Customer Reviews for

The Good Lord Bird

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    Devoured!

    I could not put this book down. I was fortunate enough to snag an advanced copy and was hooked by page one! James McBride has a wonderful voice for this narrative. I have never read a historical novel so fresh and just downright interesting. The gender conflicts woven into the story gives a historical era a slight modern twist but it's still believable.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Good, funny read!

    I started laughing from the moment I opened the book and started reading. Even though the events depicted (centering around John Brown and his unsuccessful raid on Harpers Ferry) brought hardship and pain to the various characters, the interchanges between the narrator, a young black boy thrust into an undesired role, and those he encounters on his travels (some of whom were actual historical figures, such as Harriet Tubman and Frederick Douglass) led to unexpectedly offbeat predicaments. I think author McBride found a unique voice to present his tale, and it worked wonders for me. I thoroughly enjoyed the book from start to finish, had a few laughs while reading it, and learned some details about the attack on Harpers Ferry in the process.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When is the movie coming out??

    --And the person I'd like to recommend for the job is none other than the crazy 2000 yr. old producer/director of stage and film, Mr. Mel Brooks, whose bizarre sense of life and humanity is, in my mind, the only person capable of doing total justice to author McBride's equally bizarre, ironic, FANTASTICALLY FUNNY book! Most of us, I believe, were introduced to the odd-ball, rather scary, John Brown -- intransigent anti-slavery abolitionist of pre-civil war times -- by high school history teachers, but not with any compassion or warmth! When I was done reading McBride's brilliantly humorous version of the bewildering Brown and the equally strange people he consorted with during those long ago times, I almost wished he was still alive so I could step up shake his grubby, ugly old hand!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Loved this book! Felt a bit like Mark Twain reincarnated as I ch

    Loved this book! Felt a bit like Mark Twain reincarnated as I chuckled, bristled, sneered, cheered, and got downright angry at times.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Fireowl bio

    Name fireowl

    Kind of owl snowy

    How old almost nine

    How good at battleing super good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Garnet's Bio (locked out of other result)

    Name: Garnet<br>
    Gender: &female<br>
    Age: 16<br>
    Power: Very complicated. Garnet is a jewel, one of the ten imortal jewels. She is able to create plasma balls and beams/rays, like all jewel powers, but she has a specialty. She can can create force feilds and random blocks like stepping stones that can float. She also has a super sence, which allows her to concentrate in one specific thing at a time and find it where ever it is, and bring it to her. If all of the ten jewels come together, they can create a super power that is strong enough to destroy the universe in 3 seconds.<br>
    Looks: purple eyes and a matching purple streak in her dark brown hair. Light skin, slightly tanned, and great figure.<br>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    Highly Recommend this Book

    This is a good book to read. A great book on Fiction and very interesting.

    William B. Turner
    Author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Terrific

    Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Princess Artemis of Olympus

    A firl in a silver dress with a pet wolf walks in.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Great read!

    Great read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    NONONON NO CATS HERE

    CREVICE CLAN TERRITORY

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Cole

    Walks in and sighs. "This life is better..."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Highly reccomended

    Period book with a comical view into the lenghts slaves would require to maintain their freedom during the time before John Brown's attack on Harper Ferry. Situational darma wiughsth laugh out loud opportutnties!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Misty to the athor of Cinderpelts hope.

    Join a wighring chat page at 'wrighting world' res TWO.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Cinderpelts Hope (proluge)

    (Hello everyone. I thought Cinderpelt deserved a story after being hit on the thunderpath. Yellowfang has one and Leafpools will come out soon. So here is a story for Cinderpelt. BTW: The prologe takes place at a difrant time in the story. So when you read this and Chapter one is a difrant time dont worry.) <p>

    Cinderpaw was running through the forest. Fireheart had told her to stay at camp while he got catnip and told Tigerclaw that Bluestar was to ill to see edvidence of Shadowclan hunting in their teritory. "But i could tell Tigerclaw that Bluestar cant come while you get the catnip." She had said to Fireheart ,the once kittypet now warrior who was also her mentor. She new that Fireheart went to get catnip it would take to long to get the message to the Thunderclan Deputy. After Fireheart left thinking she was safe in her nest she sliped away and was now going to meet Tigerclaw by the burned Ash tree. Cinderpaw finely made it there. 'Wheres Tigerclaw?' She thought. She tried calling his name but he didnt reply. 'Mabey hes on the thunderpath.' She took a step on the large black path that monsters went by on. She paced on looking for Tigerclaw. She called his name once more before shaking her self because of the vold. 'Where is he.' She thought. "Tigerclaw!!!" She meowed. She was turning back when she heard a loud growl. She turned around to see a monster before feeling so much pain and she blacked out. (I hope you all like it. Please rate it)

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    Stor contest writers!!!

    Ready...set...WRITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



    REMEMBER, KEEP IT APPROPIATE, NOT TO VIOLENT, AND MAKE IT GOOD!!!!!!!!




    THEJUDGEON19TH

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2