Customer Reviews for

The Guy I'M Not Dating

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing

    My sister had recommended this book to me after she was done reading it & had placed it on my vanity hoping id read it right away but id avoid it for days until one day I said "what the heck lets see what this books all about" ...OMG! I fell in love with it. After reading a few pages the 1st time it was hard to put the book down because (Kara) made me laugh so much & the passion her & (Gabe)have for eachother was incredible. It's truly inspiring for christian singles who want to take the best & spirital step in courting. Im a hopeless romantic & I love cute dating love stories like this. I sooo recommend this book...truly amazing :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A book with take home valu

    This is my first chick lit and I really enjoyed reading it.<BR/><BR/>Our own little church group in the area of Ellensburg, WA had taken up this custom of courting-vs-dating. All my children are married so I didn't get involved with it, plus I live in Ohio. But I wasn't sure what I thought of the idea. I was intrigued by the story premise of Trish's book. She made a believer out of me. I wish all Christian churches would promote this concept. <BR/><BR/>And the book was not a dry read. It was funny and sweet and I couldn't put it down until I had turned the last page.<BR/><BR/>I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    I have mentioned before how much I love chick lit right? There's just something about reading women my age, going through the same situations I'm in, that makes for a great read. This book fits all those expectations and more. I admired Kara for her no dating policy. It's a different approach for a chick lit book as opposed to all the other stories where the girl tries to get the guy. It was an interesting switch to have the guy want to try to get the girl this time. I felt Kara and Gabe's chemistry was excellent throughout the novel. He seems like a great guy and someone who'd I'd like to date (if I wasn't already attached that is). I also enjoyed Kara's attitude towards Tiffany. I know Christians are supposed to be non-judgmental and be loving, but it is normally not realistic to act happy when someone annoys you. So I was glad to read that while Kara didn't act catty toward Tiffany, she did get annoyed and frustrated at her. It's ok to NOT like someone and still be a Christian. I will admit, in the beginning of the book, I didn't like Addie at all. Not that I have a problem with elderly folk, but I don't like it when they assume things and push people around to have things done their own way. And then they will use their age as their excuse, and since the rule is to always obey your elders, they will always get their way. So I was frustrated at first with Addie and her meddling. But as the story went on, I grew to like her very much, especially when we meet up with her sister and their adventures together. I'm also hoping that there will be a book on Jeremy. I love British guys, there's just something about that accent! It makes me just picture him as a Jude Law lookalike. This was a really fun book to read. The characters are all very colorful, the writing fresh and witty, and the story fast paced and a joy to read. Trish Perry has definately made her mark in the Christian chick lit world and it's a definite winner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    Romantic Chic Lit with a Difference

    Kara Richardson isn't a single looking for her mate. She's a single out NOT to date. Her latest breakup has shown her one thing. It's a good idea to be friends with a guy before you give him your heart. But what are resolutions for except to be tested? No sooner has Kara made her BIG DECISION than the most gorgeous, perfect guy she's ever met walks into her life. You'll hoot, you'll chortle, you'll snicker and giggle, but you won't make it through this book without lots of laughter (good medicine, right?), and a healthy dose of new perspective on guy meets gal. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome chick lit!

    Kara Richardson is a personal trainer at a gym. Gabe Paolino is a new deli owner in town. Both are Christians and drawn to each other. But they have a problem. Kara was burned in a prior relationship and promised herself she will stop dating men and be friends first. Then if the Lord leads... Gabe is a fairly new Christian who attracts women like bees to honey, but he¿s only interested in one woman, Kara. The concept of not dating intrigues him so much he buys the book Kara references. Then he decides he likes the idea and they resolve to be friends. Friends who see each other A LOT. Friends who travel together with several teens, two hilarious old ladies, and one conceited woman who won¿t leave Gabe alone. Friends who share their hopes and dreams and discuss matters of the heart. The laugh-out-loud adventures of Gabe and Kara, who are so incredibly attracted to each other, lead to some pretty tense, but poignant moments in this novel. So many times I found myself sitting on the edge of my seat waiting for one of them to grab the other. LOL! Great romance here, but also very clean! Well done! An innocent desire to know each other more drives a lot of Gabe and Kara¿s behavior, but it tortures Kara that she¿s so attracted to him. However, she realizes there are traits Gabe has that have nothing to do with his looks, but have made him totally endearing to her. Like putting other people's needs before his own. That speaks volumes to Kara. Gabe is truly the ultimate hero. I loved him! In case the reader missed that point about beauty not being as attractive as character, the author portrays it again in Tiffany, who is completely into herself and thinks of no one else's needs...ever. The author shows how being Christ-like can attract people to Christ, though in this story not every soul is saved. But that's real life. The elderly women, Addie and Lurlene, added a lot of charm to this novel. I guess when you¿re as old as dirt you can tell it like it is, and those old ladies had some real zingers... especially with Tiffany, the character most readers would love to hate. And sweet Addie was practically senile, making for some very humorous situations. In this novel there were some very touching and insightful moments that I think every Christian should experience. And the ability the author had to make you care about the characters was truly amazing! This book was not only fun (though it was hilarious), but it also caused me to think differently. I¿m very impressed with the underlying theme in The Guy I¿m Not Dating, and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    Chick Lit Fun

    By the end of the first chapter I couldn't put this book down. The main character Kara (great name isn't it!) was easy to like. A smart yet klutzy gal, she stumbles into a cafe that's under construction to avoid a rainstorm. When she turns around she sees a great looking guy, and all she can say is 'Yowza.' Not once, but twice. He asks her out to lunch, and she turns him down because she's recently decided not to date. If you've seen Josh Harris' book I Kissed Dating Goodbye, you've got the idea behind her new stand. Normally, it wouldn't be a problem, but almost immediately after making that commitment, Kara meets Gabe, a great Christian guy, and wonders if she's just made the biggest mistake of her life. Add a co-worker who puts Gabe in her sights, Gabe's siblings and friend who show up without telling anyone they were making the trip up from Florida, and a distant relative of Kara's to the mix, and you have a fun book with a great supporting Greek chorus. The book frolics through the pages and has the feel of a chick lit. The supporting cast is a little deeper and crazier than some chick lits, and the sense of humor is great. I could relate to a gal who seems to have it all together but runs into every corner or large piece of furniture in her path. If you're looking for a fun read, I highly recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1