Customer Reviews for

The Half-Stitched Amish Quilting Club

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A Motley Crowd

Amish Emma Yoder didn’t like depending on her children. To earn some money, she advertised that she would teach quilting. She didn’t expect the motley crowd who stood on her porch for the first class—all suffering invisible hurts. The bickering couple, the biker whose p...
Amish Emma Yoder didn’t like depending on her children. To earn some money, she advertised that she would teach quilting. She didn’t expect the motley crowd who stood on her porch for the first class—all suffering invisible hurts. The bickering couple, the biker whose parole officer suggested he find a creative outlet, and the African-American minister’s wife have little in common. Emma feels she might have more to give than quilting lessons. Emma Yoder and Ruby Lee ring true. I believed Stuart and Pam. But Jan, the biker, and Star, the Goth teenager weren’t quite believable. They should have had a few rough edges. I don’t know any bikers except the Christian Motorcycle Club, who probably aren’t typical. However, my impression is that though they might love their dogs, they might also have to watch their language (for example), and troubled teens aren’t this wholesome. They suffer from cutting, Bulimia, disrespect for adults, or other symptoms of their pain. This book is a pleasant read for a Sunday afternoon when you don’t want the world’s problems to disturb you. It also gives a peek in to the Amish life for those of us who wish we could live that simply for God. A phone shack? My grandson texts in his sleep. I received this book from NetGalley. It is an honest review.

posted by PatWKirk on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Easy read, cute story

Cute story with a quiet message. Loved how all the characters came together in the end. One of these days, I'd like to try to make the quilt from the pattern in the book.

posted by 9143055 on November 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Motley Crowd

    Amish Emma Yoder didn’t like depending on her children. To earn some money, she advertised that she would teach quilting. She didn’t expect the motley crowd who stood on her porch for the first class—all suffering invisible hurts. The bickering couple, the biker whose parole officer suggested he find a creative outlet, and the African-American minister’s wife have little in common. Emma feels she might have more to give than quilting lessons. Emma Yoder and Ruby Lee ring true. I believed Stuart and Pam. But Jan, the biker, and Star, the Goth teenager weren’t quite believable. They should have had a few rough edges. I don’t know any bikers except the Christian Motorcycle Club, who probably aren’t typical. However, my impression is that though they might love their dogs, they might also have to watch their language (for example), and troubled teens aren’t this wholesome. They suffer from cutting, Bulimia, disrespect for adults, or other symptoms of their pain. This book is a pleasant read for a Sunday afternoon when you don’t want the world’s problems to disturb you. It also gives a peek in to the Amish life for those of us who wish we could live that simply for God. A phone shack? My grandson texts in his sleep. I received this book from NetGalley. It is an honest review.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    I enjoy a good relationship book. Add a Christian story line wit

    I enjoy a good relationship book. Add a Christian story line with good character development and I have a winner. Widowed grandmother, Emma, decided to run quitting classes to help support herself. Her first class has an unusual group of people beginning with a bickering couple who can barely speak a civil word. The other students are a burley biker dude named "Jan Sweet"; a gothic dressed somber young girl attending via the wish of her recently diseased grandmother; a young widower, toting his nine month old daughter; a seemingly normal young black pastor's wife; and a non-student Amish widower who keeps showing up unexpectedly. With the classes and developing relationships of these folks we get problems, joys, and God-directed coincidences. I hope there might be a follow-up to this book in the future!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Yes - Recommend

    This book really portrays where people really are in life ... not just some made up romantic happenstance. You can feel each person's issues ... and how a simple project and unconventional group of people really help each other. Read it. You will be pleasantly surprised.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An interesting mix of characters In an effort to support hersel

    An interesting mix of characters

    In an effort to support herself widow Emma Yoder decides to teach quilting so she posts signs and advertises for students. She accepts six students and oh what a mixed group of students they are, three women and three men including one couple trying to save their marriage, a pastors wife, a biker who lost his drivers license and has to ride a bicycle, a widower with a young baby and a very troubled young girl who's grandmother actually signed her up for the class before she died.




    Emma misses her husband terribly and has no interest in remarrying but she is being pursued by Lamar, a widower who doesn't want to live the rest of his years alone. When Emma gets shingles, Lamar fills in for her one Saturday and shares his interest in quilting with the students. Emma continues to brush him off though.




    While they are learning quilting the students are all going through their own personal turmoil, will the quilting club students ever finish their wall hangings? Emma finds herself wondering if this was a good idea when she finds personalities clashing more than she feels comfortable with.




    This was a pretty interesting story. With the differences in the students personalities, even the couple, you wonder if they will all continue to the end of the course and will they every find peace for themselves.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the NetGalley book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Easy read, cute story

    Cute story with a quiet message. Loved how all the characters came together in the end. One of these days, I'd like to try to make the quilt from the pattern in the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Honest to goodness characters!

    Easy to appreciate all the quilters and their different levels of faith. This book reaffirms that we are all valuable in God's eyes!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    Oh My!!! It was such a great book!! Could not put it down.The wa

    Oh My!!! It was such a great book!! Could not put it down.The way everyone's lives came togather was awsome! Do not like to say a lot because it would give away the story,everyone needs to read it for themselves.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    New twist on Wanda's books, GREAT!!

    Wanda came up with a new twist in this story, Emma Yoder had lost her husband and was having a hard time making ends meet. Her grown children had to pitch in and help so she though up an idea that might bring in a little money for herself. As she loved to quilt as most Amish women do, she decided to see if she could teach Amish quilting. She posted little notes around town and before she knew it she had 6 students and none of them knew a thing about sewing nor quilting. They just all needed some interest outside of their own lives they now lived.

    This was really a mixed up group, a man and his wife that was having married problems, a young widower with a baby that needed to finish the baby quilt his young wife had started before she was killed in a car accident. A minister's wife that needed an outside interest beside the problems at her church, a biker that had lost his drivers license and a young woman with all kind of trouble.

    Sometime when the group met. Emma tough she was going to have to call someone to stop a fight. They all had troubles and seem to want to pick on each other. But all in all the group needed more that just learning how to quilt, they needed someone to listen. God can work out problems if we will only let him, but he does it in His own time and way. Even Emma might find a new love in her neighbor.

    Anytime I receive a book by Wanda Brunstetter I want to jump right in and read, so that is what I did. There is a quilt pattern inserted in the book, how great is that!

    I want to thank the Author and Barbour Publishing for sending me this copy to read and enjoy and I choose to review it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    The blending of two cultures in a clean, multi-emotional book. I

    The blending of two cultures in a clean, multi-emotional book. I think the story was great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    I¿d love to be able to give this book more than 5 stars! I real

    I’d love to be able to give this book more than 5 stars!

    I really like to read Amish fiction. The whole lifestyle is so much slower paced than mine. I find them to be not only entertaining but relaxing as well. 

    I enjoy Wanda Brunstetter’s books very much. She has a very clear writing style that adds to my enjoyment. This book is no different. I love the cast of characters that she has developed for it. They are all vastly different and yet most of them are very likeable right from the start. Even those that annoyed me at the beginning eventually turned out to have some wonderfully redeeming qualities and I liked them all by the end of the book.

    Each family represented has their own problems that they are dealing with. Wanda does a fabulous job of working each of them through their problems individually and yet with the support of the others in the quilting class. She shows that it very possible for those who are struggling to be just what someone else needs to help them through their own difficulties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Loved this story!

    What a great story of love lost and found with families comimg together. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Fun read

    I really enjoyed this light read. It took me awhile to see.how the author was going to get me to like a couple.of the characters, but, that she did. I'm thankful for happy endings :-) There are strong moral messages throughout the book, one being, to not judge people by surface appearances, which can be a real struggle for me! I recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2012

    Very interesting characters

    I enjoyed the book. Great characters all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Excellent book!!!

    This is an excellent story!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Delightful Book. Highly Recommeded Read

    Well written, delightful story and a great intertwining of the character's lives and interactions. I will definitely read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Great book. Interesting story.

    Wasn't sure what to expect from this book, but really enjoyed it. Lots of interesting happenings, to keep you turning the next page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Loved this book!

    It is a really good story about how the lives of 8 strangers become good friends and how the Lord worked in all their lives. A feel good story. Love to meet Emma!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Funny and heart warming

    This book is a good read even if it is a bit predictable. Still enjoyed it very much though. A good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Predictable....not as good as her other books that I have read

    I have read several books by this author and enjoyed them. This one was ok but predictable and a little boring....the plot could have been expanded on and made more interesting

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Really good book

    This is a fun, sad, fast read book. I thoroughl6y enjoyed it and the characters in it. Would read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2