BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Handbook to Handling His Lordship

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book

I love suzanne enoch. Good book, easy to read

posted by 7117248 on March 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Slow, dreary and sad

This Tantalous series continues to be a big disappointment- eperhaps due to the wearying conversations about class, the lame attempts to draw out the inevitable, or the characters who enoch keeps insisting are facinating/ but saddly fall far far short of such a descript...
This Tantalous series continues to be a big disappointment- eperhaps due to the wearying conversations about class, the lame attempts to draw out the inevitable, or the characters who enoch keeps insisting are facinating/ but saddly fall far far short of such a description.

posted by Cleopatra11 on March 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Great book

    I love suzanne enoch. Good book, easy to read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2014

    The Scandalous Brides series by Suzanne Enoch has been an enjoya

    The Scandalous Brides series by Suzanne Enoch has been an enjoyable audiobook experience. With the exception of Rules to Catch a Devilish Duke, the third book in the series (which I read) Anne Flosnik has narrated the rest in a unique and engaging voice that perfectly captures the lovely blend of scandal and emotion that characterizes these stories. Her voices are easily distinguishable between men and women and even characters from previous books in the series, a challenge indeed. She reads with great feeling and emotion and perfectly depicts both humor and fear as appropriate.
    Nathaniel (Nate) Stokes is a former spy—and reluctant earl—for Wellington and has perfected the innocuous persona he adopts as the serious, absent-minded professor with a slight limp. He is approached and hired by the seedy but powerful Marquis of Ebberling to find Ebberling’s former governess, Rachel Newbury, whom he suspects of murdering his wife three years earlier. Ebberling wishes to remarry and now wants retribution. Nate soon learns things are not quite what they seem.
    Emily Portsman has been in hiding for the last three years at the provocative and exclusive Tantalus Club. She has changed her hair color, her style of dress, and even her manner as she lives quietly among other scandalous women who work at the club, keeps the account books, and takes an occasional lover to forget her despair for a little while.
    When Nate meets her, he is attracted to her but is also merely looking for information on Rachel Newbury. This alarms Emily enough to wish to keep him close so she invites him upstairs to her rooms where they begin a passionate affair that quickly turns into a friendship of trust and revelations.
    Their romance is mature and sexy as neither are virgins. They get to know each other and reveal more and more of their true selves as they slowly let down their guard. But Emily is of low birth while Nate is an earl, an unlikely match for any future happiness.
    As danger creeps ever closer to Emily, Nate desires nothing more than to protect her and keep her with him. Enoch captures Emily’s stark fear particularly well in the reveal scene.
    Enoch writes with feeling and poignancy as each of the Tantalus girls in the series finds happiness against all the odds. They are strong women but at the mercy of powerful men and the context of the historical period that limited women’s choices. In this way, it reminds me of Madeline Hunter's Rarest Blooms series. Enoch captures this desperation and the close friendship the women create among themselves in the midst of this stark vulnerability.
    I very much enjoyed the character of Laurence (Laurie), Nate’s younger brother. He’s likable yet immature, but he loves his brother devotedly. Their relationship is portrayed quite nicely and I would love to read his story sometime.
    I also wonder if Enoch will write a little novella with a happy ending for Genevieve Martine, the loyal French spy who has been a great supporter for all the Tantalus girls/Scandalous Brides in this series. 
    Characters from the first three books make an appearance here and I feel the series is best savored in order to truly appreciate the plot developments, but it could probably be read as a standalone. 
    A lovely feel-good romance but I thought the final scene unnecessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoying the series. The first one in the series was difficult t

    Enjoying the series. The first one in the series was difficult to get through. Love the fact that previous characters appear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Great Book!

    I am always so excited to read one of Suzanne's books. This one did not fail my expectations! Loved it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1