Customer Reviews for

The Good Father

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 3, 2012

    Realistic, suspensful, gritty and heart touching. Perfect combin

    Realistic, suspensful, gritty and heart touching. Perfect combination for a wonderful read that you will fly through! Could not put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Good father

    Diane chamberlain has yet to write a a book thats not to love

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    :)

    :) another tear jerker!!!! I love diane chamberlains books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Order today!!!

    The prologue steals your heart with the introduction of a 4 year old little girl, Bella, in which the other main characters are brought into the story line and come to life. There is so much to this book, and I apologize for being vague at times, but I do not want to include spoilers. There was suspense, relationship dynamics, betrayals, grief, guilt, desperation, good, evil, secrets, lies, friendships, innocence, terror, blame, and above all a parent's unconditional love. The author writes in such a way that is so brilliant, detailed and descriptive, what I call a "transport" read, where I was so engrossed that I actually felt that I was part of the story and could create such realistic imagery of the entire book. Each chapter alternates and is told through the perspective of 3 main characters, which made this reader want to read ahead to find out the outcome of the previous chapter's situation the author leaves you with. It was a page turning read. I could not put this book down and read it in 2 days. This is a book that will stay with you long after reading the last word. A powerful, compelling, heartfelt, and passionate read. Highly recommend, matter of fact, preorder it!!
    Rating: 5+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Highly Recommended-another Diane Chamberlain must read

    This book was what I have come to expect from a Diane Chamberlain story. Her characters are true to life and it is very easy to think of them as someone you know. As I got into the story I found it harder and harder to put down. What was going to happen to Travis and his daughter? If you have not read this author The Good Father is a good place to start. Then you will want to read all of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Good Father - Phenomenal Emotional Roller Coaster Prior

    The Good Father - Phenomenal Emotional Roller Coaster




    Prior to reading The Good Father, the only other Diane Chamberlain book that I had read was The Midwife's Confession.  It was such a good read, that I automatically went to my TBR pile to find another book and decided on The Good Father.  I was not disappointed by this book either!




    Diane Chamberlain does such a good job writing about matters of the heart and she really knows how to pull at every little heart string that you have!  This is one of those author's that it doesn't seem to matter what book of hers it is that you're reading, but you can't help but compulsively read until you've finished the entire book in as few sittings as possible.   




    I find Chamberlain's characters to be so inviting and welcoming, that I can't help but devour every single part of their lives, with The Good Father being no exception!  I just had to continue to read about precious Bella and what happened with her life!  I couldn't help but feel like I was involved in their lives, and I actually found myself worrying about how Travis was going to clear everything up and if Bella was going to be alright!  Ultimately, even though Travis made some bone-head choices that weren't the best for his daughter, at the time, he was only doing what he thought was right for that, and you have to admire that about a young, single father!




    The plot of The Good Father was more original that any other book that I have read!  I enjoyed all the different aspects of the plot, from the relationship of a father and daughter, to strangers who happen to have a chance meeting, and how those chance meetings can affect our lives, both for the good and bad.  I appreciate that Chamberlain's writing really makes the reader sit down and think about consequences, and how we have them for every decision that we make, good and bad!  I loved the depth of thought that I got into while I was reading The Good Father and the different emotions that I felt throughout the entire book, which was definitely a roller coaster feeling!




    Overall, I find that I want to read more of Diane Chamberlain and continue to be amazed at the emotional experiences that her books lead me on!  I would like to compare her writing to the likes of Jodi Picoult, even though she has her own stamp on writing, which I appreciate!  This definitely won't be the last book that I read from her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Great read

    Very well written. One of the best stories I have read in a while. Very compelling realistic suspensful-this book has everything. This is the first book I read by this author, can't wait to read more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Diane Chamberlain books are more than just a read, they are an e

    Diane Chamberlain books are more than just a read, they are an emotional experience.  She has a unique ability to write material that affects you deeply, giving you characters that are easy to love.  She uses subject matter that pushes the limits of your own comfort and causes you to ask yourself just how far you’d go, if the situation were your own.  This book did just that.




    The characters that the author has created are complex, raw and real.  They all have their own personal demons to face, pasts that they are constantly reminded of, and internal conflicts that we, as readers can at some point relate to on a very deep level.  The character that the story centers on, Travis is an incredibly likeable guy.  He would move Heaven and Earth for his little girl, Bella, and he’s traded in his immaturity and youth for the responsibility of raising a child.  It’s a beautiful scenario, set up wonderfully.  So when everything falls apart for him, it’s difficult not to tear up, and feel his desperation.  And when he’s faced with an extremely difficult choice, it’s impossible not to feel torn, just as he does.




    This story is a true testament of the extreme lengths so many of us would go to protect those that we love and hold dear.  There is no greater love in the world than that of a self-sacrificing love between a parent and their child, and this book brings such an instance to life with a beautiful story that is touching, emotional, and deep.  If you’ve not read anything by Diane Chamberlain, I would recommend this as a great introduction, as it’s exactly why I love reading anything she writes.




    Reviewed by Marie for Cocktails and Books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Amazing book

    I couldnt put it down. Really good book. LOVED IT!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Diane Chamberlain is a wonderful writer I have read everyone one of her books Excellent storys. Can't say enough about them I share them with my daughter and friends at work. Read her work if you have a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Excellent read

    This book was excellent and I would definitely recommend it. The reader can't help but sympathize with the main character who wouyld do anything to financially support his daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    I absolutely loved this book!!! (NOOK)

    I absolutely loved this book!!! (NOOK) and did not want it to end (difficult, since I could not put it down)! Inspiring, this book was centered in seaside NC (native) with three main strong and loveable characters, each with struggles of their own with personal growth, healing, and lessons to be learned. The plot planning and writing style were excellent—with tensions building throughout the book. You felt connected to each of the main characters – how desperation drives actions, choices, and outcomes. It was like fate at the coffee house---each person was there for the other.

    I fell in love with all the characters; however, the strongest personality was Erin with raw and emotional feelings. Travis was an excellent father to Bella, even though at times you had to second guess his choices (even though he was acting out of desperation), and Robin a victim men controlling her life- teaching her to avoid conflict, having missed the joy of love and motherhood (who came through in the end like a champ). The Good Father is definitely movie worthy, or possibly a sequel. I look forward to reading more from Diane Chamberlain—highly recommend! An excellent discussion guide and ideal for book clubs—belongs on the best seller list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Loved it

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Thought provoking. This was a highly thought provoking read, ce

    Thought provoking.

    This was a highly thought provoking read, centred around the question of what really constitutes a 'good father'. Yes, he'd have to be loving, caring, thoughtful etc, but how far should he go for his child - should he commit crime to keep her fed and watered?

    I was gripped from the first page of this book, which was expertly narrated by the three main characters: Travis, Bella's father, Robin, her mother, and Erin, recently bereaved of her own young daughter, but who is drawn to the waif-like child.
    The characters and their backgrounds are gradually revealed as we read and I'm hesitant to give too much away here for fear of spoiling your enjoyment. I think it was this gradual insight into the characters' backgrounds and the subsequent events that made the book such an excellent read.

    Bella is just six and has been raised by her teenage father with the help of his mother. She has never met her mother. Travis has managed to make ends meet and provide for Bella and his mother with his carpentry and building skills. Then the recession hits the building trade and work becomes harder to find. On top of this, tragedy strikes and Travis has to make some very difficult decisions in order to keep Bella from being taken by the authorities.
    Erin, having lost her own daughter, is struggling to lead a normal life. The heavy blanket of grief that she carries with her is momentarliy lifted when Bella comes into the coffee house where she is checking her e mails, and goes into the bathroom with her father to wash and clean her teeth. Gradually their paths become more and more entwined and Erin's decisions become pivotal to the story.
    Although Bella's mother, Robin, gave her daughter up at birth, she had good reason. As she makes a new life for herself, thoughts of the baby that she never knew begin to creep up on her. All she knows is that the child is baing raised by Travis.

    This is only the second book by Diane Chamberlain that I've read but both books were five star reads. Definitely an author that I will choose in the future.
    This would be an excellent book for a book group discussion. Highly recommended to all readers with a concience.

    Also read:
    The Lost Daughter - 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Not her best

    I am a big Diane Chamberlain fan, but this was not up to her usual standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Dylan

    Yes i would like milk bread and dippers please

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2