Customer Reviews for

The Gunslinger (Revised Edition): The Dark Tower I

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    Please do not buy this version of The Gunslinger. Find the original.

    First off, I loved the Dark Tower series - really great stuff. It got a bit weird as it went along, but whatever. I read The Gunslinger years ago, in high school. So I was excited to get into it again, and just recently picked up this version.

    I also just recently returned it - here's why: King did something I hate. He took the original novel and revised it. Reading the first section, I was aghast to see that it wasn't some minor factual errors or grammar mistakes he had corrected. Instead, he had basically rewritten the book, changing scenes, characters, dialogue, and the plot. It's just like what they did with the Star Wars movies, but worse.

    It's a different book, written by a different man, King today as opposed to King in the 70's. I hate this kind of revisionism. What was done cannot and should not be changed. What's more, I found some of his revisions laughable and absurd.

    I'll go back and find the original. Shame on you, Mr. King, for a lack of artistic integrity - and for this book, you'll not get my money.

    Hope this helps someone.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Gunslinger

    I am a big fan of Lord of the Rings and The Good, the Bad, and The Ugly is my second favorite movie of all time, so The Gunslinger is a reading experience that I will never forget. I always enjoyed Stephen King and in this book, and hopefully in the other six Dark Tower books, King writes with great prose that reminded me of Cormac McCarthy. I would definitely recommend this book to others with similar interests as me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Start to a great Series

    This book by Stephen King was the start of this entirely new world that really captivated my imagination. While reading this first book in the series you start to get a base understanding of the world around the gunslinger and are continuously left wondering what is going to happen next. I definately recommend this book to anyone that likes Stephen King. He is a phenominal story teller and this book does a good job in setting up the entire series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    slow start off

    I had trouble finding this book entertaining. Nothing to eventful to keep me excited or content in flipping the pages. The style of King is a bit dreadful and weird. The story does seem like it will spiral into a gigantic adventure so it does keep you wondering what's really going on as the story and plots are left vauge purposely. Plus the ending did spark the only gripping and interesting scene in the book so I'll be checking out the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Stunning

    I didn't even begin to think that I, a mere 7th grader, would be enthralled by a Stephen King novel, but this one flabbergasted me! The setting is both fantastical and surreal, the characters are unforgettable and stunning in both their realistic traits and their not so realistic traits. The series enthralls you, and leaves you captivated even past the last sentence. The way King tells the story of the Gunslinger engrosses you, and you will never want to put the book down, even when you finish reading it. This stunning Dark Tower series has me thinking deeper, and has me wanting to read more and more Stephen King novels. I have no idea why I never read any of his books before!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Yea King!

    i loved it. and i know it says that this book is for young adults, but i am twelve and i loved it! Yea sure it was innappropriate at points, bad words, and violence, and sorst of confusing, but still i loved it. Truley did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2004

    Eh.

    Well, I read this book mostly for the fact that a good friend highly recommended it. Well, I can hardly find why he liked it so much. For the most part, King's writing seems very jumbled and sometimes incoherent. The dialogue used by certain characters--Roland for example--often changes from, say, western accent to poetic English that you would find in the Lord of the Rings. If it wasn't for the messiness and non-continuity of this book, I would've given it a higher rating. I liked the story, but, like I said, his style isn't the kind I look for in a good fantasy/adventure story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2003

    Incredible Book

    This book was great. It kept you hanging on the whole time, from picking it up to the time you put it down. Stephen King made it interesting and just like the movie The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly and the Lord of the Rings trilogy. He did an outstanding job writing this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    Rita, constant reader

    This is one of the best books I have ever read. This book grabs you and doesn't let go. I actually find myself wondering what Roland is doing sometimes....no, but really, if you are going to read anything, read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4