Customer Reviews for

The Hallowed Ones

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Better than expected

    Really enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Well done!!!

    So very pleased with this!!! Wonderful story, interesting characters, well written... I truly enjoyed this book, and look forward to the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Growing up in an Amish community, Katie is looking forward to Ru

    Growing up in an Amish community, Katie is looking forward to Rumspringa for a real taste of the Outside world. Her and childhood friend Elijah have everything planned out that they want to do before going back to the Plain community to give up their childhood ways and get married. But a series of strange events send Katie's life into an uncontrolled spiral. Strange things are happening, people are disappearing, and Katie must decide if she should trust herself and do what is right or listen to the Elders and ignore everything, hoping it will go away.

    As you can see from my five-star rating, I really, really liked this book. Katie is not fearless, but despite her fear she does what she believes is right. Throughout the story she is constantly searching for something to justify or confirm her community's faith. She realizes that she is not perfect, which makes her feel guilty, but she can't help but question how God's will fits into the horrific events taking over her life. She is young and innocent and has an appealing quality to her that made me want her to keep fighting against the Elders even though she would eventually get caught. I loved her sweet, innocent relationship with Elijah and was rooting for them from the beginning, but then later was hoping something more would come of Alex. I look forward to finding out more about him in the next book.

    Not having ever read a book set in the Amish world, I was not really sure what to expect. But I thought the author did such a wonderful job of building up the world the story was set in. Katie's day to day life and the activity within the community was so eloquently described, I felt I could literally step into the pages of the book, and the writing was alluring and descriptive.

    I guess I should mention at some point that this is a horror story, and at times a bit gory. However, the horror aspect did not overshadow the rest of the storytelling. I felt there was a good balance in the story and am looking forward to the next one to find out what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The wonderful and very amazing Jen from YA Romantics  had recomm

    The wonderful and very amazing Jen from YA Romantics  had recommended this book to me telling me how scary good it was.  That was back around Halloween (I know it took me a long time to finally get it) but I finally picked it up and I am so glad I did.  This book puts the frightening back into vampires!
    There is definitely no sparkly brooding vamps here people.  Nope!  These are the vampires that will be just as happy eating your face off as they will draining you of your entire blood supply.  But these guys are mindless killing machines either; they are smart and clever killing machines. 




    Laura Bickle has taken a turn for the more traditional storyline with the terrifying vampires that decide to go after everything.  And I love her for this.  Don't get me wrong:  I love the brooding sexy vampire that hates what he/she truly is as much as the next guy.  But....there is just something about the scary as hell vampires that love being what they are and love hunting down their food source like a predator. 
    A good comparison for these vampires are the ones from 30 Days of Night. 




    But there is a lot more to this story than just vampires; sorry I really dig those guys though.  Our main protagonist, Katie, is a very different heroine but definitely one I truly love indeed.  Katie is an Amish girl  impatiently waiting for the chance to go out on her Rumspringa, which is basically like Spring Break for the young Amish people.  It's where they go out into the world and experience the secular world and decide if they want to stay or come back to their people. 




    This is where we see how completely cut off from the world this Amish community truly is because the Outside world is in complete disarray while life continues to move along at a slow and steady pace for them. But they finally see the upset that is happening when it comes to close for comfort at their doorsteps. 
    I really loved Katie as an character.  She was curious; always questioning her elders and the rules they set in place as the world went further into turmoil.  Katie is also very strong and handled the apparent threats in the town much better than I think anyone else would have.  But we also see that Katie can be fragile as glass at other points in the book.  I think I really enjoyed the well roundness of her personality.  Even her faith, while some of the closed mindedness she exhibited when she learned other religious groups could try to battle the evil by saying:
    "God cannot be everywhere. Not everyone is right."
    did upset me, I found that Katie was much more devout than some of the elders with her faith because of her undying need to protect those who needed it.  No matter if they were Amish or not. 
    She didn't have that snobbery that most of the other Amish elders and families there in the community had against outsiders. 




    These two dynamics: the Amish and vampires, are definitely an original idea to me.  I think it was an awesome idea to take these two seemingly vast opposites and put them into a book where it seems the world may very well be coming to an end in the most evil way possible.  Then we get to see how these two play against each other as well compliment each other too. 
    I was completely hooked from the first minute I started reading this book.  I always had this ominous feeling about me as I read it; like someone was going to jump out at me and scream "BOO!" any moment.  I love that feeling, just like when you watch a scary movie.  It was just amazing for me that I got it from reading a book.  I hardly ever have that creepy feeling and when I find a book that takes my breath away with that kind of energy I know I have found a truly special thing!  I loved The Hallowed Ones and I cannot wait till I can't get my hands on the second book. 
    I give it .........................

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    In short, WOW. I absolutely LOVED this book and it has easily ma

    In short, WOW. I absolutely LOVED this book and it has easily made it´s way into my favourites of the year.

    The book tells of an Amish girl close to her Rumspringa she has decided to go on with her lifelong friend, and more, Elijah. Rumspringa means leaving the familiar community and seeing the world outside without all the restrictions. But before that can happen something in the world Outside happens.. and everyone is forbidden to leave or enter their lands. As strange and terrible things starts to happen they are faced with the only conclusion. That something has already gotten inside..and Katie is among those fighting of the evil.

    The horror in this book sneaks up on you and before you realise, you are feeling like YOU should be running for your life. Most of the time I need romance in a book for me to really love it. In this book there is a part for romance too, though it is definitely not the focus of the story. The book has made me flinch a number of times and hold my breath like watching a movie that makes you scared. There were moments when I had to think that I cannot continue reading in the dark, that I had to quit and wait for morning and light. So yes, I pretty much loved this book for the terribleness of it!

    If you can´t handle gory details, this book is not for you, also I wouldn´t give the book for anyone really young either. But for others I would definitely recommend this book! It goes straight to my absolute favourites of the year! There were many themes woven into this story which made it the more intense. I am sure the book would´ve worked only as a story about Amish people being faced with paranormal danger from Outside, but all the other themes made it more powerful a story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    I literally have NOTHING bad to say about this book! Well, okay.

    I literally have NOTHING bad to say about this book! Well, okay. I do hope there’s a second book, only because it ended with a “and they left into the vampire ridden sunset”. Yeah. I seriously need to know what happened to them next!!




    I’ve had the opportunity to review this book a couple of times, but seeing an Amish girl on the cover kind of turned me off. I was just like, “Meh. I don’t feel like reading about how great dirt and God are. Thanks.” My inside voice is quite sharp and not very nice. However, after the third time it showed up in my email, I said to myself, “Self, this might just be fate. Or an aggressive promotion. Either one. You should try it.”




    I am SO GLAD I did!!! Man! I was GLUED to my Kindle! I couldn’t put it down! I loved the fact that Katie wasn’t the typical, obedient girl. If she were, I’d have had a really hard time reading it. I might not be an out right rebel, but I bristle at the idea of mindlessly obeying. Katie followed both her heart and her gut! That girl, while emotionally immature (she’s a teenager, it’s kind of expected), has a lot of moxie! I was cheering her on!




    And Alex? Oh dear, good grief! I’m sincerely glad that Ms. Bickle didn’t do what I thought she was going to do and make him a vampire. When he first appeared on the scene and Katie started noticing the flaking hex sign on her kennel, I cringed and said, “Oh, no. Not again. Please, please, please! Not again.” She didn’t. Alex is a perfectly human teenage boy. She did a great, great job penning him.




    The setting! AAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHH!! The setting was brilliant!!! Loved it! There are just so many of the little details that Ms. Bickle sprinkled throughout the book that made me feel comfortable in this Amish community. It really could have gone another way. You know when you open a book and you’re thrust into a setting that just makes you squirm? Where you’re picturing yourself there and you’re like, “Oh, man. They’re going to see me. It’s going to go badly. Their church (yes, the imaginary one) is going to go up in flames. This is going to be bad.” Ms. Bickle used what I would call a very fine brush when painting her setting.




    She used Katie to do it. Katie has such LOVE for her community and for all the people there, and her beliefs. It was just so natural. I thought it was amazingly brilliant!




    So! Should you read this book? YES!!!!!! You DEFINITELY SHOULD!! Go now! Do it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    Books about the Amish are my secret love.  I've lived within 10

    Books about the Amish are my secret love.  I've lived within 10 miles of Amish (and Mennonites) for the majority of my life and I've always fantasied about what it would be like to live among them.  Most books about the Amish are found in Christian literature  which tends to be preachy, so I end up skipping whole scenes.  When I heard about a paranormal Amish story, I was immediately intrigued, and yet skeptical.  I wasn't sure how capable the author was of staying true to the Amish lifestyle and religion, while still maintaining an element of suspense.  I'm happy to say that Laura Bickle surpassed all expectations.




    My only complaint about the novel is that the author went to great lengths to explain the Amish lifestyle and traditions, so at points, the pacing of the novel suffered.  On a flip side, I appreciate how at no point did the novel feel preachy, even as Kate was being preached to by the other characters.  The author did an excellent job of separating the characters' religious views from the narrative, so even as different religions were mention, there was no bashing or persuasion that one was better than another.




    With Kate's upbringing, she acts differently from any other heroine in YA fiction that I know.  I admire her bravery.  I understand both her rash decisions and the guilt that came soon after.  There is a love triangle, however it gradually enters the story and as a reader I know that for Kate, it isn't as simple as choosing between one man or another.  Rather it is about choosing whether to commit to the Amish faith or explore the dangerous world outside.




    (I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for my honest review.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Creeptastically wonderful! I think this book should come with so

    Creeptastically wonderful! I think this book should come with some kind of warning- "plays on all of your fears." That would be a good one. I love vampires, I've read tons of books that feature them- I was seriously worried that I was going to have nightmares about this one though. And vampires do not usually get to me. I had to wake up my husband and make him come lay on the outside of the bed to protect me from whatever imaginary beasts this book was going to cause my tired mind to invoke.

    I loved the characters. Katie is freaking amazing. I love her questioning spirit. Don't just let them tell you what to do, girlfriend! You ask your questions! It is awesome that she can use her brain to look at situations and see what is the right thing to do, verses what the Elders tell her what to do. Man, do I hate it when people try to act like they know everything and just expect you to blindly follow!

    And I love that she breeds dogs! That is such a real trait. Laura has done a marvelous job at crafting this world and the monsters in it.

    I highly recommend this to everyone! Read it, feel your arm hairs go up as you wonder if this is what our future holds and pray that it isn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Great!

    Very good! This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1