BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Great Gatsby

Average Rating 4
( 1417 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(732)

4 Star

(352)

3 Star

(176)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

347 out of 406 people found this review helpful.

Really!?

Want to buy. Will not. YOU CAN NOT JUSTIFY CHARGING THIS PRICE FOR THIS BOOK. CAN NOT. I HATE having to complain but this trend of jacking up prices for our computer file nooks is becoming common practice and is an insult to the intelligence of every nook/nookcolor owne...
Want to buy. Will not. YOU CAN NOT JUSTIFY CHARGING THIS PRICE FOR THIS BOOK. CAN NOT. I HATE having to complain but this trend of jacking up prices for our computer file nooks is becoming common practice and is an insult to the intelligence of every nook/nookcolor owner. And we can't use our discount card for what reason. We want to be loyal customers. Please inspire us to do so. If you did not know, we want quality nookbooks and apps at fair prices. If you are a fellow nook owner and see an example of nookbook price abuse, add a comment to your review. Or not.

posted by Artazen on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Really?

Too expensive! I was planning to buy, but I will look for a hard copy. If you want happy nook owners, dont overcharge for classics!

posted by 8959320 on May 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1423 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 72
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Do not buy $1.99 book - it's not a full book

    Not a full book

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Over priced

    How can you charge over $10!! Insane!! Kindle edition is just $5. I might as well purchase the paperback and use my discount card at the brick and morter store. I would LOVE to purchase on my nook, but 10 bucks? Really?

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Interesting Read

    "The Great Gatsby" is about a man named Nick. When he moved he constantly heard about a man named Jay Gatsby. Little did he know he lived next door. Jay is a person who is wealthy and intelligent. This caused Nick to wonder, who is he? He seemed very secretive to Nick. He wanted to get to know him. He yearned to know how and why he was so wealthy, and who, truthfully, is Jay Gatsby? He finds his way to Jay, in a coincidence. This starts Nick’s "investigation" to find the real Jay Gatsby. Characters such as: Mr. & Mrs. Buchanan add a twist. The characters slowly reveal and define Gatsby. I enjoyed the book. The different concepts, the different characters and their personalities kept you wondering what is going to happen next. Is there something they're hiding? It keeps you on your feet. The language they use was a challenge at first; but once you got adjusted to the way they used their words it was fairly easy and pleasant to read.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Great Fitzgerald

    Truly a classic; Fitzgerald beautifully paints the 20's era with the new sensations of money and bootlegging and partying in his fantastic novel. His superb writing details the life of Nick Carraway with his friend, a new wealth, Jay Gatsby, who longs for the married Daisy Buchanan. The trials of trying to get her shows how flawed Gatsby is, and therefore, fulfilling the title of the book, how truly great he is. Fitzgerald's writing intoxicates the reader into this forgotten world. His sentences really do stand up and take a little bow.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Do not buy this version

    Its missing the last chapters only 101 pages

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    !

    To the plot spoilers and especially to the kids using a book review site as a chat room and a roleplaying site for stupid cats.....you have been reported to bn. They do not approve of u using a book review site for playing games. They can and will track u down and i sincerely hope they ban u.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    Overly Glorified Door Stop

    I was forced to read this book for high school and I absolutely hate it. It doesn't live up to the name so many people give it. I understand that the basic idea behind the story is the struggle to fulfill unattainable desires but despite the moral being very strong this book disappoints me to no end. It's overly simplistic and is told in such a way that it leaves a student feeling numb from boredom. Thanks a lot California educational system for making me waste my precious youth on this over glorified door stop.

    4 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Not the complete book!

    While I did enjoy the book, this is version is missing a huge part of the ending. It ended on page 100 with me feeling like the story left you hanging and wondering what all the fuss was about this novel. Luckily, my husband had recently read a hard copy of the book and I was able to realize that the whole ending was left off! So if you read this version thinking you've experieced the entire novel, think again! After reading the book to it's end, I would definitely recommend it. I've always been pleased with the books I've bought on my Nook, but this situation really disappointed me.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Cryssie42

    This book is one of my top 10 faves & I have read a ridiculous amount of books. It was required reading in 7th grade and I have probably read it at least 10+ times since. I highly recommend it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    a classic

    this book is a wonderful classic. it's so tragic and beautiful. you can read it over and over again and never be bored.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What's the big deal?

    So, everyone at school was saying, "I loved The Great Gatsby," so when my class started reading it, I was excited. But, after a couple chapters, my first reaction was, "This is boring." Sure, it's a love story and sure, it has its moments, but it wasn't the greatest read, and to be honest, Gatsby was the most pathetic character I've seen in awhile. I wouldn't recommend this book to many people.

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Where''s the rest of the book.

    This book just stops. It's not the cimplete book. What a disappontment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Missing

    It wasn't the full book. Missing some chapters

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    NOT COMPLETE

    This version is missing 2 whole chapters at the end. DO NOT BUY

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Over priced.

    Will just get it at the library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Gatspy...

    This was an extrodinary book and movie. WARNING- Movie has intense party scenes, bad language, smoking, and sensualuty... I am only 1, but this book was still amaxing. I never knew I liked classics. Try buying a paperback of this book from Barnes & Nobles cheaper. If you like romance with a twist this book is for you!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    The price is rediculous! This book should not cost this much!

    T

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    An enduring classic, works well on NOOK

    If you've never read "The Great Gatsby", I'm sure you've probably at least heard all the references to it and how it is regarded as one of the greatest works of American fiction. It is a good read. I didn't care much for it when I was younger, because all I wanted to read about as a teen was Drizzt Do'Urden and Lazarus Long. But now, in my thirties, I have found myself going back to the classics I was required to read in school and discovering others for the first time. The plot behind "Gatsby" is a basic and familiar one, and also paints a vivid picture of the period between WW1 and the Great Depression. A lot of people read this book and wonder afterwards what all the fuss is about. In my opinion, it is Fitzgerald's prose that makes this such a great read, it is his writing style and characterization that make it an important piece of literature. It is also a social commentary on how shallow people can be; and truly brings to light the ideas of "fair weather friends" and how indulgent the upper class can be, becoming lost in their own little world and completely disdainful of those less fortunate. Its worth the money, and this version worked flawlessly on my NOOK, which is something you always want to be sure of before you purchase anything for your device.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    People underestimate this book, not seeing it for the masterpiec

    People underestimate this book, not seeing it for the masterpiece it is.  Read the first and last paragraph and tell me this isn't an author at the top of his game.  Absolutely brilliant.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    I love this book. I always did. Fitzgerald creates a great color

    I love this book. I always did. Fitzgerald creates a great colorful world in The Great Gatsby. This has nothing to do with the book but I really had to ask - why is the Nook version of this book a couple of dollars more expensive than paperback?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1423 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 72