Customer Reviews for

The Governess Affair (The Brothers Sinister)

Average Rating 4
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(85)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Such a wonderful, well-written story. Can't recommend highly eno

Such a wonderful, well-written story. Can't recommend highly enough. The pins, you guys. THE PINS. Worth reading for that scene alone.

posted by Ibrium on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice but not great

It was different from your typical hustorical romance. I liked that. The story of the "working" class not just the gentry. I look forward to the brothers stories.

posted by JLLo on May 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    I really enjoyed this "different" Historical Romance.

    I really enjoyed this "different" Historical Romance. There were no explicit sexual scenes that made me uncomfortable and the main characters were just great!
    NO perfect Duke marrying a poor woman (so almost impossible) but REAL people and the woman was a real woman that you could feel what she felt and commiserate with her while admiring her tactics!
    It was like a chess game but had a very happy ending except I felt it ended to abruptly. I really enjoyed it and will be reading it again I'm sure.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Very good

    A worthy read 165 pages and well done.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    The Governess Affair

    Enjoyed reading this 100+ page book. It was a light read and the story unfolded well. No action, but a nice little romantic boom.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2014

    Happy Affair

    This has a nice turn of events. It is a good book that teaches perseverence and class. The governess handled herself well despite the time and her difficult situation. The wolf behaved more humane than his "Lord".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Bravo...........................

    Someone wrote a regency and for once it is not about the rake of a duke falling in love with the poor but noble wallflower. Well written. Great characters. Sensitive subjects addressed. I will read more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    Great Novella

    This story was fun, yet emotional. It was a great set-up for the new series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    This is a wonderful story about two people who each fight for th

    This is a wonderful story about two people who each fight for their honor in their own way. Both the hero and heroine are worthy characters who refuse to let the past control the future. I really enjoyed this novella.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Excellent novella (about 93pgs of reading)

    Great character development and story line. There was not much mystery in it but it was a wonderful story of righting wrongs and finding love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2014

    a great beginning to the series

    Meet Serena Barton, the titular governess who finds herself put out from her job after a run-in with the Duke of Clermont. She decides to take her revenge by quietly sitting in front of his residence until her demands are met… the problem being that it falls to the Duke’s man of business, one Mr. Hugo Marshall, to see that she is on her way so that the Duke can win back his bride, her fortune, and Mr. Marshall’s wages to boot.

    It’s a pretty common historical romance set up, but the difference between this Milan work and some other ones I’ve read in the past is the depth to which the characters are developed. I feel like I say it time and again as I review books that the best books I read feature the most well drawn characters. With only 100 digital pages Milan manages to craft three dimensional characters who exist in a world you are easily able to understand. And she manages to have them be beautifully self-aware, but not clichéd.

    My only real complaint about this book is that *semi spoiler but not really* there is an off page rape which occurs. I was hoping for a light read, as I mentioned, and that kept this from being light for all the obvious reasons. But, the turnaround is one of the most sexy while also sweet scenes later in the book as Hugo shows just how safe he is, and the antithesis of the Duke he works for. Otherwise I would have liked a longer book to spend more time with these characters.

    Go fall in love with Serena and Hugo while they fall in love with each other. It’s worth your time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Nook lovr

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Simply delightful

    This is a delightful novella. I look forward to reading the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Good

    I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Good read.

    Good read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Good but short. It would appeal to most readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Spicy and Entertaining

    Serena and Hugo are both unconvential characters. The book holds the reader's interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    I love Serena and Hugo's story. This is a very well written stor

    I love Serena and Hugo's story. This is a very well written story and original. I love Courtney Milan and I will read more books from her. She is a very good story teller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Hello

    Very well written story. And predictable I think not. Also agree with the PINS exclamation - gives one a fantasy or role play to think about. The understated yet earthy sexuality YES. Also, the intelligent conversationalism exhibited in the writing of this small book surpasses other books of 7 times it's length. Suitable book for teens of both sexes - let them learn of consequences and loving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Cute and fun

    This is basically a Novella and prequel to the author’s current romance series, and if this is a taste of what she has to offer...I must say...I look forward to reading her full book. The story was interesting and the characters witty and fun...and real. But rather than try to come up with adequate word to describe...I will let the characters speak for themselves:


    -------------------------
    The Governess Affair
    Chapter 10:

    Mrs. Marshall,
    I hope that you are settling into your new home, and that all is to your satisfaction. Do please let me know if anything is amiss, and I shall see to it


    Mr. Marshall
    My new home is all that I hoped for. Everything is to my satisfaction. Nothing is amiss. Thank you very much for your concern.


    Mrs. Marshall,
    I am delighted that your new home is what you wished for, and everything is as you've hoped. Please accept my best wished for you happiness.


    Mr. Marshall,
    I am delighted that you are delighted that I am delighted with my new home. Can I predict the substance of your next missive? That you are delighted that I am delighted that you are delighted, etcetera.

    I have just saved us both a great deal of postage and awkward conversation. If we keep this up, we shall quickly run through our ink....

    -------------------------

    So great. I will stop there. Spoilers. lol . But this was a quick, fun and delightful read. That also boosted my interest for the full series in this world...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    Enjoyable read

    *A thoroughly enjoyable read...would have liked it to be twice as long at least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5