Customer Reviews for

The Gunslinger Born (Dark Tower Graphic Novel Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Visual Darkness

I am not a graphic novel reader, but being a Stephen King obsessed fan I did read the first collection of the Dark Tower. Overall the interpretation was pretty good, even thought the dialogue seems stiff at times. The drawings are wonderful and are just how I pictured...
I am not a graphic novel reader, but being a Stephen King obsessed fan I did read the first collection of the Dark Tower. Overall the interpretation was pretty good, even thought the dialogue seems stiff at times. The drawings are wonderful and are just how I pictured everything in my head when I read the books. I am reading the next collected installment and am hoping it is just as good.

posted by TheEerieCoterie on August 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Missing huge sections of the comics

The essential storyline is excellent, although those not familiar with the book series may have a hard time following it. The problem with this edition (the bound hardcover), is that the small sidebars giving a history of the "Dark Tower" universe are completely missing...
The essential storyline is excellent, although those not familiar with the book series may have a hard time following it. The problem with this edition (the bound hardcover), is that the small sidebars giving a history of the "Dark Tower" universe are completely missing. I found these to be a bigger draw than the storyline itself. This is a great story, but collect the individual comics and skip this edition.

posted by 367754 on December 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Visual Darkness

    I am not a graphic novel reader, but being a Stephen King obsessed fan I did read the first collection of the Dark Tower. Overall the interpretation was pretty good, even thought the dialogue seems stiff at times. The drawings are wonderful and are just how I pictured everything in my head when I read the books. I am reading the next collected installment and am hoping it is just as good.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    Missing huge sections of the comics

    The essential storyline is excellent, although those not familiar with the book series may have a hard time following it. The problem with this edition (the bound hardcover), is that the small sidebars giving a history of the "Dark Tower" universe are completely missing. I found these to be a bigger draw than the storyline itself. This is a great story, but collect the individual comics and skip this edition.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not a Comic Book for Kids

    First Book in a comic book look of the The Dark Tower in hard/paperback series of seven books. This is mostly centers around the first three books the story behind the story not in the books. Very will put together by the Marvel artist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    New style of western

    The story has very awesome characters, and has a different but cool take on westerns. The artwork is unbelievable! A must own for graphic novel readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2009

    My 1st graphic novel!

    This is the first time I've been interested in a graphic novel. I love all the DT books and loved this too. I can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Story and Art flow Well

    Never read the books but the art is good which flows extremely well with the story. This whole Lord of the Rings/ Man with No Name/ Fantasy Cowboy story makes for an interesting and compelling story arch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Hmmm

    I loved the books although i always pictured roland as clint eastwood i pray that these books dont make a movie there is to much in the books that are amaing that a movie couldnt do justice too. These graphic novels are good, the actual books amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Do not buy this

    First off the comic was good and I would recommend it to anyone out there who like the Dark Tower series. The problem is with BN forcing you to read it on a nook. THE SCREEN IS TOO SMALL. The fact that will not let you view it on a pc or ipad is insane.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Fjxgcgcc

    G high nfh


    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    Not sure what the hype is about.

    Is the novel a whole lot better than this? It simply oozes with pretentiousness. I could hardly stand getting through it. The art is decent.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Western Fantasy Noir

    Stephen Kings unique writing style is very well used in marvels iteration. The art itself seemed to me to be very noir like. The plot, story and narrative can get thrown around a bit but in all it come's together very nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Great

    This is a great interpretation of Roland's backstory as told in 'The Dark Tower IV: Wizard and Glass.' Don't make the mistake of expecting the story to be told in the exact same way as in the book. A 7 part comic book series can only tell so much of the story. The good news is, however, that Stephen King oversaw the entire development of his story and gave the final nod to the completed product. More good news... there is rumor that Mr. King and Marvel are developing the story of Roland's journey home and his adventures leading up to the start of the first Dark Tower book. Come on HBO, adapt this into a miniseries!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    Beautiful

    Most intricate series I¿ve ever read out of all the Stephen King novels I have. Whenever I read a King novel, I expected horror and detail but when I first engulfed myself into King's work I was mesmerized by the emphasis on specific objects and characters that had influence later on in the series. You can see from the first couple of chapters that the main character has immense talent and experience in what he does. The main character ¿Roland¿ also gives a small display of what kind of person he is, and what his goal is. But it really wasn¿t even the storyline that impressed me, it was how everything intertwined and made the partial image you¿re given in the first book whole. I loved this beginning in the Dark Tower series and I believe that anyone that likes Stephen King, guns, and good verses evil will love it also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    Oh my gosh, you have to read this book. The way Stephen King writes is phenomenal. I'm buying the whole series as soon as I can!! They need to make a movie or something!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2007

    THE BEST OF ALL HIS WORK

    This is a true series of mystery, heroism, love and sheer terror all in one. Stephen king or richard bachman(whom we know are twiners) ha ! ha ! has made many of my days tense and oh as sweet as the sent of a rose with anticipation to what is to come in each series of the dark tower. A movie must come out for this but will never live up to the creativity, no the brillance of this saga that tells of a gunslinger who must save all creation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    If you liked the series then it's worth a peek because the graphics are really well done. The writing is not nearly as good as the book but that's to be expected because of the format. I read it in less than 2 hours and spent a lot of time admiring the artwork.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2007

    also a reviewer

    Me too!!! I love the books and totally agree with the movie idea! This is an amazing story and a fabulous way to tell it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4