Customer Reviews for

The Hands of the Buddha

Average Rating 3.5
( 676 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(184)

4 Star

(133)

3 Star

(164)

2 Star

(90)

1 Star

(105)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Great Little Book

Great Book,Its a small Fast Read but has some great Quotes. You wont be dissapointed

posted by Interesting85 on July 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected.

I taught it would be about the Buddha and it's teachings. Instead it just listed a lot of philosophical sayings taken out of certain pages of the original book. In the beginning it tells you where to purchase the complete book. It was OK; I did highlight some sayings...
I taught it would be about the Buddha and it's teachings. Instead it just listed a lot of philosophical sayings taken out of certain pages of the original book. In the beginning it tells you where to purchase the complete book. It was OK; I did highlight some sayings I liked to put up in my office. I hope the rest of the free books offered by B & N are not a disappointment; because it appears most of them are not the complete book.

posted by TexMexRH on July 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 684 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    Not what I expected.

    I taught it would be about the Buddha and it's teachings. Instead it just listed a lot of philosophical sayings taken out of certain pages of the original book. In the beginning it tells you where to purchase the complete book. It was OK; I did highlight some sayings I liked to put up in my office. I hope the rest of the free books offered by B & N are not a disappointment; because it appears most of them are not the complete book.

    35 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    Great Little Book

    Great Book,Its a small Fast Read but has some great Quotes. You wont be dissapointed

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    Nothing New

    Just a listing of basic philosophies. Very short and very brief. All of this is easily found online.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    The Hands of the Buddha

    This read was very enlighting.

    5 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Freeeee

    If u want words of wisdom its called........... parents or family and its freeeeeeeee!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    If you are looking for the Dhammapada - this is it...

    Susan,

    Thank for your translation of the Dhammapada. I had "lost" my pocket sized copy on a recent plane flight. Counter to Buddha-dharma, I missed having my copy and wanted another.

    To many versions are cluttered with notes or whose translation is to formal. I found your version to be just right. :)

    Namaste,

    Steve

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    Awesome!

    Very insightful. I love flipping thriugh this wen im stressed or need advice :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    good for all!

    I know there are a lot of you out ther skirting the edge, looking for the answer . . . I come from the perhaps worst - 4Square/ fundamentalist/pentacostal! I have tried to be a solitary practionair(sp) of this for awhile. The thing about it though is that this openly invites, exploring faith (belief) within community. Community can be shared but not found online!
    To connect you have to connect. To know you have to know. To feel you have to feel.
    I found this to be soothing, realistic, and real! It broke it down for me. . .

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    very informative

    I have been studying buddhism for about three months now, and this is truly an eye opening book. it is short in length yet speaks with simple to understand metaphors. I actually highlighted many of thepassages and will put them to good use in my future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    fantastic book of quotes

    this has been an enjoyable read. the wisdomof buddha in a concise collection of sayings.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Sucks

    Bible is the best not this

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Wierd

    This is crazy, wierd, and the bible was created at THE beggining. You cant beat the bible. O.e

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Bible all the way!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Bible is best!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Really???!!!???

    Older than the bible? Sure. Buddism was actually made up after christs teachings. WHAT NOW??? Christian Bible ALL THE WAY!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Not a Chance

    Hellooo!? This is "from" a nonliving object someone carved out of wood! The Bible is the best book that has been writen. Don't waste your time reading this book because it is false.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Powerful Reading

    I enjoyed the time I have spent reading this book. It's very uplifting and it's very inspiring. I am going to read it again more deliberately and slowly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    BREAKING NEWS BIBLE WRITTEN BEFORE BUHDAA!!!!!

    Fyi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Title

    I hated this book soooo much it was the worst book in the world sory for being so harsh but its true

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Kaleises friend

    Hey kaleise wat u doin im an my room bored and u didnt even text me thats mest up ok by see u tommorow hit me up

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 684 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 35