Customer Reviews for

The Grouchy Ladybug Board Book

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Wonderful story! It's the one book that my daughter wants to read repeatedly. Not only that, but it's a lesson that she loves to hear about, because after all, even preschoolers have an innate sense of justice. We love Eric Carle!

    Not often does one see the effect of lessons learned from books by children, but I've seen the effects of The Grouchy Ladybug when my daughter encountered a grouchy boy on the playground. He was upset and being testy with the kids on the playground because of a disagreement with his babysitter, and my daughter told him he was being mean. The boy replied, "I just had a fight with my babysitter...". My daughter replied, "oh, that's OK, wanna play?" After that they were fast friends. Grouchy doesn't need to be infectious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Poor Message

    I failed to find any redeeming qualities to this story. Not really a message young children need to hear. Throughout the story this ladybug asks every bug he meets if they want to fight.
    Too bad, because the layout and design of the book was clever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    This ladybug is just too grouchy.

    The ladybug goes from animal to animal, looking for a fight. My preschool grandchildren like the repeated sentences, but I find the theme to seem to be encouraging aggressiveness. Eric Carle's use of partial pages is intriguing to young children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Excellent illustrations and lesson!

    This is a great book. I bought it for my daughter, but it's a little old for her. However, she loves the pictures, so we look at it regularly, and we'll read it when she is old enough to understand it. It's a little more complex than some of our favorite Eric Carle books, but it's still a great choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    All's Well That Ends Well

    At first, the ladybug is grouchy, but through the story, it learns manners and all's well. Educational and the illustrations are great. Good teaching points for little ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Grouchy, But Educational

    The Grouchy Ladybug is an example of turning a negative into a positive. In the course of the book, there's learning going on and in the end, good manners are enforced.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2007

    funny and learned book for kids

    The Grouchy Ladybug takes her anger out on everyone that passes, which isn't very nice. But thru this, kids learn the contrast in shape and size as well as color and ability. They also learn manners, good behavior and protecting one's territory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2004

    A must have

    I love this book. I read it to my class of preschoolers ages 3 - 5, and it quickly became one of their most requested stories. When reading, I kept one grouchy voice for the ladybug and made other silly voices for the other animals she encounters. I also have the children say the repeating lines with me, so they feel more connected to the story. This is a great book to get small children interested in reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    Go away! I want those aphids!

    This has to be one of my toddler's favorites. He has been bringing it to us to read to him since he could walk and just loved it even before then. We've always done the grouchy ladybug's voice in a really mean raspy voice and now that he is beginning to talk, every time he sees a bug outside he says (in that voice) 'Go awayyyy!' and cracks us up! He learned a lot of the animal sounds and gestures and now can name most of the animals. The story is very wordy and you'll get bored reading it that many times, but you'll appreciate the creative design and the fact that there are so many things to learn -- it also teaches the time and shows the movement of the sun throughout the day. And the 4-page whale is great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2001

    My 16 month daughter loves this book

    All three of my children (ages 1, 5, and 6) love reading this story. My daughter who is 16 months carries the book around with her and admires the colorful pictures always pointing out the ladybug. It has entertainment and learning values for any age group. Well worth the money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2000

    Excellent! Both fun & educational

    I think this book is excellent for many reasons. The illustrations are wonderful and the story is interesting and humorous. My 3 yr. old loves to be read this book. The book also can help a parent teach a child about time: on about 15 of the pages appears an illustration of a clock with a different time corresponding with the text on that page. And the way the middle pages are cut so that you can see a bit of each of 12 (of the 40) pages at once, you can see the sun rising and falling as the day progresses from 6am past 5pm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1