Customer Reviews for

Happy Wives Club: One Woman's Worldwide Search for the Secrets of a Great Marriage

Average Rating 5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    I loved this book! It was an easy and interesting read from the

    I loved this book! It was an easy and interesting read from the start. Fawn has a way of drawing you into her journey, so you feel as if you are with her, which for me was exciting, since I have never visited most of the places she traveled to!

    I loved the stories of the marriages, and that the people interviewed were so open and honest... no candy coating... marriage is not always easy, but definitely worth working through the rough times. I also appreciated Fawn's own transparency with her own struggles and her own story.

    Happy Wives Club encouraged me not to be complacent in my own marriage. After 30 years it is easy to settle into a routine... Thank you, Fawn!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    A happy marriage is not a myth! I've only been married for 2 ye

    A happy marriage is not a myth!

    I've only been married for 2 years and run into people who constantly reminded me that my husband and I are only happy because we are still in the "honeymoon phase." It gave me such motivation, inspiration, and a feeling of sisterhood to know that not only were happy wives and happy marriages a real thing, but that I have one and can continue to have one for as long as I am willing to keep it that way!
    Pay no attention to the number of pages...you won't even notice and it's worth the investment of your time! Once I picked it up and started reading, I honestly couldn't put it down and was so sad when it ended!
    Fawn goes on a beautiful literary journey, literally traveling the world to find out and share the secrets to having and keeping a happy marriage; you will feel like you're traveling with her. Depite cultural, economic, and linguistic differences, love is a univeral force that spills over into our marriages, if we want it to be that way.

    If you're married, engaged, seriously dating, or want to be one day, I couldn't possibly recommend this book more! It's full of the beauty of all the potential a happy wife brings to a happy marriage and spreads that beauty to the happy husband and illuminates a happy world. No one person will ever be perfect, but we can all have a perfect love and a truly happy marriage.

    This book is literary proof that happy marriages do exist and it shares the secrets to what makes them reality!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    This is a fun ride! Not only did I learn a ton from happily marr

    This is a fun ride! Not only did I learn a ton from happily married couples all around the world, I felt like I was the one traveling from country to country. Fawn's writing style really makes you feel like you are on the journey with her! You won't want to put it down because you'll want to learn the next "secret" and travel to the next town to meet another amazing couple. A quick and inspiring read that not only teaches you great lessons in love, it also makes you eager to put the lessons into practice (AND travel the world with your love!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    The idea of a happy marriage is fast fading in today¿s society.

    The idea of a happy marriage is fast fading in today’s society. Everywhere you turn someone you know is getting a divorce or you see the next celebrity couple that just couldn’t make it work. However, Happy Wives Club features interviews with women across six continents about what it takes to have a loving and long lasting marriage.This book is truly encouraging as it shows women and couples who have gone through just about every type of marital challenge yet come out of it stronger and more in love with each other than ever before. Fawn has the ability to speak to you through her book in a way that makes her feel like you are amongst your dearest girl friends. Happy Wives isn't meant to be a self-help book nor does it provide a how to list to fix your marriage yet pushes you to want to be a better, happier wife. Fawn manages to share wisdom in a way that is opens your mind and heart to how amazing your marriage can be if you put other peoples life lessons to work in your marriage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    In an age of seemingly constant attacks on marriage today, this

    In an age of seemingly constant attacks on marriage today, this book was a wonderful breath of fresh air. It was interesting to read through each individual woman's story and see her marriage through her words. The stories weren't all happy, happy, happy. In fact most of them had struggles, but the difference was the way they allowed those struggles to make them better and stronger.




    It was fascinating to read about women across the world that loved being married. There were stories from places that you kind of get the impression that they just exist and stay married because that's just what you do. But that wasn't the case. They intentionally worked at being happily married.




    The main thing that I took away from this book was that we shouldn't believe the lie that being married and being happy could not go together. It can and it does. If you are happily married you are going to enjoy reading about others that share your joy. If you are unhappily married I think this book will be encouraging to you that with a little work and a change in attitude can make all the difference.




    I received a copy of this book to facilitate my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    An inspiring story of love and marriage!  Candid, sometimes fun

    An inspiring story of love and marriage! 

    Candid, sometimes funny, sometimes heartwarming stories of what real couples do to make their
    marriages work. Proof that simple things we do every day truly affect the quality of our relationships
    long term and the inspiration and hopefully motivation to do what happy couples do – whether it’s
    communicating, sharing dreams, embracing the present moment or letting go and moving on
    whenever necessary. 

    __
    Favorite quotes – 

    You can either feed negative thoughts or you can starve the suckers. 

    Connection starves suspicion. 

    Great marriages are made when husbands and wives don’t allow cultural expectations to dictate their life decisions or day-to-day interactions.

    In a strong marriage, you are covered in strength and boldness that you’d never have on your own. 

    Choose your spouse daily. 
    __

    Happy Wives Club takes you on a very physical journey all over the world and also
    on a very emotional journey with a woman pondering her own life and marriage and the life choices
    that brought her to each reflection, every lesson and experience she shares in the book.  

    If you love being married or *want* to love being married, read this book.

    You'll be encouraged and inspired not just by Fawn but by every couple she interviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    This is such an inspirational book for all people. This book is

    This is such an inspirational book for all people. This book is not just for woman, but should be read by anyone that wants to read about something that is both positive and possible. Every husband doesn't suck in the world, and every wife is not miserable sitting around popping happy pills to get through life. A happy marriage is something that if pursued each and everyday reaps rewards like a well tended bush reaps flowers when it is taken care of. Happy Wives Club is a book that I really enjoyed reading. Love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    Happy and healthy marriages can and do exist...its not just for

    Happy and healthy marriages can and do exist...its not just for fairy tales!
    I couldn't put the book down once I got it. Now I just want to read it again! Fawn Weaver, has taken a journey and allows us to ride, sit, dine and get our hair done right alongside of her as she travels around the world talking to couples, collecting the secrets to happy healthy marriages. I've been happily married for 23 years & I smiled, chuckled and even cried! Because of her passion to see that things can be different than what mainstream media tells us today - she has put together such an encouraging, refreshing & beautifully written message - whether you are married or not!! Bonus: it would make a great bridal shower gift too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    When I got this book I thought it was going to be another "

    When I got this book I thought it was going to be another "how to" on happy marriages and what you 
    should/shouldn't do. I was not expecting to love it as much as I do! Fawn is simply a master story teller 
    that has you hanging on to every word with each chapter. I could easily envision all of the different 
    countries she went to and the different couples she spoke with. This book was inspirational for so 
    many reasons and I've added it to my list of "must haves" for all married women and those aspiring 
    to be! It's simply fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    New Perspective!

    There are so many books that talk about helping your marriage, making it better, "fixing" something. Fawn Weaver wrote a book with a whole new perspective and an audience that has not really been tapped into. Those couples who are happy to be married and happy to tell everyone! I love, just loved, meeting all these happy couples that were happy and talked about how they stayed that way! I enjoyed it so much! I was so encouraged reading this in my own marriage! Definitely recommending this one for sure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    This was a fantastic read full of fun adventures and wise advice

    This was a fantastic read full of fun adventures and wise advice. Fawn does something unique by interviewing across generations and cultural and geographical lines to find the secret to the one thread that links us all: love. This book shares deep personal, gripping stories of various relationships and gives you an incredible connection to the characters in the book. I really appreciated the timeless knowledge she gives us and will definitely use it to grow and strengthen my own relationship. Highly recommended to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    The Happy Wives Club is more than just stories about the secrets

    The Happy Wives Club is more than just stories about the secrets to a happy marriage. It’s about Fawn’s own journey in her marriage as she seeks to make it even better. She opens up herself to her readers by allowing them to see the good and the bad. One of the things that I love about her journey throughout the book is how she is always looking to God for answers and then seeing what she needs to do to make herself better. She doesn’t place judgement on her husband. Instead, she praises him and lifts him up.

    Throughout the book, I found myself nodding in agreement as she brought me into the lives of many different couples. My heart ached for Fawn as she worked through some difficult struggles in her life. Yes, I felt like I was there with her as she went from country to country. Her eye for detail made the places, individuals, and stories come to life. Her passion for happy, loving marriage filled the pages with hope.

    Even though this book does contain recipes for a successful marriage, it’s not a self-help, how-to book. No, it’s a story of love, life, faith, and happiness. I encourage you to take the journey with Fawn to discover and reaffirm that marriage can be a fulfilling, lifetime adventure.

    Disclosure: I received an ARC copy of this book to help facilitate the writing of a frank and honest review. A positive review is not expected nor is it guaranteed. All opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    To say that this book was inspirational would be an understateme

    To say that this book was inspirational would be an understatement! I could hardly put it down!  It is not a self-help book but rather a collection of stories of happily married couples around the globe. It was amazing to see that the basic elements of a happy marriage such as respect and honesty are the same no matter what country you are in! I will definitely be recommending this book to my friends and family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    I loved this book! Hearing about happily married wives in rare

    I loved this book! Hearing about happily married wives in rare in our time. I love reading about the different couples and their experiences. Great gift idea for any married lady or one who wants to be!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Thank you Fawn for reminding me of the deep, true, passionate lo

    Thank you Fawn for reminding me of the deep, true, passionate love I have for
    my husband... for over 23 years. Well written and full of take away nuggets...
    I loved this book & will be buying one for every married couple I know. :))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    What a breath of fresh air this was! This is for you if you are

    What a breath of fresh air this was! This is for you if you are Marriage, Engaged, or even just want to improve who you are as a Woman. This booked is based on having a Happy Marriage, and being a Happy Wife. I will say ,however, this enlightened me on so much more than just my own Marriage. This helped me to realize the Woman and Wife that I desired to be versus who I was being. Please take some time to read this book. Not a single chance that you will regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    This book brought rays of light and hope to me, as a wife, durin

    This book brought rays of light and hope to me, as a wife, during a very rough year! We, as a family, suffered debilitating financial and physical blows (one after another) for almost the entire year of 2013. I thank Fawn for writing this book, so that I could keep my focus on remaining a team with my husband. I am a member of the Happy Wives Club, and I love how encouraging she is to fight valiantly to keep us in this wonderful, honorable club! I'm not so sad to see 2013 go, but I will hold on to this book and re-visit for years to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Allow yourself to step into the time, places and lives of the st

    Allow yourself to step into the time, places and lives of the stories. You may find yourself relating in some aspect wih a character from a time in your life. This book will reaffirm that building a marriage takes determination but you'll be inspired to commit to the challenges because the outcome is life changing. You'll discover that happy marriages can exist no matter who you are or what part of the world you live in or what life you have lived. If there's one book you read this year, this one should be it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    While traveling all over the world to interview couples who are

    While traveling all over the world to interview couples who are genuinely in love, Fawn tells their stories as well as her own. Anyone would benefit greatly by their stories, and I encourage single women to read it and know that marriages can be filled with so much love. I hope you will read the book, you promise you will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is beautiful! What I expected to be a great marriage r

    This book is beautiful! What I expected to be a great marriage resource turned out to be so much more! Fawn draws the reader in right away as she takes you on a journey to meet other wives.  Her creative writing style makes you feel like you are by her side and I love that.  Fawn was courageous to travel around the world like she did and in many ways it helps us feel connected by the thread of being a wife.  We can relate to the stories while gaining wisdom from each perspective and apply it to our marriages.  I recommend this book for every wife! I also appreciate that Happy Wives Club is an actual community where wives can connect and encourage each other from all over the world! What Fawn has established is changing the lives of wives in a positive way and I commend her for that! Well done Fawn, thank you for being so brave! - Jennifer Smith Unveiled Wife

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2