read the charts on the nook, I would not recommend this book to any that wants to download to their nook.

posted by 4742261 on October 3, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    My Go To Cookbook

    I have had this cookbook for five years and it is the book that I always go back to. I have a healthy eating lifestyle but am not a "dieter" and this is the perfect cookbook for me and my family. The recipes are easy to follow, quick and delicious. Some of my favorite recipes are the classic meatloaf, salmon cakes, dijon chicken, sonoma chicken and mediterranean green beans.

    At first I wished the recipes had photos like some of my other cookbooks, but the recipes are easy enough to follow that they are simply not needed. Great for beginners as well.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    would not recommend

    The book is ok but you can't read the charts on the nook, I would not recommend this book to any that wants to download to their nook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2004

    Good carb rather than low carb...

    This cookbook is good carb rather than low carb so it might have limited application for those on the Atkins diet, especially the Induction phase. But for the rest of us there's lots of healthy recipes, tips on cooking, grocery shopping and dining out, and a good explanation of insulin's role in the body and the concepts of Glycemic Index and Glycemic Load. The author stresses throughout the book the health benefits of consuming less-refined carbs. By choosing carbohydrates closer to their natural forms (as in whole grains, fruits and vegetables) one may avoid the insulin spikes and carb crashes associated with the typical American white flour/sugar diet. Some of the recent books that utilize this moderate-carb approach include SOUTH BEACH, SUGARBUSTERS, SOMERSIZE, SCHWARZBEIN PRINCIPLE and the GLYCEMIC REVOLUTION series. The GOOD CARB COOKBOOK can be a useful adjunct to all of them. I use recipes from this book and the SUGARBUSTERS Quick and Easy Cookbook. Woodruff, the author of several other cookbooks, covers her bases here by making most recipes low-fat as well. There is some use of sugar, honey, fruit juice and the like, so if you want to limit them you could subsitute non-caloric sweeteners, such as NutraSweet for cold foods and Splenda for the cooked dishes. Or you could just cut out the sugar altogether as I did in making the Sourdough French Toast, which with the cinnamon made no difference in the taste, IMO. Some of the ingredients listed are a bit esoteric and a few of the recipes may be too fussy for everyday cooking. But in general this is a well-rounded cookbook, not a fad diet but a healthy lifestyle...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    The Most Useful Cookbook Ever!

    In trying to approach a more healthy lifestyle, I wanted to limit carbs and found out that there are bad carbs & good carbs and I did not have a clue which was which. This book presented the explanation in a clear and easy to understand format. I learned so much! I've only tried a couple of recipes and found them to be great. I loved them and even my picky husband loved them. I look forward to making more of the recipes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Helpful means to healthy eating

    After changing our lifestyle to low glycemic food preparation, this book was very helpful in explaining low glycemic index, reasons for changing from one food choice to another and providing recipes that, for the most part, were simple to follow and prepare. Some of the food items have been a little difficult to find, but health food stores most times can suggest a substitute. I use this book for reference and recipes at least three times per week.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Deeelicious Recipes!

    I've had this cookbook for about two years and it is my absolute favorite. The recipes are easy to make, very tasty, and allow me to live within the restrictions of my diet. However, even when I wasn't on a diet, I loved this cookbook.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Great Recipes!

    I use this book almost daily! It has helped me in so many ways. The recipes are simple and so far every one I have made are really good. This is a wonderful book for anyone interested in healthy cooking!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Easy and Healthy

    This is a great cookbook for people interested in maintaining weight loss or losing weight. The soup recipes, especially, are quick and tasty with common ingredients you probably have in your pantry or refrigerator. The only down side is the muffin recipes and pizza dough. I didn't have satisfactory results with those. Woodruff is a dietician, so she omits salt in her recipes. Add salt and enjoy! One of my favorite and most useful cookbooks.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2004

    Excellent for those on the South Beach diet

    There are tons of 'low carb' cookbooks... but none of them seem to pay attention to the amount of bad fats. This book helps you use the 'good carbs' and 'good fats'. Perfect companion for the South Beach Diet. These foods and recipes fill you up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    great bookbook

    I have made the homemade muesli cereal, parsley new potatoes, green beans with almonds and chicken and pork receipes. My family loves them. We also learned alot about the Glycemic index and how it affects your hunger. The food satisfies your appetite.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2001

    Excellent book!! I highly recommend it!!

    I came across this book by accident. I was looking for something for my diabetic mother and came across this book. I've been on a high protein low carb diet and have been successful in keeping the weight off but I wanted to eat better carbs. I never heard of the glycemic index until reading this book. I feel like the scales have fallen off my eyes and I can see what good eating should consist of. I never thought about sugar levels in my blood. The information is easy to read and understand. The recipes are wonderful and they taste great. So far I have only cooked the Tomato Basil soup, Baked Spaghetti Flourentine, and the Morning Sunshine smoothie. Most if not all of the food recieptes are low on the index scale and not high in fat. I had planned on giving this book to my mom, but forget that! I'll buy her another one. hehe awesome book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2003

    Excellent!! Filled with great recipes

    It can be tough sticking to a low carb diet and books like this one make it a lot easier to do. You can quickly locate delicious recipes to plan your next meal that will help you lose weight. I also highly recommend you check out 'The Power of Positive Habits' which shows you how to lose weight automatically via lifestyle changes! A great combination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Good book

    This is good book has nice recieps in it, easy ones and tasty. The only problem it took 2 weeks to get to me and it was to be 3-4 days. That was a disappointment!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    Excellent choice for 'smart carbs'

    I actually purchased this book right before I found out that I have Gestational Diabetes. I brought it with me to my consult with a nutritionist and she agreed it was a great choice. I originally purchased it because I was trying to eat healthier, and it turns out that I rely on it everyday to keep my blood sugars stable. The recipes are easy and delicious, and I have no problem sticking to my diabetic diet. A must for people who want to be educated about the smart use of good carbs in their diet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2002

    Great cookbook!!!

    ITs about time that we learned the difference between the good carbs & the bad one's. Sandra explains in simple terms the differences and easy ways to implement them in your daily eating plan. This is not a diet book, its a book about well balanced eating and getting back to the good grains, fiber and un-processed foods that our bodies so badly need to function properly!! Get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2002

    Great Recipes!

    All of the recipes are very tasty, and the directions are clear and easy to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2