BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Good House: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely terrific!

I hate overused exclamation points but I had to use one in my headline. This novel is a must read. Ms. Leary is a wonderful writer. There is not one "extra" word in this book and I mean that in a good way. She gets to the point without rambling on but at the same time p...
I hate overused exclamation points but I had to use one in my headline. This novel is a must read. Ms. Leary is a wonderful writer. There is not one "extra" word in this book and I mean that in a good way. She gets to the point without rambling on but at the same time paints a vivid picture of every scene. There are laugh out loud moments and pathetically human ones. Hildy is such a complex character and Ms. Leary brings her to life on every page. I predict that when this year is over The Good House will be on the "best fiction of 2013" lists.

posted by KiwiJR on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Funny but sad

There are moments in which you laugh out loud, but ultimately it is a sad yet unlifting tale.

posted by elbell on February 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Absolutely terrific!

    I hate overused exclamation points but I had to use one in my headline. This novel is a must read. Ms. Leary is a wonderful writer. There is not one "extra" word in this book and I mean that in a good way. She gets to the point without rambling on but at the same time paints a vivid picture of every scene. There are laugh out loud moments and pathetically human ones. Hildy is such a complex character and Ms. Leary brings her to life on every page. I predict that when this year is over The Good House will be on the "best fiction of 2013" lists.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Ann Leary is a wonderful author who really brings all the characters in this book to life. The book is funny, thoughtful, and sometimes sad, but most of all entertaining.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Loved it!

    Wonderful book, so entertaining and fun. A great book to get lost in. A wonderful read for all those fellow real estate brokers.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Ann Leary is a great writer, and this book hooked me from the beginning. It does not move super quickly, but it is a fast and entertaining read. Loved it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Good read

    This was a really good book. I don't usually spend this much but it was worth it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Engrossing.....you shoujld read this one!!

    I thoroughly enjoyed Leary's last book; the characters were very real, the situations extremely plausible. Small town feel as she explored the different people & their lives. The main character is one you will like, then dislike; she is not lovable, but is real, and anyonie who ever battled alcoholism, or has a loved one who has, will identify with her struggles & reasoning.
    I really like Ann Leary's style of writing; easy to read, interesting, and most of all, REAL!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    A Great Read!

    Welcome to small town New England and all that comes with it.......wealth, gossip, and Hildy Good. Hildy is the town real estate broker and knows most of what goes on behind the closed doors of everyone's home, but no one knows what she is hiding behind her own. Follow her as she befriends the newest member of town, falls back in love with the town eccentric, and struggles to realize her own problems. This town becomes your town and the characters your neighbors. You are thrust into the throes of their extramarital affairs, financial struggles, and issues with alcohol. Yet, you still love them all in the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    The Good House

    This is the first Ann Leary book I have read. It will not be my last. I was doubtful about it at first, but I enjoyed it more and more as I went on. This is such a well written book that it soon had me involved in the story and the characters lives. I was sorry to see it end.

    Whether you are struggling with an addicfion or mental illness or not, you will enrich yourself by reading this book.

    Iwill be reading more of Ann Leary soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Fun if you're from Boston, but maybe not so much if you hail from other parts

    OK: I read this immediately after finishing GONE GIRL, by Gillian Flynn, which is probably a tad unfair to Ann Leary. Flynn's use of language, the sheer courage of the Gone Girl format and plot, are formidable and addictive. Reading Leary's novel felt like a let-down.
    However, being from the north shore of Massachusetts, the setting of THE GOOD HOUSE is a kick (personally, I think the town is Wenham, with some bits of Hamilton thrown in to cover the horsey set). The descriptions of the working guys - especially Frankie -- ring especially true.
    Hildy is a character to neither love nor hate. Dare we say she's "meh"? The subplot revolving around a family with an autistic son, while good relief from HIldy's woes, is thin, even as it wraps up (no spoiler alert here!). However, the book hits its stride in two particular "episodes": the lobster boat expedition with Hildy on board, and a wonderfully suspenseful interplay between Hildy and Peter, the local psychiatrist, in Hildy's kitchen. Is Peter a sinister threat, or are we truly in Hildy's alcohol-addled brain?
    It was the NY Times interview with Ann Leary that inspired me to add THE GOOD HOUSE to my Nook. What i'd much prefer to read is a memoir of Ann Leary's own life and struggle with alcoholism.
    If you're in the mood for something with a Boston-y mood, try this. Better yet, pair it with a Jesse Stone novel by Robert Parker. You'll be running up to Marblehead, Salem
    and points north for a taste of the real thing!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    This was a fun book, an easy read. I enjoyed watching the charac

    This was a fun book, an easy read. I enjoyed watching the character, an alcoholic, hide her condition, lie about her drinking, pretend it wasn't so, blame others, and eventually learn a lot about herself because of her alcoholism. I also enjoyed the small town story of this once quiet out of the way town where generations grew up turning into the beach front enclave of the rich and entitled. The main character's role as a long time realtor in the town allowed for insights and gossip and behind the scenes behaviors that were fun to watch. Adultery, emotional illness, the new rich vs. the old locals, love at any cost, suicide, friendship despite difficulty. There are lots of themes wound together via this character and her relationships.It's not too deep, but it was a great beach read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Funny but sad

    There are moments in which you laugh out loud, but ultimately it is a sad yet unlifting tale.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I've read in ages.

    One of the best books I've read in ages.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Went to Ann's reading @ RJ Julia bookstore. She is witty & c

    Went to Ann's reading @ RJ Julia bookstore. She is witty & charming & honest. The book is a wonderful read >

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Good character-driven read

    I lived this look at small town drama, fun-to-trouble alcohol use, and real estate adventures in New England. I very much appreciated getting a middle-aged woman's perspective on work, love, family/friends, community ties, drinking, and 'alone-time.' While I am not very interested in all the horse-show details, I would love to see more work from Leary, especially if she adds to the grown-woman genre. Leary is quite talented at weaving together stories from the past in order to flesh out the characters' histories in perfect relevance to and timing with the present narrative.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    An easy, enjoyable read

    I found myself racing through this book because I really cared about what happened to the characters. I think that's where Ann Leary excelled- in character development. I felt the ending was a little abrupt, but all in all I would recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    LOVED this book!

    This book grabbed a hold of me right from the start. The main character (Hildy) is so complex that she kept me wanting to learn more about her and her disease (or non disease).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Good

    This was good although a little disorienting to follow the timeline. Jumped around a bit without cause making you struggle to figure out where you were in the story. Overall, good characters and good plot, just pay attention :-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    The first half of this book is pretty good, but then the author

    The first half of this book is pretty good, but then the author suddenly goes crazy and has her characters running around doing things for no reason. This really blew.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Sabrina's room

    Has yet to be designed -,-

    1 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    America

    Strolls in. O.e

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6