Customer Reviews for

The Governess Affair (Brothers Sinister Novella)

Average Rating 4
( 195 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Such a wonderful, well-written story. Can't recommend highly eno

Such a wonderful, well-written story. Can't recommend highly enough. The pins, you guys. THE PINS. Worth reading for that scene alone.

posted by Ibrium on April 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice but not great

It was different from your typical hustorical romance. I liked that. The story of the "working" class not just the gentry. I look forward to the brothers stories.

posted by JLLo on May 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    enjoyed

    I really enjoyed this book. I thought it was well written and I liked how the author did not leave the reader with loose ends. I usually read more along the lines of fantasy and sci fi but I will read more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Highly recommended

    very sexy but not over the top. Had a good story line and interesting characters. All in all a good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    I always like a spunky heroine....and a plot that moves along wi

    I always like a spunky heroine....and a plot that moves along with more than misunderstandings and miscommunication. I thoroughly enjoyed the main characters interactions!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Good read

    Liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    not disappointed!! high quality - bargain price

    I like all her books. This was as good as

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A quick read and a great book

    Just in case anyone else is as confused as I was, I’ll explain how this book fits into a new series called The Brothers Sinister right now. The Governess Affair tells the story of the parents of the brothers. There are three parents featured in this book. The fourth is mentioned but you never get to “meet” her. The first parent is Serena. She is a determined woman and I instantly respected her. She recognized her failings in the past and refused to let her fears get in her way. She was going to do right by those she had let down. Anyone willing to go through what she did and put up with what she did will be someone I want to get to know. I loved how her story slowly unfolded as the book progressed. I respected Serena quickly but I found myself really liking her as I got to know her. The next parent is Hugo. Hugo also has a troubled past. Right from the beginning he admits that he is a very bad man but there were little clues that made me think that underneath it all he might actually be a decent guy. The next parent is The Duke. I didn’t like him, he is pompous and selfish. He does make for a good story though, that’s the nicest thing I can say about him. I loved how the author let the story and the history of the characters slowly unravel. I generally hate being left in the dark as to the motivation of characters but this worked for me. Everything was revealed through the conversations of Serena and Hugo. At times their interactions were gentle and sweet and at other times they were hurtful and angry but they always kept me intrigued. Even when they were trying to out-maneuver the other, there was always a level neither would stoop to. That is what made their battle palatable for me. I really enjoyed the attraction that built up between them too. The entire time I was rooting for Serena and Hugo to get together and make The Duke pay for his callous, self-serving deeds. The epilogue has nothing to do with the parents but is where the basis of The Brothers Sinister is revealed. The brothers are the son of Serena and the son of The Duke and the epilogue tells how they meet at boarding school. The Governess Affair was the perfect set up for the new series. It’s a quick read and a great book, I recommend it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    6/2/12

    Excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Cute Battle of the Sexes

    What happens when an irresistible force meets an unmoveable object? In Courtney Milan's authorship, hilarity ensues. Our Governess is the Rock, and our Estate Steward is the Force. Not hard to guess who will win, but the journey there and the Hero's personal growth belie the short format of this Novella of approximately 108 pages. A terrific read for an afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Courtney Milan Does It Again

    My favorite part of Courtney Milan's historical romances are the non-formulaic characters. The heroes in her stories are not always the richest in the land...in fact they may be secretaries, scientists, or other "ordinary" people who have to make their way in the world. I enjoyed this very much.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    An excellent read

    Once again Milan works her magic -can't wait for the next one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 77 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4