Customer Reviews for

The Ha-Ha: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Entertaining and heartbreaking

    If you don't feel total empathy for the lead character by the end of the book you don't have a heart! Without getting political or taking sides the author takes us through a few weeks of a disabled vet's life. He has settled into a routine developed over many years designed to avoid challenges or new experiences. Forced to accept responsibility for someone other than himself opens his eyes to new possibilities and a reevaluation of his potential, physically and emotionally.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Ha Ha was honestly an awesome book. For me it took a few chapters to get REALLY into the plot, but just a few chapters in I was hooked. The author gives you an exclusive oppurtunity to look inside the main characters mind and spirit, when in fact he has no way of experessing himself otherwise due to the fact that he is mute and unable to read or write. You will go through highs and lows along with all the characters, and become molded into the story itself. After I was done reading, I honestly missed being part of their world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Unforgetable Characterrs

    Dave King's characters come alive to the point you feel that you are participating in the novel. What insight Mr. King has about the characters feelings and how they present themselves and express themselves to one another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Heartwarming story

    Three decades ago while on his first month of duty in Viet Nam, Howard Kapostash suffered a head injury that devastated his communication abilities. Though his intelligence remained average, he no longer could speak, nor write or read. His emotional quotient was already lagging before the trauma and over the subsequent thirty years since has not developed. Howard shares his childhood home with Vietnamese-American Laurel, who makes specialty soups for local restaurants; and Steve and Harrison two housepainters he calls to himself Nit and Nat.......................... Taking advantage that Howard still has some feelings for her, Sylvia dumps her reticent nine-year-old child Ryan on Howard to take care of him while she is away though he has no experience with children. This dysfunctional commune soon comes together as the four adults responsibly and lovingly rally for the child. As the quartet learn about what life is all about, Sylvia will return soon and take away their catalyst, but will each one slip back to indifference and irresponsibility?......................... Though what happens to the foursome when Ryan enters their lives seems too obvious and expected, readers will not care as Dave King provides a deep look at the importance of having a reason to live not jus exist. The story line is terrific as the four adults begin to mature and provide stability to the introverted child who changed their lives for the better. Fans will enjoy this fine character study as everyone begins to heal because now they have a cause............................ Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    I no

    But still we mught

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Anna

    I misssssss uuu :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Kira

    Whatz up anna where have u been i missssssssssssss u. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Den

    For: colorslash, nova, silvermoonstar, and anyone else!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Russetkit

    Paded in with some moss that she had collected herself on her way here. She had a few pieces of dirt in it but she didn't care, she just found a fern and set her moss down under it and make her moss into her own little nest and then fell asleep not even shivering from the cold but just sleeping, relaxed and proud.-Russetkit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Seedpelt to a mateless tom

    I am about to have 4 kits and i need a mate. My description is at cloudy sky result 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Pantherpaw

    *a pure black she cat with amber eyes pads in* Hello. My nam is Pantherpaw. May I join?~ Pantherpaw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Awesome Book

    I Loved this book. Makes you think of our military men and women how they leave for war one way and come back another way sometimes with a disability. Maybe I was thinking to deeply but I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Entertaining & Meaningful

    The author writes so well from the point of view of someone who can't speak, read or write. Reading this story through Howard's thoughts and gestures is a unique experience. It is such a real story that draws you in so when you put it down you'll momentarily forget that you don't have to stay silent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE HA-HA is very, very good.

    I thoroughly enjoyed THE HA-HA. It is about a man who finds himself by connecting with a kid. He takes care of the kid for a friend of his and grows to love that responsibility. Happiness can come from the least expected places. The characters are well developed and diverse. THE HA-HA would be good reading for students. And for everybody for that matter. Definately recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    loved it!

    I love a book that makes me wish i knew these characters in real life..and this one did. I wanted to live with these people! It also reminded me to be more compasionate of people with disabilities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2005

    Good Stuff

    Enjoyable, easy read with solid characters and a true heartfelt hero. Hated getting to the end of this book...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2