Customer Reviews for

The Hanover Square Affair (Captain Lacey Regency Mysteries #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 238 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 238 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    A winner!!!!

    Regency England in 1816 is not the best place for a lame soldier on half pay with no prospects and no hope of finding any. Captain Gabriel Lacey and his commanding officer were asked to leave the army to avoid a court martial and scandal but the animosity between the two men exist to this very day. Still his ex-commander¿s wife Louisa tries to mend the breach that she was inadvertently responsible for causing.<P> Lacey rejects her overture but on his way to visit her without her husband there, he runs into a mob intending to assault the home of Josiah Horne. This curious captain goes to visit Josiah who thinks he wants the direction of a powerful man in the underworld. When he returns to the home to get the name, he find the man dead and castrated and a young girl drugged in a hidden compartment in the closet. He learns that another girl was there as well and he intends to find her or die trying.<P> The protagonist of THE HANOVER SQUARE AFFAIR is one of the most honorable men to grace the pages of a mystery book. He will risk his own life to right a wrong and that is the reason the audience will come to care for him and hope one day in his future he will find happiness. Ashley Gardner¿s debut novel compares favorably with writers who have made the best seller list.<P> Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    Excellently written, Complex

    So well written, this isn't just a fluffy historical mystery or romance. Authentic.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    Murder in London in the 1800's

    Captain Lacey is no longer in the military and is now living in London. One day he comes upon a mob throwing things at a home in Hanover Square. Since Hanover Square is one of the wealthier neighborhoods of London, a riot is one of the last things he would expect to find there. A young officer shoots Mr. Thornton, the leader of the mob. Captain Lacey comes to his rescue and helps Mr. and Mrs. Thornton get home. Mr. Thornton's maid, Alice, tells Captain Lacey that Mr. Horne lives in the house in Hanover Square. She also tells him that Mr. Thornton believes Mr. Horne kidnapped his daughter, Jane, and her maid, Aimee, from their carriage. They are still missing. Captain Lacey finds that Mr. Horne is associated with Mr. Denis -- not someone to get tangled up with. Mr. Grenville, Captain Lacey's friend, assists him in looking for Jane, but discourages him from interacting directly with Mr. Denis. Then Mr. Horne is found dead in his study. Aimee is found bound and drugged in a wardrobe just feet away from where Mr. Horne was killed, but Jane is nowhere to be found. As Captain Lacey and Mr. Grenville continue investigating to find Jane, they are told of another girl's disappearance. They end up putting themselves in great danger to locate Jane. The only thing I had trouble with was the setting -- London in 1816. I rarely read books set back that far in time, but I actually enjoyed this book. Captain Lacey is a very likeable fellow. His past has caused him much pain and he is trying to survive in a very tough world. I found the other characters, although some of them were less reputable, to be very well constructed. From her descriptions, I got a real sense of London in the 1800's. I recommend this book.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    I Love A Series!!!!

    Cant wait to find out what will happen to Captain Lacey in the Next book and new "Demons" he will battle. It was a good story for the price. I found this book easy to read and a page turner.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Love, love, love these books!

    I usually read romance novels. I decided to take a chance on the Captajn Lacey Mysteries because I enjoyed another of this author's series( The Pirate Next Door, The Pirate Hunters Lady and The Care and Feeding of Pirates) I am so happy I gave it a try. Great mysteries within the on going story of Captain Lacey's past. I am currently reading the second book in this series and plan to read all of them. Give them a try, you won't be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Excellent

    This is one of the best historical mysteries that I've read in a while and I read a lot of them. Not my favorite period, but Ms. Gardner makes the time come alive in the book. Her characters are complex and believable. I think Gabriel one of the most appealing heroes I've ever come across. Recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Regency Romance Meets Sherlocks Holmes

    After reading a few of these stories you'll find yourself half in love with our Captain Lacey! Murder, mysteries, crimes and a hint of romance on the backdrop of Regency England's ballrooms. Cor, its fantastic!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very Interesting

    This series of books bring back memories of "Columbo". Capt. Lacy is an early version of this show and is a very interesting character. He is also surrounded with many memorable people. Please read this series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Decent read

    Didnt care for all added characters in the book, but overall a good book to read if you enjoy historical books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Enjoyable reading

    A good story - every enjoyable. I never guessed the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2014

    Enjoyed it!

    A mixture of romance and mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2013

    It's true. You shouldn't judge a book by its cover. Due to the

    It's true. You shouldn't judge a book by its cover. Due to the covers, I was afraid the mysteries in this series would have a heavy handed romance bent. Hooray, I was wrong! I am looking forward to reading more of Captain Lacey's adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    This is the first in an interesting, arresting and different kind of mystery. It takes place in a time of history I enjoy, and gives a good description of the times and peoples. I have read the 2nd and am now on the 3rd book in the series. Just really enjoy this different
    kind of 'detective'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Excellent book

    When I purchased this book, my expectations were not high, thinking a regency romamce with a mystery tossed in. Having read it and the second in the series, I can attest to the quality and depth of the writing. The characters had depth and believability and the setting while gritty rang true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    I enjoyed it very much!

    It is a very interesting book. Captain Lacey is a character i got to love. I am already reading the next book of the series. I am already invested in the life of the characters. There is adventure, mystery and lots of romance. I like the author and hope her other books are as good as this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Lacey

    Cooool.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Great Series

    Get them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Nifty regency era mystery

    The characters are very well drawn and the mixture of plots intriguing. The essence of London is described realistically, with the smells, squalor and hoplessness of so many. I take exception with a few terms that the author used..London Bridge is really Tower Bridge, and I'm quite sure that rather than a pen, a sharpened quill was still in use for writing. Minor perhsps, but a tad snnoying to those who pay attention to such trivia. On to the second in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    Off to a great start............................................

    Off to a great start............................................................
    Well written mystery.   Interesting characters.  Can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Did not enjiy Did not enjoy.

    I seldom rate or review but this was too dark and unhappy certainly not a "feel good" book. But maybe if you like a book with a dark and unpleasant ending and with a hero who starts with nothing and ends up with less, this may appeal to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 238 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12