Customer Reviews for

The Greatest Game Ever Played: Harry Vardon, Francis Ouimet, and the Birth of Modern Golf

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Ironpelt

    Yes i have wanted kits. Come on you must be tired. Moves to metal result 1 to sleep in my new den.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Astralgod

    Ok, I am the only one who can kill darkness. I swear, if you are that stupid cat that said HE was light, I will...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Flaretail

    "Ok, i have a serious question. Not saying that its going to happen but, would you ever want to have kits?"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    ?

    You cannot kill darkness, for you are not light.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    One of the best

    The story that is laid out to its readers is remarkable. Vardon and Ouimet's story's are both equally inspiring. I applaud the authors research and writing ablilities which gives us as readers the insight into the minds of each of these men. It is truly a wonderful book. Do not be turned away after the first few chapters the story advances quickly, but make sure you read those first pages because they're very important to the make up of the story. Thank you Mr. Frost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2010

    Loved this book!

    If you are a golfer, you need to read this one. Not only is it a great story and absolutely true, it's also inspirational to the struggling golfer. Gave me inspiration to keep trying and adopting the mindset of Vardon and Ouimet. One of the great American Sports stories ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must addition to a golfer's library

    If you thought the movie was good, the book is even better. This is the story of the iconic professional golfer Harry Vardon, matched against a relative unknown amateur Francis Ouimett on one of golf's grandest stages, the US Open. This book is a worthy addition to your golf library.

    RDM

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    GREATEST SPORTS BOOK EVER

    I am not a sports guy but rented a movie by the same name from netflix and was hooked...What a great story. But the book is sooooo much better in the way books always are ..Lots of details not transferable to film ,like 4 bios not 1 and frost intertwines a history lesson with the action .Suffice it to say even if you are not a golfer you will enjoy the human stories of persivirence and nobility of the human expirience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is not only one of the best sports books I have ever read, but one of the best books! The story of Vardon and Ouimett is fate at its best. Frost had me in the gallery at the wet, Brookline Country Club for the final 36 holes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    Inspirational and Educational

    An engaging read that golfers and history buffs will enjoy. Frost educates you on the history of Golf in America and captivates you in a true David vs. Goliath story. A pleasure to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    Inspiring

    Excellent read. As I was reading, I kept thinking this would make a great movie. Guess what? Movie is in production and will be released at the end of 2005. Frost is a good story-teller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2005

    great book

    frost writes the way ken burns documents. wonderful history on the players and the game itself. must have for those who enjoy golf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2