Customer Reviews for

The Half-Breed Vampire (Harlequin Nocturne Series #132)

Average Rating 4
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have been waiting for this book since last year when I read th

    I have been waiting for this book since last year when I read the first
    two books in the Sons of Midnight series. And I am so glad its finally
    available. I was drawn into the story from the first pages and didnt
    want to stop reading until I was finished. Actually the only reason I
    did take a break and stop reading was I did have to go to work the next
    day and needed some sleep. Although it was still hard to stop thinking
    about the story and what was going to happen next. Both Slade and Raina
    are very interesting characters that are strong, and sell reliant but
    that end up complimenting each other perfectly. While intially they are
    at odds with each other, they come to work together as a great team.
    Both characters have surprises in store for them in the story and its
    fun to follow along and see where they end up. While I did read the two
    books previous to this. I do not feel it is a requirement to read them
    in order. By reading in order you do find out more about what is going
    on in the world around them with vampirism and what mortals know about
    the paranormal world that exists. But it is possible to enjoy this
    story without the extra background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Good Vampire/Werewolf Romance. Okay, let me just start out b

    An Good Vampire/Werewolf Romance.

    Okay, let me just start out by saying that I did enjoy the story! I liked Theresa's take on vampires and their abilities. I've read other vampire stories where the vampires could transport themselves wherever they needed to go. Well, Theresa's vampires can do the same though maybe in a slightly different way. Plus, they can manifest whatever they need as if by magic, they can turn invisible, and they can be outside during the day, though they don't like to be.

    The relationship that developed between Raina and Slade was sweet. She has a thing for bad boys and tries very hard not to think about Slade in any other way than a professional manner. Slade, as I mentioned, he doesn't like cops, and he also tries his best to stay professional when it comes to Raina. Of course, it doesn't work for either of them. :) And as romances are my favorites, I do enjoy a good love scene, but the main love scene in this was kind of disappointing. It was over far too quickly.

    Now, although I did like the story, I must admit that I do have some issues with it. In the beginning when Slade takes Raina out to track the wolves, he keeps reminding himself that humans may be aware of vampires now, but they are not aware that Weres exist. So when Slade talks with Raina about the wolves, he intentionally keeps that little tidbit to himself. However, at one point, he says to Raina: "Most shifters don't come out until dusk." I believe that may have been a mistake because once Slade says that to her, she didn't question his use of the word "shifter'. Something else that confused me was that when Slade does eventually tell Raina about Weres, she actually thinks he's kidding and doesn't believe him. Yet, after they return to the clan complex, Raina tells Slade that her and Achilles believe that Slade is part Were. Unless I missed something here, that didn't make sense to me. Raina didn't know anything about Weres, and suddenly she's telling Slade that her and Achilles believe that Slade is part Were. I even read the book twice which is when this part actually caught my attention. So yeah, I felt there were some inconsistencies within the story plus some spelling and grammatical errors.

    ** I received a copy of The Half-Breed Vampire for review as part of the Knights of the Round Table group on Goodreads.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    I received this as part of a Goodreads group The Knights of the

    I received this as part of a Goodreads group The Knights of the Round Table giveaway. This was a great quick read. I thought that the characters were well thought out and very believable. And even though the plot centered on the conflict between vampires vs weres, it was done in such a way (with a nice little goddess twist) that didn't have me thinking 'enough already'. Theresa Meyers is a great author and I can't wait to read the previous two books from this series. And hopefully there will be some additional story arcs in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Half-Breed Vampire is the third story in this series. I have

    The Half-Breed Vampire is the third story in this series. I have not had the pleasure to read the previous books, but I can assure you that it reads just fine on its own. This story brings us Slade, a vampire, as he fights to save his clan from a goddess who has talked the local were/shifter clan into starting a war. He teams up with a human woman, Raina, who is the local game warden, a member of the were community, but doesn’t actually believe in any of it.



    They both set out to investigate the sightings of large wolves as well as the disappearance of a community member. However, Raina soon learns she gets more answers than she bargained for. She is the were packs Whisperer, and the last woman to hold that position was brutally murdered by the wolves. Slade on the other hand gets answers to his life long questions: who his parents were and why he was abandoned at the age of eight.



    Can these two come together to save not only the vampires, but themselves too? Does Slade’s past come back to bite him, literally?



    As always it can be difficult when you read a new author, and this is especially true with any paranormal genre. Each writer creates their own rules, beings, and how they come to be. This author chose a different perspective than what I am used to. In this story both were and vampires are based upon an actual virus, and both are passed through blood – typically when bitten. I feel it’s good to know this before hand as in this story there is always the choice, well usually, but I don’t want to give anything away.



    Overall I enjoyed the story, and I savored upon the love scenes. If you enjoy paranormal, strong romance, and a lot of physical action then this one is for you. There is even a bit of humor here and there, and I found myself chuckling out loud in a few places too. My only complaint is that there were a few typographical errors, but since I was reviewing an advanced version, it’s unlikely that they will be in the final version.
    Originally Reviewed at: Mother/Gamer/Writer
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5 Controllers
    Reviewer: Heather

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Somewhat predictable, but an overall satisfying read! For full r

    Somewhat predictable, but an overall satisfying read!
    For full review including excerpt and dialogue highlight, please visit Reader's Edyn at:
    readersedyn (dot) blogspot (dot) com

    Review:

    ...I found this book enjoyable if a bit predictable. It wasn’t like I was sitting on the end of my chair waiting to see what would happen next. But despite the foresight into the events of the story, I felt my time was well spent. Ms. Meyers has built a world of her own. While many have created vampire and werewolf worlds, the Sons of Midnight series has it’s own unique traits. Traits such as ichor the thin, black substance that can best be described as vampire blood. Ichor is also used as a drug of sorts, given to the human security that is not vampire within the clan, but bestowing superhuman abilities within them. Pretty cool if you ask me. And for werewolves – any shifter really – you would think that the rearranging of the body into an alternate form would be somewhat gruesome. Well, Ms. Meyers includes such description without making the reader ill with the sound of cracking bone, popping joints, and squishing muscles and ligaments. *shudders* That is about as gruesome as I can handle. Horror and me no mixey! You dig?

    I also liked that although Raina and Slade acknowledge their desire to be together, they are under no disillusionment that being together is in any way possible. Despite hope that it could happen, they know it can’t be. Making everything all cute and rosy without conflict is not the way I like my stories. Throwing in twists that make the inevitable seem unattainable is much more my style and The Half-Breed Vampire meets this quality I desire within my reads.

    What I did not like was the lack of physical scenes between Slade and Raina. I felt like there could have been more than just the one scene. There were a few other instances that were teasers, if you will, but with the attraction between these two, I would have like to see just a bit more in the intimacy department. Complaint aside, the few scenes that were present were well written and exciting. Another problem I had was the book ended hastily. It wasn’t abrupt in the sense that I was screaming – why the hell did you end it here? But it was unexpected in the sense that there were still quite a few unanswered questions, leaving the reader to make assumptions. Questions that I hope would be addressed in the following book in the series.

    Overall, The Half-Breed Vampire is an enjoyable read with creative twists on the paranormal world. As book 3 in the series, it can absolutely be read as a stand alone. As with many series books, I believe the hindsight from reading the first two books would have enhanced the read, but were not necessary to facilitate the reader’s understanding. Predictable, yet satisfying, this book is worth the read.

    (PDF copy provided by Author and Bewitching Book Tours for review)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Half-Breed Vampire by Theresa Meyers Book 3 of The Sons of M

    The Half-Breed Vampire by Theresa Meyers
    Book 3 of The Sons of Midnight Series
    Slade Donovan is a vampire, by choice. At eight years old he woke up on the streets and didn't remember his past. Later the vampires had found him and took him in under their care. When given the choice to become a vampire he accepted. Now he is called upon to help a woman with wolf problems. Nature girl, Raina Ravenwing, is not his type of woman and yet as he works along side of her attractions blooms.

    Raina needs to find where this new wolf pack has come from and why they are bothering her people. She is known as the tribes Wolf Whisperer but until now she never believed there was anything to the title. And than Slade tells her werewolves exist and she can hear them. The vampires and wolves are sworn enemies but can they come together to fight a deceitful goddess who is trying to destroy them all? And what happens when Slade finds out his true roots and his childhood memories return?

    I have not read the previous two books in this series: Book 1 is The Truth About Vampires and book 2 is The Vampire Who Loved me. If you like series though I think reading them first would add to this story as well, although it was very good as a stand alone book as well.
    **Sexual situations
    **Received through NetGalley for review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Escape into thier world

    The Half-Breed Vampire by Theresa Meyers
    3 Stars
    It was a good story but I felt a little lost because if there were early stories that I had not read. Just did not connect to the characters.
    Raina Ravenwing is a game warden and is following a bunch of wolves that are larger than normal.She comes upon a man that the wolves are surrounding him.
    Slade Donovan is a vampire and demolitions expert for the vampires security team. The wolves are following him and he can hear them and understand them. He now knows they are shifters. He wounds some and kills one when Raina tries to arrest him for killing a protected wolf.
    Slade puts a glamor on her and leaves her a sleep in her car and to forget him.
    The next day she is at the vampire headquarters asking for help to track a missing boy that the wolves might have taken. His boss tells him to help her.
    While slade and Raina are on the mountain tracking them he has a attack of moon sickness that he alone gets. He passes out for the first time for six hours.
    The wolves attack them and Raina can talk to them too. She is called the wolve whisper and thought all the old stories were just stories. She saw the last wisper get torn apart by the wolves and that was Slade's mother.
    I think I would have liked it better if I had read the first two stories. I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley.
    02/28/2012 PUB Harlequin Nocturne

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1