Customer Reviews for

The Governess Affair (Brothers Sinister Novella)

Average Rating 4
( 198 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Such a wonderful, well-written story. Can't recommend highly eno

Such a wonderful, well-written story. Can't recommend highly enough. The pins, you guys. THE PINS. Worth reading for that scene alone.

posted by Ibrium on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice but not great

It was different from your typical hustorical romance. I liked that. The story of the "working" class not just the gentry. I look forward to the brothers stories.

posted by JLLo on May 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Mamasaint60

    This is OK. Well written, but nothing to write home about. The sex scene makes it 18+. JS

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Nice but not great

    It was different from your typical hustorical romance. I liked that. The story of the "working" class not just the gentry. I look forward to the brothers stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Can't it it to download.

    I would like to rate this but when I click on it . It says that it is not available. Can you tell me why?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    Interesting background story for one of the main characters in the Brothers Sinister Series

    Interesting back story about one of the Brothers Sinister. While it is a short story I would have liked just a little more character development but overall a very entertaining story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Okay

    I just have one thing to say...well ask really: Why wasn't Serena this stubbornly demanding and resolute to prevent the Duke from raping her? And let's face it, she did get raped, doesn't matter how the story tries to sugarcoat it...

    I give her points for not standing down and demanding retribution but she should have fought before she found herself in that situation, not after. She was scared to lose her job if she fought back but she loses it anyway...twit.

    In any case the story was well written and as it is a Prequel to the actual series, it did provide all the pertinent background information the readers will need to understand the series.

    SR



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Easy Read

    I could have wished for a little more depth, but not by much. It was an interesting story, told in a way that was easy to keep up with. I'm sure I'll be purchasing the next few books in the series soon enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Okay

    Just another novel where the story is an excuse to be a framework for sex. Could have been a good book otherwise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Great characters

    Love the stubbornness of serena.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cute and clever even if it was somewhat predictable. Glad I rea

    Cute and clever even if it was somewhat predictable. Glad I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    ok

    Short story. Lacked fire and passion . Just kind of blah .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    Alright

    It was a good story, the epilogue doesn't take about Hugo & Serena. I don't want to spoil the story, but i loved the pin idea. The story could have been developed more, but not bad for a lunch time read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    I'm confused.

    Why would the author settle for such a short novel when she had such dynamic characters? Usually I would be put off by a pregnant heroine but in this case the Hero and Heroine were so stubborn and so well-matched that I didn't mind. I only wish this was a full novel. Just as I really started to get into the romance it was over!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2