Customer Reviews for

The Great Unexpected

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Noone

Really good could not take my eyes off of it it is so so good it is worth bying

posted by Anonymous on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Left hanging?

This book has good story intentions but nothing was ever explained. Is this supposed to be a series? I felt the story was moving along but then it suddenly ended which left many unanswered questions. Unless, there is more to come I would not recommend this book.

posted by 8425969 on September 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    I really loved it a lot! you have to at least try reading it. It was a simple but great read.

    This book is all about Naomi and her life. I usually don't read books like this but by the end I was really intrigued and sad that it had to end. I thin everyone should read this. I fell in love with it right when I started it. I loved this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Noone

    Really good could not take my eyes off of it it is so so good it is worth bying

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Hi

    This book is mainly about a girl winning first place at her gymnastices meet and then after words she gets an unxpekted gift she gets it from a mysterious person thenshe gets freeked out.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Best Ever Ever Ever!!!!!

    In the little town of Blackbird Tree live two orphan girls: one Naomi Deane, who's curiosity can sometimes get the best of her, and her BFF, Lizzie Scatterding(head), who talks so much you would not want to be in a small room with her. Alone. Naomi has a habit for being around when trouble's stirred up. For she knows every person in town that's out of the ordinary- such as Witch Wiggins, Crazy Cora, and one armed Farley. But then a strangely charming, good smelling, and highly peculiar boy comes along. You want to know how? Well, let's just say...
    umm... we'll say his body fell from a tree. In front of Naomi. He told Naomi his name was Finn. Then to add to the list of wierd people, an odd doodle dingle dangle man comes along asking lot's of questions. That boy, a crooked bridge, three locked trunks, and a pair of rooks(crows) are all examples of curious suprises that are released and revealed. Nor Naomi or Lizzie could ever have imagined the future they were inching closer and closer to. In the meantime, an old lady across the ocean, who has a deceived heart concocts a plan.

    I enjoyed this book very much because it was full of exciting events. Every single chapter was a cliff-hanger making the book very hard to put down. Sharon Creech is now my #1 favorite author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Hey, put down twilight and pick up this book.This book is just a

    Hey, put down twilight and pick up this book.This book is just about the life of a young orphan named Naomi. It isnt really a love story like i thought it would and there isnt really a moral. All it is, is the life of a girl. What i found to be very interesting about this book is that it takes place in two places at once and the reason it is able to do this is because there are two stories going on at once. So 1 chapter is about naomi,the main character, then the next would be about Sybil but i wont say who she is because then it would ruin the book. I beleive the 2 settings of this book are America and Ireland. I would give this book 3.5 stars and the reason why is because there are some flaws in the story. For example in the VERY beginning of the story they introduce a character named Finn that is hyped up to be a important role but has no affect in the book. Basically at the begin of the book a boy named flynn gets thrown into the book and is a main character but half in into the story he just disappears like he was never there and no one really notices. The other only big Flaw in this book is that there ends up to at least 3 characters with the name Finn and it gets really confusing. Something that the writer did very well was the distance between new characters. What i mean by this is that the writer added characters in one at a time instead of just throwing them all in together like some other books ive read. This led to little confusion in minor characters.I feel like each character was balanced out perfectly in this book and that made it smoother to read.and what really had me turning pages was that this book always had me wondering what is "The Great Unexpected". This book is a fiction but the characters a very mortal and realistic so it feels like a biography. There is one more thing i didnt like and that is that the cover of the book is very unrelative. I cant really compare this book with another because this book is very unique. The very last thing i love about this book is that the 2 stories come together and everything makes since at the end and leaves almost no questions. Plus the grammar is very basic so it is readable at any age

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Left hanging?

    This book has good story intentions but nothing was ever explained. Is this supposed to be a series? I felt the story was moving along but then it suddenly ended which left many unanswered questions. Unless, there is more to come I would not recommend this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    The Great Unexpected

    This is a great book. I got it about a week ago and read it in 2 days. A great storyline, and i love how Creech wove two completely different stories together. The characters were greatly described, and the emotion as well. I love this book and would definitely reccommend it to anyone. Posted by: Dara K

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Claudia

    This book was too good to put down i loved it so much

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Love it.

    Love it. Love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    Sharon Creech's new novel, The Great Unexpected, is (not unexpec

    Sharon Creech's new novel, The Great Unexpected, is (not unexpectedly) a delightful read. In masterful, true Creech style, the characters are memorable, the language refreshing and often poetic, and the tale an enchanting page-turner filled with secrets, humor, decisions, "coincidences," and deeper meanings. The townspeople of Blackbird Tree, particularly the children, meet misfortune with a matter-of-fact bravery. The only thing that scares Naomi is dogs. The only thing that scares Lizzie is being without a home. They understand each other's fears and quirks and nothing can get in the way of their friendship-except perhaps the mysterious appearance of a boy named Finn? And Finn is only the first of peculiar happenings.

    While best for ages 8 to 12 (and the younger readers may not make all the marvelous connections at first), this is one of those rare books that readers of all ages will treasure, not only for its engaging story, but its enduring message of hope.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    You have to pay attention

    To fully get the story, you have to pay attention to details. Other than that, it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Best Sharon Creech yet!

    Abosolutely wonderful, I love the excitement and mystery of this book. Being Irish myself, I really apprecieated Creech's focus on my country. It is basically about an orphan named Naomi and her life, with an interesting and unexpected twist at the end. It is one of those books that shows how pre-judging a reader can be. Though it not a mystery, I think that you would especially enjoy it if you like mysteries. Even so, I highly recommend this book to everyone. Thank you Sharon Creech!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Click Here

    This book is very good do you know if she is going to make another book related to this one?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Is it good?

    I am just starting is this really good or just do not read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2