Customer Reviews for

The Good Housekeeping Cookbook: 1,275 Recipes from America's Favorite Test Kitchen

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I am in love with this cookbook

I've been hesitant to download cookbooks to my Nook--I like the idea of eCookbooks, but haven't found one that I thought was worth the purchase price. Some bad experiences with "The Good Housekeeping Seal of Approval" aside, I trust the Good Housekeeping name, especial...
I've been hesitant to download cookbooks to my Nook--I like the idea of eCookbooks, but haven't found one that I thought was worth the purchase price. Some bad experiences with "The Good Housekeeping Seal of Approval" aside, I trust the Good Housekeeping name, especially when it comes to recipes, so, I broke down and spent the money on it.

That being said, I LOVE this cookbook. The recipes are well explained, and there is an extended glossary. (granted, I'm an experenced enough cook that I don't NEED the extended glossary, but I think it's a sign of a good cookbook when they explain terms like braise and blanch.)

Minus one star because the navigation leaves something to be desired, but that's as much a problem of the Nook as it is with the book (I'd love to be able to put notes with my bookmarks, for instance) and there are several charts that are too small to see on my screen, and can't be zoomed in on.

I may have spent more time reading The Good Housekeeping Cookbook than the last novel I bought, and my family is more than a little concerned about the menu I have planned for Christmas dinner--rhere are just so many interesting and delicious looking recipies that I'm dying to try. And so far, every recipe from this book that I've made has more than exceeded my expectation.

posted by Cordillia on December 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not enough photos!!!

There are not nearly enough photos.

posted by 9542925 on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    I am in love with this cookbook

    I've been hesitant to download cookbooks to my Nook--I like the idea of eCookbooks, but haven't found one that I thought was worth the purchase price. Some bad experiences with "The Good Housekeeping Seal of Approval" aside, I trust the Good Housekeeping name, especially when it comes to recipes, so, I broke down and spent the money on it.

    That being said, I LOVE this cookbook. The recipes are well explained, and there is an extended glossary. (granted, I'm an experenced enough cook that I don't NEED the extended glossary, but I think it's a sign of a good cookbook when they explain terms like braise and blanch.)

    Minus one star because the navigation leaves something to be desired, but that's as much a problem of the Nook as it is with the book (I'd love to be able to put notes with my bookmarks, for instance) and there are several charts that are too small to see on my screen, and can't be zoomed in on.

    I may have spent more time reading The Good Housekeeping Cookbook than the last novel I bought, and my family is more than a little concerned about the menu I have planned for Christmas dinner--rhere are just so many interesting and delicious looking recipies that I'm dying to try. And so far, every recipe from this book that I've made has more than exceeded my expectation.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    love all the pictures

    i love how easy this cook book is to use and all the pictures.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Not enough photos!!!

    There are not nearly enough photos.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    So handy!

    Love this cookbook! Love it on the nook! Good recipes, good advice, easy to use!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    Gross

    Don't make the pancakes

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Wow$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$%$

    Cost too much

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    D

    Such a waste of money...dont buy!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Fantastic

    We love the Creamy potato salad!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Best+of+the+best

    This+cookbook+is+amaazing

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Mmmmmm

    I have no words..

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Awsom

    I just found out how to delet this from our home page.all you have to do is hold down your finger on this book then select take off of home page!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    Cool

    This is a cool book i like the 1with th video

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    Bad

    Bad

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Moroccan vegetable stew

    So so, family was not crazy about it. Also used whole wheat couscous, would have been better with regular.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    So gross

    I dont like it at all

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    EvhdSdde

    Hdbdnen

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    AnadqePq

    as Asqp
    qpQQPX!Qqt
    Re
    Alaalqg
    Jlqpq

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Excellent book

    I used so many recipes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Vxdafggf

    Xxxbf ghhvfggf c ddfgt

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3