Customer Reviews for

The Happiest Baby on the Block: The New Way to Calm Crying and Help Your Baby Sleep Longer

Average Rating 4
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book!!

My baby isn't really colicky but this book is full of wonderful information. I would recommend to every single new parent!

posted by 8272357 on October 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

OMG!

i tried it, and loved the reasults! works EVERY time!!! :`D

posted by 7415435 on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    Excellent book!!

    My baby isn't really colicky but this book is full of wonderful information. I would recommend to every single new parent!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Really Works!!!

    Worked like a charm three times in a row so far. Baby to sleep in under five mins each time!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2003

    Creating Order out of Chaos

    As a first time mother with a colicky newborn I felt my life had descended into chaos. Dr. Karp's book helped instill a sense of order and calm for both my son and me. The Happiest Baby on the Block philosophy and strategies make intuitive sense and, most importantly, worked to calm my baby. I now feel more in control and knowledgeable about ways to soothe my son. I'm also getting more sleep :) Instead of buying clothes or toys as gifts for new parents, I¿m giving them this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2002

    Should've paid $100 for THIS and NOT the junk in ...

    the baby stores - with all the lights, bells, whistles, etc!!! What's the deal with the swings, batteries and other 'gadgets???' I discovered 'I' have the keys to TRIGGERING my baby into a CALM STATE! With my first two children, I discovered I had been beating my head into a wall - I was trying to calm MYSELF DOWN not the baby. Just understanding what the baby really needed made it all so simple. It is not difficult or complicated! It's all so logical insofar as to what the baby needed in the womb!! Within FOUR choices of what to do to calm my COLICKY, CRANKY baby - I had a sleeping infant that was a joy to me and my family!! Not only that - but the younger the child is when you implement these techniques - the happier and more secure the child is as it gets older. No wonder the guy in the comment above is so unhappy. THANK YOU DR. KARP!! Thanks a million, Deborah Michaels

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2002

    It's about time! Real ways to help babies!

    Where was Dr. Karp and this book 10 and 12 years ago? How I wanted to calm my babies in an effective manner. They weren't 'colicy' but when they did cry or wouldn't sleep, I wasn't always successful in calming them. I often times felt ineffective as a parent and the only advice I got was either 'let them cry it out alone' or 'just hold them and deal with the crying until they stop'. NOW, thanks to Dr. Karp, there are some wonderful, practical and useful solutions to 'colic' and fussiness that WORK and no one, not mommy, daddy nor baby are left feeling frustrated or unsuccessful by these solutions. Dr. Karp's suggestions of the 5 'S's' are comforting and effective for all. Less tears and more smiles all the way around! In my present profession as a Board Certified Lactation Consultant in private practice, I have many parents ask me about calming their new babies. It is hard for parents to realize how much sleep their babies need, much less, how to help their babies get all that sleep. Since reading Dr. Karp's book, I have answers for them! Now I suggest to all my future clients 'Read this book now, before your baby comes into this world'. To my present clients, I suggest they buy a copy ASAP. This book is empowering. This book will change the beginning of the parenting journey in many positive ways for all who read it; moms, dads, grandparents, Childbirth Educators, Doulas, Lactation Consultants and Pediatricians. Even the most hard to convince parents and babies will be surprised by the results! Enjoy! He has a GREAT video with the same title. It is a great way to see him at work!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2002

    happy baby and happy parents from San Diego

    We love this book for our newborn. We got it when our baby Cole was 5 weeks old and just starting to have a fussy period every night. Turns out he was just sleepy and this technique puts him out! We also use it during the day sometimes when he is crying out for a nap. Not sure how it will work once he is too heavy for the side hold, but we are happy to have a technique for putting him to sleep for now! We've been happily shhh-ing for almost 6 weeks now on a daily basis!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2002

    Happiest Baby on the Block: The New Way to Calm Crying and Help Your Baby Sleep Longer

    Dr. Karp clearly loves babies and respects parents. His soothing technique brings together all the pieces of baby-soothing knowledge into a 5-step pattern that works to help even the fussiest newborn stop crying. His system is especially valuable for parents of colicky babies. All of Dr. Karp¿s ideas are loving and respectful to babies, and encourage bonding between baby and parent. He gives parents the tools they need to feel confident caring for their new baby. The 5 S calming technique should be taught to all professionals working with newborn babies: it¿s effective!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    Really works!

    This technique is supposed to be for babies 3 months and younger, but I read Dr. Karp's book when my son was five months old -- and the technique still worked. Even though my son didn't cry all the time, when he did we felt so helpless. Now he's 7 months old and we still use shhh-ing to soothe him. I'd give this as a gift to everyone expecting a baby. It's such a nice present for both parent and baby - both of whom will be able to relax and enjoy life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    Invaluable

    This book completely changed my parenting experience. Before learning Dr. Karp's techniques my son was crying all the time and it seemed like he never slept. The methods that Dr. Karp teaches really do work. My son is now happy, calm and sleeps easily. I am a new person. This is a must read for all new moms!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2002

    This is a life, baby and parent saver!!!

    This book was a godsend! Our baby didn't stop crying from the moment she was born. If she wasn't eating or sleeping she was wailing and we were distraught. The nurses in the hospital wished us luck when we went home and said colic usually passes in 3-4 months. Ugh! We were miserable and exhausted until someone recommended this book. It changed our lives. The 5-step technique worked immediately. We can now calm our 6 week old in under 2 minutes. In addition, she often sleeps through the night and, when she is awake, she coos and cuddles and is happy. We are thrilled and I find myself recommending this book to complete strangers. This book is a must read for every parent, grandparent, caregiver and nurse! The technique is so simple and works wonders from the first time you try it. Do yourself a favor and buy this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    This book is a lifesaver!

    As a new mother of twin boys, parenthood and all that it entailed came as a rude awakening after the quiet months of bed-rest that preceded the birth. I had not sufficiently allowed for the extreme fatigue that faced my husband and I being so compounded by two colicky babies. We were beside ourselves. Enter Dr. Karp. His techniques work and while they don¿t eliminate the problem, they allow zombified parents to get a handle on the situation, and believe me, that¿s the difference between coping with those early months and not. We were so fortunate to have the hands-on help of such a dedicated doctor who not only understood our situation, but also had found solutions for those difficult first months that the previous generation seems so readily to forget. With this book his message is going to reach more than those who are lucky enough to be patients at his office, and as a confirmed convert to swaddling, swings and shushing, that¿s a wonderful thing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2002

    Doctors Are Going to Love This Book!

    We doctors are going to love this book! Sure, we feel helpless too when parents bring us an otherwise healthy baby who just can't stop crying. It's even worse when they come to the Emergency Room late at night as a last resort (not a great experience). Dr. Karp's method is simple and logical...and it works! This book is like a 'Get Out Of E.R. Free' card. It will soon become a must-have gift at every baby shower!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2002

    The Happiest Daddy on the Block

    Dr. Karp's book is a 'God-send.' In fact, my wife and I were beginning to think that the sleepless nights and endless fussy behaviour of our third child was God's idea of a bad joke, paying us back for the exact opposite experience with our other two children, who were sleeping through the night the second week home from the hospital. Then, after learning of Dr. Karp's techniques and a few practice sessions mastering his art of swaddling, rocking and shhh'ing, our baby was finally getting to sleep AND STAYING ASLEEP - AND SO WERE WE!! There was a time there where we thought 'that's it, we're done, three's enough'.....but because of Dr. Karp and his simple but so effective idea's, a fourth one sounds pretty good right now!! Thank you Dr. Karp.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    OUTSTANDING! My daughter wasn't colicky, but I found this book

    OUTSTANDING! My daughter wasn't colicky, but I found this book really interesting and full of great information. An easy to read, enjoyable book I'll recommend to every new parent I know!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Thank Goodness for this book!!!!!!!!

    My little one was 5 1/2 weeks when I purchased this book based on a recommendation from the BabyCenter boards. He is our first child, and was a dream the first 3 weeks. After the 3rd week began a different story. It was practically impossible to get him to go to sleep. My husband and I would rock him for 2 hours or more most nights before he would finally settle down to sleep. And, his nighttime feedings wouldn't be much easier; still taking 30-45 minutes after feeding him to be able to put him down. The first night we tried the five S's, he was content almost immediately, and I was able to put him down within about 5 minutes. This book saved our sanity! This book will be my default baby gift from here on out!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Gg Good book

    I really like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Wish I heard of this idea with my first

    I recomend watching the video first, we got it at the library. This really is for the first three months of life to help you get thru it and then transitining out of some of the steps. I wish I heard about it with our first child. My girlfriend has a newborn and told me about this book and I look forward to implementing it with our second. I also recommend looking at the toddler one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Peace!

    Unbelievable! Was definitely skeptical at first, but swear by it! Granted, one of my two boys did better than the other; but, both responded like textbook! So much so that when one got hurt at daycare (at 3-years-old) and was crying, he told the teacher she was supposed to "shush" him to make it feel better! So sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    The Ultimate Baby Must Have!!!

    This book saved my life!!!! Dr. Harvey Karp is brilliant. I tried all the tips he suggested and used the '5 S's' and it worked like a charm!!!! It was nice to have insight to my daughter and where she was coming from and how I could make her feel at 'home'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    This book worked wonders!

    This book was the most wonderful thing I read after my baby was born. He wasn't a 'colicy' baby but at 3 months old he still woke up every 1 1/2 hours at night. After reading this book and putting into practice the 5 Ss he began to sleep 5-6 hours a night. And at 5 months old I'm still using these techniques with him. I was a little leery of the practice of side / stomach positioning, but the book tells you to do this ONLY while trying to get them to sleep, and after they're asleep you put them on their back. The book is probably a little longer than it needs to be as Dr. Karp tends to repeat himself, but all in all the 5 Ss are a Godsend! In fact, My cousin just had a little girl and as a gift I am sending her this book. Every new parent needs to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3