Customer Reviews for

The Gourmet Cookbook: More than 1000 recipes

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    This is my favorite cookbook, and I have a lot. I've used it doz

    This is my favorite cookbook, and I have a lot. I've used it dozens (if not hundreds) of times and never even noticed any issue with the colors or typeset. And while it would be lovely if there were photos, most cookbooks this size don't have any, so I wasn't surprised. The recipes are generally easy to follow without photographic help. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    I have the hard cover, both books and they are an invaluable add

    I have the hard cover, both books and they are an invaluable addition to my cookbook library. I hope they soon come out with both on the nook too....I used to subscribe to the magazine before they stopped publishing it. I miss it dearly...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Fabulous book, full of amazing recipes which worked very well for my Thanksgiving feast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    One of my favorites!

    I collect cookbooks and have about 200. This is one of my very favorites. I've yet to make anything from it that wasn't at least darned good, and most of the recipes have been just plain excellent. This has become my "go-to" cookbook whenever I'm looking for something new to try.
    I haven't had a problem at all with the yellow typeface, and neither has my 73-year-old mother, who has cooked from it in my kitchen with me.
    And honestly, I found it somewhat laughable that people are complaining about the lack of pictures in the book. Since when do cookbooks have to have pictures in order to be great cookbooks? This is definitely not a cookbook for a beginning cook, nor was it meant to be. (Hence the "Gourmet" in the title, as well as the reputation of the magazine that produced it.) But for someone with a little experience in the kitchen, it's fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2010

    Lots of Great Recipes - Love the DVD

    Great for mid-level to more experienced cooks. This book provides a number of recipes for inspiration. I've had this for at least three years and have not yet had any recipe less than 4 of 5 stars. Most are 5 stars.

    The DVD is an added plus. Demonstrates simple techniques that can help spell success (as with making risotto).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Every recipe we tried has been nothing but a success.

    Every recipe we tried has been nothing but a success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    The Book

    My friends and I refer to it as "The Book". It has never failed me or them. Everything I have made from "The Book" has been wonderful. We use it almost weekly and have many favorites. It is a must have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2007

    By Far The Best Cookbook

    I have had this cookbook for years and use it weekly. Every recipe (save the cold cucumber soup) is amazing. Each time I prepare a recipe, whatever it might be, I am told that it is the best (of whatever) the person has ever had. Clear instructions and amazing results.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Encyclopedia Style

    This book is what it claims to be--the very best from Gourmet Magazine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2005

    Extremely satisfied

    I bought this book for myself last year for Christmas! I have used the book throughout the year and have made approximately 40 recipes. All have been hugely successful. I just ordered the book for a gift for my sister for this Christmas! Many people have complained about the yellow printing in these reviews about Ruth Reichl's 'Gourmet.' I, too, have found it a bit cumbersome. For me, the content far outweighs any problematic printing. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    Great Cookbook and Reference

    I didn't find the yellow type hard to read at all. I sat down and read it from cover to cover first and now use it as a regular cookbook. It IS like a textbook in that provides a wealth of info. If you need pictures for inspiration than this is not the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2005

    I also returned the book.

    I found the yellow type face to be illegible and it is used on every page throughout the book. It is impossible to scan pages for headings, recipe titles, or the like. I also found the page layout to be very heavy and wordy, making the book appear more a textbook that a work for creative enjoyment. I have excellent reference cookbooks, so I'm choosy about what I purchase. This one needs some revision in style to make it worth the purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2004

    the perfect cookbook

    No, there aren't any pictures, and yes, the yellow typeface is awful (although supposedly supposed to be fixed on the next print run), but this cookbook covers it all, and the recipes are incredible. I also love the fact they tell you how long it will take you to make the recipes--invaluable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    I like it a lot

    I like the recipes and quiet happy with this one. Yes, perhaps it would be easier to read if they change the font color, but the information in this book is incredible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2004

    total lack of imagination, nothing like the magazine

    I recently purchased this book for my sister online and I'm really dissapointed with what I received. It has recipe after recipe, with the titles in yellow lettering that are difficult to read. There isn't one picture in the entire book,leaving you uninspired to cook any of the recipes because you can't see what they are supposed to look like.The most expensive part of the book is the cover, which is quite pretty and since it's all you see online it leads you to believe that the inside is probably even better. I expected something much better from Gourmet Magazine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2004

    Could have been better.....

    Lots to read; needs more help with typeset and printing! Small, with unusual colors of typeset doesn't do much for these boomer eyes. Some good recipes, but average cookbook...... \Way too much$$$$ for what you get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    wheres the illustrations

    was hoping for a high calibre cookbook .was described as with illustrations . with a title by gourmet 60 years in the making was bewildered why there are only stencil drawrings and no photos to complement what would have been the best cookbook ever published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    It has the Charm of a Telephone Directory...

    and reads like one too, with page after page of copy unrelieved by nary a photo...talk about doing a book on the cheap! The release of this volume was obviously intended to coincide with the upcoming holidays; if the title appears on the wish list of someone you will be buying for, make certain they have seen the book, and are positive this is the one they want...otherwise you'll both end up making rude remarks about the jolly old elf in the red suit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2004

    The pH of maple syrup is 6.5 to 7.0

    One wonders if the bread and butter pickles made in this book with maple syrup instead of sugar has been tested for pH? While sugar does not impact the pH of canned pickles, maple syrup does.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2004

    Recipe Names Unreadable

    I was so disappointed in the book. While the recipes may be classics, the names of the recipes are unreadable. The decision to write the names in yellow ink was a poor one. I returned the book, two days after I purchased it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2