Customer Reviews for

The Harbinger: The Ancient Mystery That Holds the Secret of America's Future

Average Rating 4.5
( 474 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(320)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

86 out of 89 people found this review helpful.

A POWERFUL AND RIVETING JOURNEY INTO THE HEART OF GOD

The Harbinger was written for such a time as this-mesmerizing and fascinating from beginning to end. It's obvious that the author is the prophet in the book who has heard the warnings from the One and Only source-God Himself. It took me to a new level of faith in the ...
The Harbinger was written for such a time as this-mesmerizing and fascinating from beginning to end. It's obvious that the author is the prophet in the book who has heard the warnings from the One and Only source-God Himself. It took me to a new level of faith in the God of the Bible and the fact that He still speaks prophetically today because He is not only a God who judges, but a God who loves-a love so deep that He would go to such lengths to give so many warnings to a nation that has turned so far from Him. I would recommend this book to anyone searching for answers in the midst of the chaos, unrest and fear in America and the world. The answer is found in The Harbinger.

posted by 9769274 on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 171 people found this review helpful.

HARBINGER BASED ON QUESTIONABLE HERMENEUTICS......

I WILL LET THE EXPERT IN THE FIELD OF BIBLICAL HERMENEUTICS SPEAK FOR HIMSELF. LET'S BEGIN WITH PROFESSOR ROBERT H. STEIN AUTHOR OF "A BASIC GUIDE TO INTERPRETING THE BIBLE". IN CHAPTER 6 THE GAME OF PREDICTION-PROPHECY FROM PAGES 96-99 I QUOTE: "THE SENSUS PLENIOR OR F...
I WILL LET THE EXPERT IN THE FIELD OF BIBLICAL HERMENEUTICS SPEAK FOR HIMSELF. LET'S BEGIN WITH PROFESSOR ROBERT H. STEIN AUTHOR OF "A BASIC GUIDE TO INTERPRETING THE BIBLE". IN CHAPTER 6 THE GAME OF PREDICTION-PROPHECY FROM PAGES 96-99 I QUOTE: "THE SENSUS PLENIOR OR FULLER MEANING OF THE TEXT": "THERE ARE TIMES WHEN A PROPHETIC TEXT APPEARS TO HAVE A FULFILLMENT OTHER THAN WHAT THE PROPHET HIMSELF APPARENTLY EXPECTED. IS IT POSSIBLE THAT A PROPHECY MAY HAVE A DEEPER MEANING OR FULLER SENSE THAN THE PROPHET ENVISIONED(AS IN MR. CAHN'S INTERPRETATION OF ISAIAH 9:10)? ACCORDING TO THIS VIEW WHEREAS THE PROPHET WILLED TO CONVEY ONE TRUTH, GOD HAD A DIFFERENT TRUTH HE WILLED TO CONVEY BY THE SAME VOCBULARY AND GRAMMAR. IF WE ASSUME FOR THE SAKE OF ARGUMENT THAT THIS DOES IN FACT OCCUR, THIS FULLER MEANING OR SENSUS PLENIOR CAN NEVER BE KNOWN UNTIL AFTER THE FACT! THE WILLED MEANING OF THE PROPHET IS ACCESSIBLE TO THE READER BECAUSE OF THE CONTEXT THE AUTHOR HAS PROVIDED. WE KKNOW THE PROPHET'S VOCABULARY,STYLE, AND GRAMMAR, AND THIS LITERARY CONTEXT ENABLES US TO UNDERSTAND WHAT HE WILLED TO CONVEY BY THE PROPHECY. BUT WHAT ABOUT THE ALLEGED FULLER MEANING OF GOD? HOW CAN WE KNOW THIS? THE LITERARY CONTEXT DOES NOT HELP FOR WE HAVE NO ACCESS TO GOD'S VOCABULARY, STYLE, AND GRAMMAR BUT ONLY THE PROPHET'S. TWO OTHER DIFFICULTIES ARE CONNECTED WITH SUCH A VIEW. THE FIRST INVOLVES HOW WE CAN TODAY DISCOVER A FULLER, DIVINE MEANING IN A TEXT OF WHICH THE DIVINELY INSPIRED AUTHOR WAS IGNORANT. IT SEEMS ARROGANT TO SAY THE LEAST, TO ASSUME THAT OUR KNOWLEDGE IS SUFFIENTLY GREATER THAN THAT OF THE INSPIRED PROPHETS THAT WE CAN KNOW SOMETHING ABOUT THEIR WORDS OF WHICH THEY WERE TOTALLY UNAWARE. TWO ERRORS SEEM TO BE AT WORK HERE. THE ONE DEMEANS DIVINE INSPIRATION, THE OTHER ELEVATES HUMAN REASON TO THE EXTANT THAT THE LATTER IS GREATER THAN THE FORMER! THE OTHER DIFFICULTY WITH THIS VIEW IS THAT PROOF OF SUCH A FULLER MEANING COULD ONLY BE DEMONSTRATED BY EXAMPLES THAT ARE AFTER THE FACT, THAT IS THEY WOULD ONLY BE KNOWN AFTER THIS ALLEGED FULLER REVELATION HAS TAKEN PLACE(WHICH IS WHAT THE HARBINGER IS ALL BASED ON)! BEFORE THE FULFILLMENT OF THIS DEEPER MEANING, NO ONE UNDERSTOOD THE SENSUS PLENIOR. FROM A PRAGMATIC POINT OF VIEW, SINCE WE CAN ONLY PERCIEVE SUCH A DEEPER FULFILLMENT AFTER THE FACT, SEEKING SUCH DEEPER MEANING IS OF LITTLE VALUE. AT IT'S BEST IT IS PURELY SPECULATIVE AND A WASTE OF ENERGY. WE CAN NOT KNOW FOR CERTAINTY SUCH A FUTURE DEEPER MEANING. RATHER THAN APPEALING TO A FULLER SENSE DISTINCT AND DIFFERENT FROM THAT OF THE BIBLICAL AUTHOR/PROPHET, HOWEVER IT WOULD BE WISER TO SEE IF THE SUPPOSED SENSUS PLENIOR IS IN REALITY AN IMPLICATION OF THE AUTHOR'S CONSCIOUS MEANING. IN THE INTERPRETATION OF PROPHETIC LITERATURE WE MUST REMEMBER THAT MEANING IS DETERMINED BY THE AUTHOR/PROPHET. THE AUTHOR IN TURN SOUGHT TO SHARE THAT DIVINELY REVEALED MEANING BY MEANS OF THIS PARTICULAR LITERARY FORM. IN DOING SO HE SUBMITTED HIMSELF TO THE RULES GOVERNING THIS FORM OF LITERATURE WHICH WERE KNOWN TO HIM AND HIS READERS/HEARERS. IF WE WANT TO UNDERSTAND HIS WILLED MEANING WE MUST KNOW THOSE RULES AND INTERPRET HIS WORK WITHIN THE HISTORICAL AND LITERARY CONTEXT OF HIS DAY. IF WE TEAR HIS PROPHECY OUT OF THIS CONTEXT AND NEGLECT THOSE RULES, WE WILL NEVER UNDERSTAND THE MEANING OF SUCH LITERATURE.

posted by GAMALIEL on December 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 475 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Highly recommended

    This book should be required reading for EVERY American!!!!!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    Skip This!

    Do yourself a favor and skip this book.... Inane, ridiculous and mind-numbingly repetitive.... The author reaches way too far in this faux-narrative and the entire effort is unbelievable. If you MUST read it, you should read the first five pages and skip to the last five pages - you will miss nothing in the middle.... Painful to get through!

    8 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Awful

    My husband asked me to read this book with him. I was happy to oblige him. However, within the first paragraph I quickly beagn to dislike it. The writing style was terrible and extremely difficult to follow, jumping back and forth betwen conversations without warning, endles short & choppy sentances and little to no character development. It was like reading something a young child would write. I admit the premise of the book was interesting, but the delivery was excruciating.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    Read this book for a great challenge!

    I could not put this book down, once I got into it. That took a bit of time and encouragement from someone who had already finished reading it. The outer framing from which much of the story hung bothered me a bit; but once I got past that and into the narrative, made up primarily of back-and-forth dialogue, I read it in just a few sittings. The ideas behind this book are incredible. Seeing some of the parallels between the USA and ancient Israel is jaw dropping. I have never believed in coincidences – I know that God is in control of absolutely everything – but the historical and current events marked out in Harbinger were things I had never before considered or pieced together.
    Basing much of the book on the scripture of Isaiah 9:10 (for context, read Isaiah 9:8-21), Cahn breaks the verse down and compares it with events of the past decade, beginning with 9/11. He points out how many things had to line up perfectly for things to play out the way they did. The almost unbelievable detail of everything lining up with the words of Isaiah 9 is well documented; Cahn includes detailed footnotes, allowing readers to do research on their own. We are called to study and understand for ourselves the things we hear. This book makes it very possible to do that.
    The biggest problems I had with this book were stylistic choices. As I mentioned, the opening framework was slightly awkward, but it picked up quickly. The ellipses felt overused to me, but I have been noticing that more often lately in fiction designed to excite the reader. There were also a couple of ideas that Cahn expressed with which I don’t fully agree, but that’s to be expected with any book. I wouldn’t argue with most of his major points.
    In conclusion, I highly recommend this book to any reader. Be prepared to have a couple of sleepless nights. This book will challenge you. It’s time to wake up and look at where we, as a nation, are compared with where we could be, if only we would remember Who gave us the blessings we enjoy every day.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    Jonathan Cahn, in his book, The Harbinger, writes a captivating

    Jonathan Cahn, in his book, The Harbinger, writes a captivating book connecting Isaiah 9:10 Israel to America today. Isaiah 9:10 is a vow made by Israel’s leaders after an invasion by Assyria. This invasion was prophesied by the prophet Isaiah against Israel because of their unGodly living–living in their own way without God’s input or obedience to Him, which is an accurate description of modern-day America and the world.

    Israel was a nation conceived and dedicated by God at its foundation for the purposes of God. In Rabbi Cahn’s book, you will find that America was also dedicated for the purposes of God by our first President, and is the only other nation founded on God’s word and principles. Thus the correlation he sees between Isaiah 9:10 Israel and America.

    Before I go into my review, I want to make clear the idea of the ‘prophet’ in this book. I wrestled with it right from the start, but more so when he used commentaries to prove his point. A true prophet, according to the Old Testament, received a prophecy directly from God. So this aspect puts me at odds initially with this book, although I am not saying that everything in this book is false. It’s just that the role of this ‘prophet’ isn’t true to the Word of God. He may have used the title loosely to make his point.

    I would have enjoyed the book more without the character of Ana, as it made the storyline a bit amateurish. I also tired of the repetitive “the Isaiah 9:10 Effect” comment by Nouriel. I was, however, enamored with the harbinger (warning) connections from Isaiah 9:10 and the specific items surrounding 9/11 and Ground Zero–things I’d never heard of before, but are historically documented. These amazing facts stymie the mind. I find the connections eerie in how they play out in 9/11 Ground Zero alone.

    Whether or not you believe it’s all connected, you cannot deny the documented accounts presented in this book about America post 9/11 and what is included in the vow in Isaiah. There are just too many “coincidences.” Yet I cannot personally state this is of God, nor can I specifically say that it isn’t, because I still struggle with how the prophecy to the nation of Israel from the Old Testament is directly turned into a specific prophecy for America. I do believe there is a definite spiritual connection that we are not directly privy to, but it’s there none the less. God thoughts and ways are far above our thoughts and ways. Maybe it has more to do more with the specific vow and our defiant independence apart from God and His Word.

    I do believe that God is calling America back to Himself. In Romans 2:4, it asks “Do you despise the riches of His goodness and forbearance and long-suffering; not knowing that the goodness of God leads you to repentance?” (Italics mine) But when we won’t listen, He can use and allow calamities/judgments to get our attention.

    He wants individual and corporate repentance in America as He does in every other country. We in America have been warned by the events of 9/11 and the subsequent financial fallout and immorality. The question is what we will do about what we now know. Will you repent and follow God through His Son, Jesus Christ?

    This book was provided by Althea Thompson, Publicity Coordinator, Charisma House/Charisma Media, in exchange for my honest review. No monetary compensation was exchanged.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    I wish i could buy every copy and hand them out in the streets

    Amazing, merciful God!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    wow...

    This is one book that will not put you to sleep. In fact, it might even keep you up at night like it did me. I couldn't put it down.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    There is an accompanying DVD called "The Isaiah 9:10 Judgme

    There is an accompanying DVD called "The Isaiah 9:10 Judgment" that is a must-watch which will bring the book to life in an incredible way.

    After reading the book and watching the DVD, I decided to do further research. After understanding the 2001 and 2008 (7 year) connection, it is natural to ask what will happen in Sept, 2015. I will not go into detail here, but here are some further steps you can take in your research on this topic:

    1) Read Gen 1:14 carefully

    2) Understand what a "tetra" is from an astronomical standpoint

    3) Understand what is special about the tetra that will occur during the 2014-2015 Jewish year

    4) Look at what happened to the Jewish nation (Israel since 1948) when other tetras like this occurred

    5) Understand how, if we are truly under God's judgment now how a federal level acceptance of gay marriage will also fall under God's judgment

    6) Look at what the bishop for the National Cathedral in Washington DC has declared and what this cathedral was dedicated for after WW2

    7) Review what the Supreme Court will decide upon in ~June, 2013 (see DOMA)

    8) Understand what comets have symbolized throughout history

    9) Research "comet Ison"

    10) Read Luke 21 (esp. v 36) and continue to pray that God will spare the Christian Church from His judgment

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    Very important to read. I did not particularly enjoy the writing

    Very important to read. I did not particularly enjoy the writing style, but the message contained within the story is prophetic. How many times in the Old Testament did the Israelites suffer because they defied the Lord? In his book, Jonathan Cahn demonstrates: behind every mystery and Harbinger, a voice was calling, calling the nation back to God, and crying out, 'RETURN'." I was moved by the Holy Spirit when I visited St. Paul's Chapel at Ground Zero, but at the time, I had no idea that I was at the very sanctuary where our nation's first president, Senate, and House of Representatives gathered in 1789 to pray. The very first act of our government, after George Washinton's innauguration, as recorded in the Annals of Congress, as part of the first-ever joint session of congress with an acting president was: "to commit America's future to the holy protection and blessing of the Most High." Ground Zero is America's ground of consecration. On this ground is also hidden a national mystery, which the author of this book prophetically unravels.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    A must read for all americans

    I read this book in one sitting. It was amazing. There were 96 reviews on my nook so i tead them first before the book. I was encouraged by 96% of the reviews and the 4% i just prayed for especially the one who used big words, capital letters and did nothing but leave a review that was just ignorant and dull. Americans need to wake up and pay attention. We need to research those we put into seats of power. Greed and corruption is rampant in our lawmakers. While i have no problem with different cultures coming here to live and have those rights of freedom we as americans were born with, i do get offended that their religion supercedes our own. Prayer is taken out of school. Christmas parades are now called holiday parades cuz the word christ offends some and the list goes on. Our country was fought for and established on one nation under god. I believe god has given us signs to get this country back to where its suppose to be. This is an election year and our country is in a critical state. " we the people" have a responsibility as a nation to raise our voices and be heard. We are a democracy and we need to fight for our religious freedom. We need to turn back to god and be obedient to his word. Something my dad use to say " that god destroyed sofom and gomorrah for one tenth of the sin that goes on today." I for one pray for forgiveness and guidance. We as a nation are in trouble and a change needs to come. One thing we can agree on all cultures have a god....peace and love are their laws. As a united nation its time to seek forgiveness, repent and especially pay attention. The message of this book is clear as are the warnings. I am so glad i read it. The ties between israel and 9/11 were eerie. I had no idea. In closing let me say this: nowhere in the bible does prophecy tie in with modern events like this one did. It was an awesome book with a vital message.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Take & read

    The hand writing is on the wall.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Kids book material

    Very poorly written and filled with garbage. Thoroughly disappointed, beats each point like a dead horse.

    Don't waste your time

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Not very good

    Extremely repetitive. Very difficult to push through. Would not recommend. Not at all what I expected.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Highly recommend it. I bought it one day and finished reading it the next day.

    It is factually well researched book that has taken those facts and used them to tell a really interesting story. It is based upon a Biblical passage which appears at first as uneventful and then ties that Scripture to events in recent American and world history in a prophetic manner that really gets your attention. Could this be a modern message of prophecy from God? You read it and then decide!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This should be a must read for everyone but especially people who believe in a God that calls for repentance. I learned so many things about 9/11 and the aftermath. It really shows how America is under God's discipline and how we need to turn from the path we are currently on so that our land may be healed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    This book is eerie, shocking and a must read! If all of it was f

    This book is eerie, shocking and a must read! If all of it was fictional, the theme will still impact any American. I looked up many of the connections and found them true. It is time for America to repent and return...please read this book, then pass it on for someone else to read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    A Book Every American Should Read

    This is an amazing fictional book that is really all about facts. I spent many hours googling the facts in this book, and I have yet to find a discrepancy in what the author says. This is a wake-up call to America. The question is what Americans are going to do with this knowledge!!! It is not an easy read, but it is one worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    GREAT READ!

    Do not pass this one up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Every American needs to read this book abpnd really take it to heart.,

    Amazing book that opens eyes and changes hearts. The man who has written this is a modern day prophet and hopefully will save us from ourselves.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Great book!

    This is an easy read yet VERY disturbing. It's sad to see our beloved U.S. following the paths of Israel in the Old Testament :-( Mr. Cahn compares O.T. Scriptures with what in fact has happened and is happening in the U.S. - the Scriptures are very literal and to the "letter"! Mr. Cahn has done an excellent job and has made this reader aware of what is going on in my beloved country!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 475 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 24