BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Good Dream

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    I just finished reading The Good Dream and it is an amazing book

    I just finished reading The Good Dream and it is an amazing book. I finished it in one day because I could not put it down. I absolutely love when a book just really transports you back in time, and you feel like you are actually there at that specific moment in time. This book took me back to 1950, to the life of Ivorie Walker, and the little boy who she finds stealing from her garden. Her friends and her family were just awesome, it was a beautiful story, i just absolutely loved it. Its the kind of story that makes you laugh one moment and cry the next. Very powerful. Oh, and a teeny tiny character, hot dot, was just one of my favorites. So funny! But really, i cant single her out because there were so many more who had bit parts and were equally funny. And sorry, i'm giving things away, but at the end, "its so hot my chikens are laying hard boiled eggs"? It made me laugh AND cry because it was such a poignant moment. I would recommend this book to absolutely everyone, it was just really one of the best i have ever read. Thanks, Donna, hope you are working on your next book! Excellent!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    I was fortunate enough to get an advance copy of this novel fr

    I was fortunate enough to get an advance copy of this novel from my friend Donna VanLiere and I devoured it within several days. I used to be strictly a fiction reader and yet I find myself drawn more these days to non-fiction, likely due to the proliferation of hopelessness offered in so much fiction today. I want to find some hope (albeit realistic) in a story, and I want to find characters I can develop some empathy for. Too much modern fiction offers neither.

    Donna is a friend, so it is a delight to see her and meet others she knows in her fiction. She writes with the same southern flavor I find in her home, her day to day sense of humor, and even on her Facebook page. As I completely appreciate Donna's sense of humor, this makes her slice-of-life fictional style quite satisfying to read.

    Donna creates characters at once ornery, compassionate, broken, derisive, helpless, and driven... sounds a lot like my own family members. I appreciate the fact the bad guys are bad - not at all sugar coated. It is as if she has perhaps come face to face with evil during the course of her own life, which of course she has. Some of her villains, too, are merely misguided and wounded souls. Nowhere do we find a protagonist who is flawless. These are all key character development points for me. This is a real story comprised of REAL pain, REAL risk, and REAL redemption.

    I don't want to live in a world that is so dark the light cannot penetrate it, because personally I do not believe such a darkness exists. Neither does Donna VanLiere. The light shines in the darkness, and even if the darkness does not comprehend, it is compromised and truly dark no more. Thus we have here a tale of darkness penetrated by the light and restoration of hope, and that is always going to be a good dream.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    “The difficulty of literature is not to write, but to writ

    “The difficulty of literature is not to write, but to write what you mean; not to affect your reader, but to affect him precisely as you wish.” --Robert Louis Stevenson

    Donna VanLiere is an artist with words. I have to admit I don't read fiction all that often, mostly because it's hard for me to suspend disbelief and stay inside the world the author created. That's why I was surprised (and my wife was astonished) that I entered Donna VanLiere's world in The Good Dream on page 1 and didn't leave until her final word.

    I was on a wonderful cruise to Belize when I opened the book. Needless to say, I missed a full day of the cruise since I became so captured by the book that I didn't stop until I was finished all 320 pages.

    While I probably should have been filling up plates of food at the buffet, I was walking the blistering hot dusty roads of Tennessee in the 1950's, right where VanLiere planned for me to walk...and right beside the characters she planned for me to walk with. (That's much better than a plate of cruise food. Particularly after the mouth-watering references to Ivorie's freshly made apple pies.)

    (Dang. That makes me hungry all over again.)

    To paraphrase Stevenson, she not only affected me, she affected me precisely as she wished.

    VanLiere's dedication to authentic characters and their authentic conversations makes the story's suspenseful "twisty" plot a huge bonus because I could have spent hours just being a "fly on the wall" and "listening in" on the normal conversations of Ivorie and her friends (and foes.)

    My only advice is to get the book on a rainy day from which you want to escape, not on a sun-filled cruise from which you paid to escape to!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    "The Good Dream" is a good read! Background info &nda

    "The Good Dream" is a good read!

    Background info – “The Angels of Morgan Hill” (2006) by Donna VanLiere, set in 1947 Morgan Hill, Tennessee, is currently my favorite book.

    “The Good Dream” (2012) is set in 1950 Morgan Hill, Tennessee, so I was looking forward to reading about some of the beloved characters from the earlier book. Also, I’ve found that I get emotionally attached to Donna VanLiere’s characters more than any other author and expected that to happen again. I was not disappointed in either case in this new book. I do admit that I didn’t think I would like this book about halfway through it. It’s heart-rending to read about child abuse, and there was a romance that was a little boring to me, but I stuck with it and was rewarded with a very satisfying full story. Ivorie Walker is a 30-year old single woman that has the courage to do what’s right by facing pure evil when she learns about the boy raiding her vegetable garden. It’s an old superstition that bottles tied to the branches of a tree are supposed to catch evil spirits that live in the tree and capture them inside the bottles. Ivorie hopes to perform a similar function and dispel evil spirits torturing an innocent soul. A story that shouldn’t be missed!

    Although “The Good Dream” can definitely be read without reading “The Angels of Morgan Hill”, I would suggest reading the earlier book first as an introduction to some of the characters and their story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2014

    Wonderful

    Oh how I loved this book. I wasn't ready for it to end. Beautiful story. Looking forward to more from the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Great Read to the very end

    Loved this book - had to finish it in one day. Liked everything about it - style of writing - story - held my attention all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Heart-tugging. The author managed to make me cry and laugh at t

    Heart-tugging.

    The author managed to make me cry and laugh at the same time. Great story and wonderful characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    The Good Dream

    Excellent book! One of the best I have read in a long time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Great book, highly recommend it!

    Great book, highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Great book

    Wonderful story..great characters..uplifting..could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    It is a lovely story about two lonely people finding each other:

    It is a lovely story about two lonely people finding each other: An "old maid", who didn't really need anyone until her mother passed away and a seven year old boy, who is badly abused. She finds him stealing from her garden, finds out about the abuse and then rescues him. She faces problems- putting her relationship with a man in jeopardy, people scoffing her, and a person who seems to not want her to find out who the boy is. It is heartwarming, heartbreaking, and incredibly beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    Great Book!! Recommend highly!! Great story line and characters.

    Great Book!! Recommend highly!! Great story line and characters. Donna always writes the best stories:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Now one of my favorites

    Beautiful yet heartbreaking. Laugh out loud Southern humor yet serious. This story was unlike anything I have read for so long and I would highly recommend it to anyone. I am fifteen and know my friends would fall in love with this book—yet I also know anyone from my fiftysome year old piano teacher to my grandpa would love this incredible story as well. Ivorie Walker's simple yet heartwarming compassion was amazing and the deep love she had for a little boy with a cleft palate who could barely even make a noise was so neat to watch as the story developed and soared! Please consider reading this inspirational story that will leave you smiling—it's more than a feel good book—and you will realize what I mean. The story of a small town that came together for a little boy. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Loved this book

    I bought this book because of the front cover illustration. Something I never do but because I have a bottle tree in my garden was simply drawn to it.

    What a wonderful story followed. The derermination and courage of the main charecters, the flaws that came to light as the story unfolded, the tears, the hurt and sadness but in the end the joy.

    Do read this book you will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    Author Donna VanLiere certainly doesn't disappoint her fans with

    Author Donna VanLiere certainly doesn't disappoint her fans with her first full-length novel. This book stirs the emotions,
    warms the heart and challenges the mind. She places such characters as Ivorie Walker, an old maid stated by many in the
    town because she is in her thirties and not married. Then there is George Coley who wants to marry Ivorie but when she finds
    a starving, abused boy raiding her garden that she wants to help, he decides that isn't the life for him. This little boy
    has been abused, neglected, scared and unable to speak because of a cleft palette. Ivorie can't turn her back on him, even though
    most of the town would quickly say it is too much for a single lady like herself to ever get involved in.
    Ivorie's brother Henry and his wife quickly aid Ivorie in her endeavor to help this little boy who after much time she learns
    is named Peter. She tells the little boy that his mother must have named him that because according to the Bible Peter means
    a rock and he is one strong and determined little boy.
    It is amazing what a person can see through the eyes of a young little boy. Because Ivorie isn't willing to give up on this young lad, she is blessed in return by finding a young man who is smart, loving, engaging, desires to learn and responds with great affection.
    This book challenges the reader to not just look at people in passing rather to look deeper within ones heart to see who they truly are and more importantly who they can become. It may make the reader ask some pointed questions, such as: the one who is mean spirited, the hard to get along with, the screamer or hurtful person could be someone who has encountered a great deal within their own life and they aren't sure of how to respond to life's challenges? Peter challenges the reader to make sure how we respond to others is how we would like others to respond to us. Ivorie shares the love and compassion of Jesus as she reaches out to Peter to make a difference within his life.
    There is suspense, drama, action, romance, and laughter to engage the reader as they turn page by page to find out what will
    happen next. The author does a great job of leading the reader through one situation to the next always building and causing
    the reader to want more.
    This is a definite 5 of 5 book, that most any reader would enjoy and certainly one that leaves the reader feeling involved in the
    story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    The Good Dream is not only an incredible story, but is full of d

    The Good Dream is not only an incredible story, but is full of depth and substance. The characters are colorful and distinct, and though the story takes you on a journey with its ups and downs, you take away from this book many lessons. This book is not predictable; with only a few pages left to read, i was unsure as to how this book would wrap up. I never like to finish a book, especially a novel, because i'm usually disappointed, or feel I could have placed a better bow on the package. The Good Dream, was pleasantly different. My husband had read the book a few weeks prior, and after i finished we enjoyed talking about it, the characters, the story with its twists, and our take-aways which led to a very interesting discussion. Thank you Donna, for penning a great novel well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    A wonderful read, full of roller coaster emotions throughout!

    I was honored to preview Donna VanLiere's book "The Good Dream". The story takes place in an era that I grew up in, though not in Tennessee. It took me back in time to my Mississippi roots and childhood beliefs, but resurrected the biases of that era. It hurt sometimes to relive the negatives that were considered normal behavior at the time, but Donna offset those with the spiritual good in people, that was often repressed for fear of retribution. An interesting writing style was used to convey each person's viewpoint in the form of a chapter title. If you loved Donna's Christmas books, this is a must read! Her empathy and pathos in her writing still flourishes, and, most assuredly, will bring a tear to your eye many times!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Received an advanced copy - wonderful book - a must buy and read

    I received The Good Dream as an advanced copy and was it every worth waiting for. The story line will make you laugh, cry, and everything inbetween. Did not want to put it down when I started reading it. Finished it in 2 evenings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    The Good Dream by Donna Vanliere will not be forgotten and I sur

    The Good Dream by Donna Vanliere will not be forgotten and I sure hope it goes up to the #1 Bestseller list. Book takes place in the 50's and we all know times were different back that and small town people were nosy! Ivorie the main character has just delt with the death of her parents and is considered by towns people to be an old maid even thou she is only in her early 30's. After they pass Ivorie and one of the locals realize they like each other so George begins to kind of court Ivorie but during this time Ivorie and her dog sally go out to the garden daily and realized that some veggies are going missing peas right out of the pod among other veggies so she sets a trap and finds it is not an animal but a young boy that has come over the mountain and is starving. The evil man that has him let his mama die and then has tortured this poor kid more than any child should ever have to endure! after the boy comes so many times he stops and after Ivorie talks to the towns people she realizes how bad the mountain man must be so she takes her brothers mule and goes for the boy! Well after that I dont want to give more away but it will make you cry, laugh, tick you off b/c you could beat the tar out of this man and so on.....Donna just pulls you in with the characters and the town and you can imagine yourself there. I would compare her in the same path as Cathy Lamb and Marie Bostwick. Just books you think after you are done that man that was an awesome book and good and bad happens every day and you close the book and you just have this feeling about you that you were darn glad you didnt miss reading that book! I was on Donna's dream team which meant i promised to get the word out on her book, do face book posts, mail out postcards and book markers etc and of course read the book and review it before or shortly after it came out and due to health issues I am a bit late, sorry donna but i did all the other stuff too.! I am so thankful to be on her team she sent me a advance readers addition and signed it! this book will never leave my home however reading it my hand must have been on the oover too much and the L and 5/12 rubbed off :(. wah. BUY IT, READ IT, REVIEW IT TELL OTHERS HOW GREAT IT WAS. 5* Donna you deserve it on this one girlfriend!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    I have always enjoyed Donna VanLiere's books, but this is absolu

    I have always enjoyed Donna VanLiere's books, but this is absolutely amazing. A tender story of courage and doing the right thing. When I go to the book stores, all I see are crime novels--the darker side of humanity. The Good Dream, however, shows us what all of us are capable of.

    I have told everyone I know about this amazing story and how it touched my heart.

    Thank you, Donna.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4