Customer Reviews for

The Great Gatsby

Average Rating 4
( 1405 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(724)

4 Star

(350)

3 Star

(175)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(85)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

341 out of 400 people found this review helpful.

Really!?

Want to buy. Will not. YOU CAN NOT JUSTIFY CHARGING THIS PRICE FOR THIS BOOK. CAN NOT. I HATE having to complain but this trend of jacking up prices for our computer file nooks is becoming common practice and is an insult to the intelligence of every nook/nookcolor owne...
Want to buy. Will not. YOU CAN NOT JUSTIFY CHARGING THIS PRICE FOR THIS BOOK. CAN NOT. I HATE having to complain but this trend of jacking up prices for our computer file nooks is becoming common practice and is an insult to the intelligence of every nook/nookcolor owner. And we can't use our discount card for what reason. We want to be loyal customers. Please inspire us to do so. If you did not know, we want quality nookbooks and apps at fair prices. If you are a fellow nook owner and see an example of nookbook price abuse, add a comment to your review. Or not.

posted by Artazen on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Really?

Too expensive! I was planning to buy, but I will look for a hard copy. If you want happy nook owners, dont overcharge for classics!

posted by 8959320 on May 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    A good quick read but...

    I read "The Great Gatsby" two times, one for leisure and the other for school. I still can't entirely understand why it's considered a classic. The themes are hard to pick up and realize and some parts such as the whole switching cars fiasco were confusing and I had to go back and read the part again. Some parts don't make sense but I guess that's just because it's from a different time period such as Tom talking to his lover on the phone and Daisy knows. Why doesn't she do anything about it??? Gatsby gets somewhat annoying and you feel like, "Just talk to her already!!!!" Fitzgerald sets the scene and setting perfectly and the reader gets a real sense of the 1920s vibe. Let's just say it has highs and lows. Worth reading? Yeah, but you'll probably find that there are better books out there. The whole thing is not long so it's good if you have a few hours to spare.

    17 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    !

    To the plot spoilers and especially to the kids using a book review site as a chat room and a roleplaying site for stupid cats.....you have been reported to bn. They do not approve of u using a book review site for playing games. They can and will track u down and i sincerely hope they ban u.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    An enduring classic, works well on NOOK

    If you've never read "The Great Gatsby", I'm sure you've probably at least heard all the references to it and how it is regarded as one of the greatest works of American fiction. It is a good read. I didn't care much for it when I was younger, because all I wanted to read about as a teen was Drizzt Do'Urden and Lazarus Long. But now, in my thirties, I have found myself going back to the classics I was required to read in school and discovering others for the first time. The plot behind "Gatsby" is a basic and familiar one, and also paints a vivid picture of the period between WW1 and the Great Depression. A lot of people read this book and wonder afterwards what all the fuss is about. In my opinion, it is Fitzgerald's prose that makes this such a great read, it is his writing style and characterization that make it an important piece of literature. It is also a social commentary on how shallow people can be; and truly brings to light the ideas of "fair weather friends" and how indulgent the upper class can be, becoming lost in their own little world and completely disdainful of those less fortunate. Its worth the money, and this version worked flawlessly on my NOOK, which is something you always want to be sure of before you purchase anything for your device.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    UNDERSTANDABLE OR NOT?! The Great Gatsby

    In the Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald, Jay Gatsby who is the main character, struggles to keep honesty in a relationship. The main idea of this story is about Jay Gatsby,who meets Nick Carraway, his new neighbor, and develops a relationship with him; in addition, he has troubles keeping his love for Daisy Buchanan at bay. The main characters of this story are obviously Jay Gatsby, Nick Carraway, and Daisy Buchanan; in addition, the secondary characters are Tom Buchanan, Jordan Baker, Myrtle Wilson, George Wilson, Owl Eyes, Klipspringer, and Meyer Wolfsheim. The main character Jay Gatsby is a man who is elegant and very eloquent; nevertheless, he does throw a lot of parties, especially in the long summer nights. He is a very charismatic man who happened to accumulate a lot of wealth. Nick Carraway is the narrator, and is a kind gentle type of guy, who develops a friendship with Jay Gatsby. Daisy Buchanan, Tom Buchanan’s wife, is a woman who is materialistic and once was deeply in love with Jay Gatsby, but keeps the fact she still loves him a mystery. The main conflict is internal because Jay is fighting against himself to keep his feelings for Daisy at bay. The internal conflict is man versus self because of his own mental struggle with facing Daisy’s love on a daily basis. One of the main plot events that make up the rising action is where Tom begins to suspect something is going on between Gatsby and Daisy at a luncheon they were having. He witnesses Gatsby staring at Daisy with a deep loving passionate look. Another one of the major events is when Nick, Jordan, and Tom are driving through the valley of the ashes and find that Gatsby’s car has hit Myrtle Wilson, who happens to be Tom’s lover. I overall enjoyed this book, but I did find it hard to understand what was going on. I dislike the fact there was a lot of imagery and literary elements used, it made it really confusing to know what was going on. I also didn’t enjoy it much because I felt the story was a little choppy and it jumped from one event in one chapter to a totally different one in the other. The final reason I didn’t fully enjoy it was that it used a lot of deep meaning and symbolism, so it made me go back and reread pages even to the point of three times just to grasp what had occurred. In spite of these setbacks I enjoyed the story’s idea and surprisingly at some points did not want to set down the book called, The Great Gastby.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Love the movie

    But i feel like the book isnt finished completely

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

     F. Scott Fitzgerald's classic novel The Great Gatsby is an exce

     F. Scott Fitzgerald's classic novel The Great Gatsby is an excellent illustration of 1920's America; it was a time of prosperity and extravagance. The story revolves around Nick Carraway, a young bond salesman who has moved in next to a wealthy man named Gatsby and his expansive estate. Gatsby throws extravagant parties often, the purpose of which is explained later in the book. As the story unfolds, we learn more and more about the mysterious Gatsby’s past and his lifestyle. It is a relatively quick read and I easily finished the book in several hours. I was interested throughout the book to discover Gatsby's past and how he amassed his wealth, as well as learn how the story ended up. However, I felt the beginning did not hook me and was somewhat dull until the suspense began to pick up in the fourth and fifth chapters. I also felt that some sections of the book were somewhat confusing and poorly explained, especially the events leading up to the ending. Some sections I had to read twice to fully understand.  I thought the ending was a bit rushed as well. Overall, I enjoyed the book once it began to come together.  I would only recommend it to mature readers, as some may lose interest very quickly, especially in the beginning of the story. This book is certainly not for everyone. I don’t feel it should be considered one of the greatest works of American literature, but The Great Gatsby is a good read nonetheless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Although the book didn't offer as strong or exciting of a story

    Although the book didn't offer as strong or exciting of a story as other reads, The Great Gatsby was one of the best written book i've read.
    F. Scott Fitzgerald winds a deep story centered around the narrator Nick Carraway who moves to !922 New York City to work in the bond industry. He meets his neighbor Jay Gatsby, who with his immense fortune throws extravagant parties almost every day and night. In this new and strange crowd Nick sees how people really act under the influence of money and alcohol. Although he follows his father's advice and tries not to immediately judge the people he sees he is drawn into the gossip and lies that surround Gatsby and his life.
    F. Scott Fitzgerald uses the events of Nick’s first summer in New York to show the dark and light points of the 1920’s “Jazz age”. The characters experience first hand the effects adultery, murder and life will have on even the most innocent of people. How loves that had been ended and moved past can return with a vengeance. The novel shows how people never capable of violence can become violent in acts of love and sadness.
    Overall The Great Gatsby is an amazing book for anyone that enjoys a touching story about love romance and loss. Or even someone who just enjoys a good american classic, but for anyone that is looking for an exciting story with action or adventure this isn't for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    The Great Gatsby was indeed great. The way the story unravels in

    The Great Gatsby was indeed great. The way the story unravels in the awkwardness of the atmosphere is unparalleled. The book will make you laugh with irony and at sometimes make you want to cry, many lessons were taught  in the book. You will shiver at a shameful past, yet in the next chapter be inspired by the feeling between Daisy and Gatsby. By no means is this the typical love story but one that is more mysterious and somewhat forbidden one. This book brought me to a time where the party never stops and the band never gets tiered, if not for this book I would have never see this magical time.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Expected more...

    For such an acclaimed book, it was rather mundane. There are some strong themes but overall, expected something more remarkable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic

    A good classic, but I'm glad I read it with my English class. I wouldn't have understood most of the undertones. Good plot, but I wasn't a fan of the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    I guess it's a classic

    The Great Gatsby is considered a great, American classic novel. Therefore we were forced to read it for my English 11 class. I must say I was not impressed. The author, F. Scott Fitzgerald, uses a slow moving plot and deep character analysis to tell a story that could be covered in a half hour ¿The Hills¿ episode. Fitzgerald did paint a beautiful picture of the characters and the setting. But that means nothing when the plot has no substance. <BR/> Though the story had no plot, he did include those classic themes and elements that every novel needs. There was love, violence, lust, envy, greed, and of course death. The plot just strolls along until, BAM, it hits you in the face with a surprise ending. Fitzgerald uses shock value, the lowest form of entertainment, to try to entertain you. It is considered a classic, though, because it shows what humans are really like deep inside. And that is lying fakes. <BR/> He uses the lives of people with two-faced personalities to teach everyone a valuable lesson; just be yourself. Being fake will ultimately lead to lives ruined and people dead. That may not necessarily be true, but that is what I think Fitzgerald was trying to say. He uses the main character to show that obsession and envy will lead you to nowhere, and possibly a grave. Fitzgerald is pretty hardcore with these life lessons. Fitzgerald¿s characters show the change in the 1920¿s from traditional to nontraditional. Beginning in the 1920¿s, women were becoming more independent and started going away from modest, traditional ways. Also activities such as drinking, parting, and adultery became more acceptable in society. With that came Fitzgerald¿ The Great Gatsby. I would only recommend this book because it is an American classic (supposedly).

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    "This battle is like the world has never seen. We already are endangered with millions of cadavers laying in cadaver field we must fight we'll be lucky if anyone survives." He walks into the castle to order all Nelfs back to dimension 574.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Yaxhuo

    She looks at her clip board. She glances up and sees who it was and also fell to one knee

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Genevieve

    Kisses him back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Zenjuer

    He got out of bed and stretch. He looked out his window and fell to one knee.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Phillip

    He lead everyone away and disappeared himself.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Tamora

    She sees the clear orb and tries to duck but is hit on the shoulder and disappears.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    Highly recomend

    I surprised myself. As an octogenarian I had never read this iconic American novel. I loved the book. I'd read many of Fitzgerald's short stories, but Gatsby was a revealing insight into his style, FSF's imagery, and his descriptions of personality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Gatsby

    Boring

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2014

    A wonderful flight into an older era with almost seemingly magic

    A wonderful flight into an older era with almost seemingly magical character.




    I watched the movie before I read the book. I actually had to read this book for book club and was great-full for the change of pace. The last book was over 500 pages and still took me a day to read either way, but I actually like The Great Gatsby's movie which was spot on the book. I was glad this was the book chosen for Book Club.




    I felt that Gatsby was a good character, but felt confused by him. He seemed to contradict himself in some situations but I felt he was a character developed well. He was by far one of my favourites in this book. my other favourite was probably Nick, the narrator. We knew the most about him, as it was from his point of view. I felt Nick was a good narrator as he would explain things that some audiences may not understand.




    Daisy's character seemed to be left to open in the end of the book. She was one of my least favourite characters because of the lack of love she shows for Gatsby in the end of the book and that made me lose all the respect I had for her. After seeing the ending in the movie, I had kind of hoped the book would be different but, like I said earlier the movie was spot-on.




    I was warned ahead of time I might have a hard time reading this because it was written &quot;way back when&quot; but honestly I had no problem reading it. I actually liked it more than I thought I would because it was one of the classics. I generally don't like classics for I feel it has a lack of romance, which I can't read a book without, but this one was actually really good.




    Rating: 6.9/10
    Parental Rating: 14+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9